This postcard looks down Church Street from the corner of Church Street West and The Square to the corner of Church Street East and The Square. From left: The Municipal Offices building was constructed in 1890 and was first used as the Colonial Bank of New Zealand. This was then purchased by the Borough Council and housed the Council Chamber as well as the Municipal Offices and the Public Library (as seen here). Later in 1944-1945 a new council office was built including the shops alongside. This is now Square Edge; Shops including Pram House, Golden Gate Fish, Manawatu Meat Company. All were built in 1891, after a fire swept through this part of Church Street; The Evening Standard building was constructed after the 1891 fire - the newspaper moved in sometime between 1903 and 1910; The Bank of New Zealand was constructed in 1878 on the corner of The Square and Fitzherbert Avenue. The building shown here was built in 1902; The Occidental Hotel (with clock tower) was built sometime in 1881 and burnt down in 1891 and again in 1927; The Club Hotel.