Found 62 results

Narrow search resultsHideFilters

 
Andrews Collection: Myra, Joyce and Mrs May with Square Cannon

Andrews Collection: Myra, Joyce and Mrs May with Square Cannon

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, "Myra, Joyce and Mrs May Feb 29." Two cannons were acquired by the Palmerston North Borough Council in 1909 for display in The Square. By 1939, the Council decided the cannons had outlived their usefulness and sold them to a scrap dealer. See Research File A175/72/2 in the Ian Matheson City Archives, City Library for more information. They served as a very popular spot to take photographs. All Saints Church is just visible on the right.

 
Andrews Collection: Bridge Over Duck Pond

Andrews Collection: Bridge Over Duck Pond

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, "Bridge Over Duck Pond, Square PN Feb 28." The Duck Pond is now known as The Laklet or Butterfly Lake. The two figures on the bridge are Mrs May and Joyce from 2014P_AndrewsS1_010045. The Grand Hotel is visible on the left.

 
Andrews Collection: Manawatu River

Andrews Collection: Manawatu River

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph has no caption, but is on the same page as photographs of a picnic in Ashhurst, which could indicate that this photograph shows the Manawatu River near there. See CA: Andrews Collection

 
Andrews Collection: Picnic at Ashhurst Domain

Andrews Collection: Picnic at Ashhurst Domain

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption "Picnic at Ashhurst March 1928 PN". Mrs Oliver (second row, far right) and Edith (front and centre) appear in 2014P_AndrewsS1_010039 also. The woman on Mrs Oliver's left is Edna Shanly, who is in several photographs in the album. See also 2014P_AndrewsS1_010040. See CA: Andrews Collection

 
Andrews Collection: Main Street Railway Yard

Andrews Collection: Main Street Railway Yard

This small photograph album belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, "Views of PN from Ross's Building". It depicts the railway yard next to Main Street West. C M Ross was a department store, that ran from The Square through to George Street.

 
Andrews Collection: Nurse Parmer [Palmer?], Northcote Private Hospital

Andrews Collection: Nurse Parmer [Palmer?], Northcote Private Hospital

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, "Nurse Parmer Northcote Private Hospital PN May 1928." The woman meant is perhaps Gertrude Palmer, a nurse who lived on Grey Street in 1928. Northcote Hospital was on Grey Street. It was built in 1904 and underwent major renovations in the 1940s. It was sold to the Southern Cross Hospital Trust in 1982.

 
Andrews Collection: View of The Square from C M Ross Department Store, The Square

Andrews Collection: View of The Square from C M Ross Department Store, The Square

This small photograph album belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, "View PN from Ross's Building". This photograph was shot from the top of Rosco's Department Store, now the City Library and Community Services building. The road on the left is Broadway Avenue. Several monuments are prominent, including the King Edward VII Coronation Fountain (now next to the corner of Broadway Avenue and The Square) and the War Memorial (far right). The building with a clock tower in the middle of the photograph is the old Post Office, built 1906-1906. Next to the Post Office is Main Street East.

 
Andrews Collection: Victoria Esplanade

Andrews Collection: Victoria Esplanade

This small photograph album belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, "Esplanade 22/1/1928". Bob (see 2014p_andrewss1_010016) is visible towards the right side of the photograph. The Victoria Esplanade was opened in 1897, the same year as Queen Victoria's 60 year on the throne.

 
Andrews Collection: Post Office

Andrews Collection: Post Office

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, "P.O. Palmerston North 14-1-28". The photograph is taken looking down one side of the railway line that used to run through The Square, with the Municipal Bus Depot to the left. Built in 1906, the Post Office on the corner of The Square and Main Street was Palmerston North’s fourth, and replaced a small wooden building on the same site. In 1988, when Telecom and Postbank became separate entities, the building ceased to be the Post Office. Though this building is still standing, the tower was removed in 1942 after the Napier earthquake. It currently operates as a restaurant and bar.

 
Andrews Collection: War Memorial and Band Rotunda, The Square

Andrews Collection: War Memorial and Band Rotunda, The Square

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, " War Memorial. PN 14-1-1928". The Palmerston North cenotaph, also known as the War Memorial, was constructed in the centre of The Square to commemorate those who died in World War One. It was opened by the then Prime Minister Mr Gordon Coates. It was a replica of one in Folkstone, England. To the right is the Band Rotunda. The first was built in 1898 and was moved to the Victoria Esplanade in 1907. This Band Rotunda was built shortly after. It was demolished to make way for the Hopwood Clock Tower in 1956.

 
Andrews Collection: King Edward VII Coronation Memorial Fountain

Andrews Collection: King Edward VII Coronation Memorial Fountain

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, " Fountain Square Palmerston North". This photograph shows the King Edward VII Coronation Memorial Fountain, also known as the Coronation Monument. It was built in 1902 to mark the coronation of Edward VII. In 1925, it was combined with another feature of The Square, the concrete fish pond (as shown here). This arrangement remains in place today, though the monument has moved to the corner of The Square nearest to Broadway Avenue. The memorial also commemorates the 25th anniversary of the Borough of Palmerston North, and the achieving of city status in 1930.

 
Andrews Collection:  The Drive, Victoria Esplanade

Andrews Collection: The Drive, Victoria Esplanade

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, "The Drive, Esplanade PN". Queen Victoria Drive began as a rough track from Fitzherbert Avenue to Park Road in 1917. In 1919 it was properly laid out and metaled. It was tarred and sanded c1920-1921.

 
Andrews Collection: Water Lilies, The Square

Andrews Collection: Water Lilies, The Square

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, "Water Lillies [sic] Square PN Jan 28." The body of water in the photograph is The Lakelet, also know as Butterfly Lake. Just visible behind The Lakelet is Leary's Pharmacy.

Load Items 31 to NaN