Display window of the C M Ross building (Roscos) built in 1927-1928. It was the foremost department store of Palmerston North and featured 'island showcases' on the street front.
The person standing in front of the engine is my Father Harold Stewart and the person on the footplate is his brother David Stewart. Both men were trained at the workshops. They were sons of J T Stewart the person who surveyed the Manawatu/Rangitikei districts and laid out Palmerston North and other settlements. The Weka was refurbished at the Feilding workshop of Harold Stewart located in Beaty St. This photograph was taken in the northern goods yard of the Feilding railway station. A north-bound train can be seen leaving the station about to cross Kimbolton Rd. Photograph taken 1906.
The Palmerston North Borough Council operated the abattoir, in Maxwell's Line, Palmerston North, 1916-1951. Workmen and dog pose outside the abattoir works, when mr A M Spillman was Manager.
It’s a selfless act by one person that delivers the world to another
Wendy McTaggart, Home Service Delivery volunteer collects books from the basement garage prior to delivering them to those housebound
The enjoyment of books has never waned for Annabell Tuttitett. Even at 102 she enjoyed receiving selected books to read each fortnight. She is soon to start receiving audio books as an alternative to print.
Annabelle Tuttiett (L) and Wendy McTaggart during the Home Book Delivery Service. Mrs Tuttiett was due to turn 103 a week after this photo was taken.
As well as delivering books, Wendy has the time to chat to Annabelle Tuttiett (102) about her books she has read.
Heather McTaggart collects canvas bags with selected books to deliver to home delivery recipients.
There is always something to chat about, particulary about the last books read.
L - R Becca Hoffman, Robyn Wilson, Susie Williams-Dobson and Kynne Kroll, all PNCC staff who contributed to preparing the Blanquilt
At 102, Annabelle has enjoyed books her whole life. With failing eyesight she is about to try audiobooks as an alternative to print.
L - R Becca Hoffman, Lesley Phillips, Robin Wilson, Susie Williams-Dobson and Lynne Kroll. Missing from the photo is Lisa Guthrie
Mayor Grant Smith, was the first to hand-stitch on one of the hundreds of poppies
A community project of remembrance
The parade for the ninth Royal Show. The Royal Show was held around New Zealand, with the Manawatu and West Coast Agricultural and Pastoral Association being chosen to host the first, in 1924, the fifth, in 1928, and the ninth, in 1932.
This is a photograph believed to be of Kathleen Aldrich (later Mrs Patterson of Bunnythorpe). She was the daughter of a wealthy family who lived at the "Matsubara" farm near Bunnythorpe.
While “Lane” is scratched on the plate no accompanying information is available. The photograph was widely circulated during the 1970 centenary celebrations but no details were forthcoming from the public.
Ian Matheson (1946 - 2002) was born in Palmerston North, the only child of Roderick and Marjorie Matheson. The Matheson family has been associated with Palmerston North since the 1880s. Ian Matheson worked with the Palmerston North city archives 1971 -2002,and was the first local body Archivist in New Zealand. He was a prolific researcher of Palmerston North history, with a particular interest in the flax industry. He was awarded a QSM in 1999 and a Massey medal in 2002.
Mayor Grant Smith asked that the traditional Anzac Day poppy wreath be a community created object in 2016. Hundreds of knitted, felted and crocheted poppies were donated to the project and hand-stitched on to the wreath.
Harakeke poppies installation on the Square for Palmerston North Anzac Services 2016. 2000 poppies were woven by the community.
Mayor Grant Smith and Wiremu Te Awe Awe blessing crosses set up to commemorate ANZAC Day, 2015. Each cross represented the name of an individual upon the Cenotaph, with 507 installed altogether. The 2015 ceremony, marking the 100th anniversary of the start of World War I, was one of the largest held to date.
This building was designed by the architect, Frederick de Jersey Clere, as the Palmerston North Technical Institute in 1909. It was greatly altered in the early 1930s when gables and associated embellishments were removed for safety reasons. It was taken over by the Palmerston North Teachers' College in 1955. In 1971 possession returned to the then Polytechnic, now UCOL. In 1998 it was restored and now looks fundamentally the same as the original.
Ernest Davis (1901-1981) in army uniform and his mother, Harriet Davis, walking outside the Post Office, in The Square, Palmerston North. Ernie served in WWII, and soon after this photograph embarked for Italy. Ernie, was the son of James and Harriet Davis. He later became a housing inspector, and married Dot Rennet in 1954. He died in Wanganui.
One of the last New Zealand swaggers, Russian Jack's real name was Barrett Krumer. He roamed the Manawatu and Wairarapa for 53 years, walking between Mauriceville, Dannevirke, Woodville, Manawatu Gorge, Ashhurst, Taihape, Mangaweka, Ohingaiti, Hunterville, Bulls, Feiling, Pahiatua, Eketahuna and Masterton. Russian Jack was born in Latvia in 1878 and died and was buried in Greytown, 1967. A statue of him is in the Library Square, Masterton.
Development began on the Victoria Esplanade in Palmerston North, named to mark Queen Victoria's 60th jubilee, in 1897. Queen Victoria Drive began as a rough track from Fitzherbert Avenue to Park Road in 1917. In 1919 it was properly laid out and metalled and was tarred and sanded c1920-1921. The people are unidentified.