This photographs shows the King Edward VII Coronation Fountain in The Square. The Coronation Fountain was built in 1902, in the middle of The Square but was shifted to this location in 1926, to allow the Cenotaph to take the central focus. It was again shifted in 2005 to another part of The Square. Also visible are the Hopwood Clock Tower and the War Memorial.
After work, this group of women went haymaking at the Fitzherbert property in Ihaka Street, Palmerston North, as part of the war effort. From left: Unknown; Eileen Redwood, worked at the Bank of New Zealand (later Mrs Kingston); Edna Spillman, worked at Johnston and Co (later Mrs Quarrie); Unknown.
Edna Spillman served in the New Zealand army, in World War II, for four years. Part of her service, as seen here, was spent working at the Railways Office, booking free railway passes for servicemen and their families. Her boss was Captain Harold Pierard
Sir Cyril and Lady Newell, in the back seat, are driven up the driveway of Massey Agricultural College in a car suitably decorated by students. Sir Cyril was Governor General for New Zealand 1941 - 1946. Massey Agricultural College, founded in 1928, was the forerunner of Massey University.
Sir Cyril and Lady Newell are driven through the gates of Massey Agricultural College in a car suitably decorated by students. Sir Cyril was Governor General for New Zealand 1941 - 1946. Massey Agricultural College, founded in 1928, was the forerunner of Massey University.
Sir Cyril and Lady Newell are escorted from their offical vehicle into a car decorated and attended by students of Massey Agricultural College. Sir Cyril was Governor General for New Zealand 1941 - 1946. Massey Agricultural College, founded in 1928, was the forerunner of Massey University.
Sir Cyril and Lady Newell (in car) are escorted by students armed with pitchforks, up the driveway of Massey Agricultural College, Palmerston North. Sir Cyril was Governor General for New Zealand 1941 - 1946. Massey Agricultural College, founded in 1928, was the forerunner of Massey University.
Sir Cyril Newell, Governor General for New Zealand 1941 - 1946, meets students, at attention with pitchforks over their shoulders, of Massey Agricultural College, Palmerston North. Massey Agricultural College, founded in 1928, was the forerunner of Massey University.
This photograph looks towards the corner of Fitzherbert Avenue and The Square. In the middle of the image, children can be seen playing in the Lakelet. It was the main feature of the last quadrant of The Square to be developed by the Beautifying Society. James Nash, Mayor of Palmerston North, opened The Lakelet on 27 October 1909. It is shaped as a butterfly, with the wings being bisected by a bridge as its body. It is also referred to as the Butterfly Lake. The building in the background is the old Palmerston North Municipal Library.
The Centennial Convention Centre, the third and final stage of the Civic Centre, was officially opened on Sunday September 28, 1980. The centre was designed to hold conferences, exhibitions and social events. The ground floor has the exhibition hall, foyer, social gallery and kitchen facilities. On the first floor is the convention hall, gallery, bar, and food preparation areas. Both areas can double as conference areas and operate independently at the same time, catering for up to 1000 people. This view shows the centre from the Piazza, between the Civic Administration building and the Convention Centre. the entrance to the Convention Centre has now been renovated. the corner of George Street can be seen in the foreground, opposite the Convention Centre.
The Manawatu Catchment Board was the first to be formed in New Zealand. In 1987 the Board amalgamated with the Rangitikei Wanganui Catchment Board to form the Central Districts Catchment Board, though it continued to officially exist until 1989 when it amalgamated with a number of other authorities to form the Manawatu Wanganui Regional Council.
Susan Herbert Knight (nee Nicholson) was born in Waipukarau in 1865. She married Robert Dawson Knight and moved to the Manawatu in 1903. They farmed at Longburn before, as a widow, she moved to live in Grey Street, Palmerston North in 1947. She died 3 December 1958.
The Palmerston North Bus Terminal was opened 10 January 1977, replacing the old bus terminal on the Square. It was situated on Church Street East and cost $50,000 to build. The site is now incorporated into 'The Plaza' in Palmerston North.
The Australasian Temperance and General Mutual Life Assurance Society Ltd (T&G) building in Palmerston North was designed by A and K Henderson in the distinctive 'house' style developed by the firm and constructed in 1938. In front is the building of Australia and New Zealand Bank Limited (ANZ).
The Sir Geoffrey Peren Building (named for the first principal of Massey Agricultural College, previously known as the Old Main Building) was designed by Roy A. Lippincott in the Spanish Mission / Mission Revival style. It was built by Fletcher Construction, with its foundation stone laid in 1929 and opening in 1931. As the main building of Massey Agricultural College it housed lecture rooms, teaching and research laboratories, a library, assembly hall, students' common room and staff studies. It is now used for offices, teaching and research.
This photograph looks towards Broadway Avenue from The Square. The spire that can be seen in the distance is the Church of the Holy Spirit, or St Patricks as it is commonly known.
"Whare Rata", was built in Fitzherbert in 1901, for Arthur Edward Russell, a retired farmer of Manawatu. The name means "The House of Redbeard", after Mr Rusell. The Government purchased the property in 1951, after Mrs Ethel Russell's death, and it became one of Massey Agricultural College's lecture theatres. Today "Whare Rata" (now spelt "Wharerata") is used by Massey University as a Staff and Function Centre.
A panorama of The Square in Palmerston North, looking doen Rangitikei Street in the background. Visible are the clock tower (the sound shell is now removed) and the DIC building (formerly the CM Ross Building, now home of the Palmerston North City Library).
This photograph appears to have been taken from a vehicle driving down Fitzherbert Avenue towards The Square. The Hopwood Clock Tower, built six years before this photograph was taken, is visible in the distance.
This shot of Rangitikei Street shows a variety of stores located in this area in the 1960s - including Taylors, a BP petrol station and several second-hand car lots. The Hopwood Clock Tower, built six years before this photograph was taken, can be seen in the distance. Note that it has neither the Easter Cross or the Lantern Cross on top.
View of The Square in Palmerston North. Visible are the DIC building (formerly the CM Ross Building, now home to the Palmerston North City Library) in the background, the lakelet and the Civic Administration Building. The lakelet was constructed in The Square, Palmerston North, in 1909 by the Beautifying Society, though the fountain was not constructed until 1960
John Adam Sligo was the Son of Alfred and Rose (nee Adam) Sligo of Gisborne, and the husband of Marie Theresa Sligo, of Lower Hutt. John Sligo served in WWII as a Pilot Officer in the Royal New Zealand Air Force, 57 (RAF) Squadron. He was killed in Denmark during an air operation 8 May 1942, at age 24, and is buried at Esbjerg (Fourfelt) Cemetery in Denmark.
This building was Palmerston North’s fourth Post Office, operating from 1906-1988. The original 1906 building was extended towards Broadway and up Main Street in the early 1920s and in 1937. It was originally built with a clock tower but this was removed in 1942 after an earthquake for safety reasons and the clock and chimes were re-housed in the ‘new’ clock tower in The Square in 1957.
The Vet Tower at Massey University. Construction began in the 1960s and completed in the early 1970s. Massey University is the only veterinary school in New Zealand be set up. By 1961 the Council of Massey Agricultural College was invited to establish a veterinary school, and a Faculty of Veterinary Science was formed in 1962. The first intake of students started their veterinary education in the BVSc degree in 1963, the same year that the Massey Agricultural College achieved university status.