The Dannevirke women's representative hockey team lined up with other competitors at a tournament, which was probably held in Invercargill. The Dannevirke players are the third team in from left, wearing dark top and skirt. Freda Mary Stewart is seated in the 2nd row, 5th from left and 2nd Dannevirke person. Freda (b. 1908) played representive hockey in Dannevirke prior to her marriage to Thomas Alder Hayes in 1938, and then lived in Palmerston North.
Third photograph, in a series of aerial shots, showing what was to become the Awapuni suburb of Palmerston North. College Street runs left to right in the foreground of photograph, with Pitama Road running off it, down to the Manawatu River. To the left can be seen part of the Palmerston North Golf Club. In 1964 the Palmerston North City Council acquired the Golf Club for residential development and the Club relocated to the end of Brightwater Terrace. See also 2008P_OSP_STR_2048 / 2028/ 2049/ 2051/ 2052/ 2053
Two photographs of The Square in Palmerston North. The top one looks across the railway lines and one quadrant of The Square with the cannon in it. Beyond can be seen Coleman Place, with the Union Bank of Australia on the corner, the Fire Station and bell tower, the Clarendon Hotel on the corner of Rangitikei Street and The Square. Across the corner of Rangitikei Street is the Royal Hotel and shops that run into Broadway. The bottom photograph looks across the same quadrant of The Square from Rangitikei Street corner towards Main Street east. It shows the Bank of Australasia, Bennett’s book shop, situated here 1891 to 1918, and the Chief Post Office.
The buildings from left to right are: the three C M Ross (Rosco) buildings built ca 1890, 1883 and 1915. All three were demolished in 1927 for the new four storey Rosco Building. The Union Bank of Australia on the corner was built in 1911 and is listed in category 4 of the New Zealand Historic Places Trust register. Further along on the corner of George Street and Coleman Mall can be seen another C M Ross building of 1915. On George Street facing down Coleman Place to The Square is the Palace Theatre, built 1915 on the site occupied by the Manawatu Stables.
Group portrait of the staff of the Palmerston North Post Office.
Fifth photograph, in a series of aerial shots, showing what was to become the Awapuni suburb. Botannical Road runs through the centre of the photograph to the Palmerston North Golf Club Golf . The Manawatu River can be seen in the foreground. In 1964 the Palmerston North City Council acquired the Golf Club for residential development and the Club relocated to the end of Brightwater Terrace. See also 2008P_OSP_STR_2049 / 2050/ 2051/ 2028/ 2053
Portrait of George Dunn.
Development began on the Victoria Esplanade, named to mark Queen Victoria's 60th jubilee, in 1897. Cherry blossom trees were first planted in the 1920s, and became a feature of the gardens. Hundreds of people came to view them each year when in blossom, and special trains ran from Wellington to bring sightseers.
A hand coloured photograph showing the road that connects Palmersotn North to Linton
Milson Airport opened in 1936. Aeroplanes, Koromiko, ZK-AFC and ZK-AFD, of Union Airways, parked outside the airport terminal building.
A panoramic view in sepia of The Square, taken on a rainy day in five sections from Main Street west. The first section looks across The Square to the Rangitikei Stret corner, flanked by the Clarendon Hotle on the left and the Royal Hotel on the right. The second section looks across The Square to the Broadway corner. The third section looks through to the Chief Post Office. The fourth section looks across the railway line and the band rotunda to the Church Street corner. The fifth section looks towards the Fitzherbert Avenue Corner, flanked by the Occidental Hotel on the right and the Bank of New Zealand on the right.
Henry Deards (c1863-1933) married Miss Elizabeth Davis. They lived in North Street, and had two daughters. Henry worked as a barman, in latter years at Devines Empire Hotel, and later as caretaker of the Empire Hall (next door to the Hotel).
An aerial view showing Palmerston North's Milson runway and buildings, on the edge of the city.
Palmerston North held celebrations to mark the coronation of King George VI and Queen Elizabeth. A procession marched from The Square to the Showgrounds followed by a ceremony. Here the Mayor, local dignitiaries and citizens view the march past at the showgrounds.
John Nairn established his market garden business at the end of College Street, as it was then, in 1893. In all seven glass houses and other buildings were built over the years. The family business largely grew tomatoes, cucumbers and grapes. The business can be seen just prior to demolition in 1958, to make way for residential growth in the Awapuni area. The Nairn home can be seen in the background.
Panorama, made up of 4 images, of The Square, showing gardens, band rotunda, Chief Post Office and crowds congregating around the railway lines outside Child's Commercial Hotel. Flags are flying on buildings and the band rotunda. The crowds are perhaps waiting to see a train of soldiers leave Palmerston North.
A panorama of the Palmerston North Showgrounds, showing grandstand, band rotunda, show buildings and yards. The showgrounds were opened in 1886 on the site of the first cemetery plot in Palmerston North, and still stand bound by Cuba, Pascal, Waldegrave and Featherston Streets.
Fourth photograph, in a series of aerial shots, showing what was to become the Awapuni suburb. Botannical Road runs down the right of the photograph, and the end of the Palmerston North Golf Club can be seen. In 1964 the Palmerston North City Council acquired the Golf Club for residential development and the Club relocated to the end of Brightwater Terrace. See also 2008P_OSP_STR_2049 / 2050/ 2028/ 2052/ 2053.
Palmerston North held celebrations to mark the coronation of King George VI and Queen Elizabeth. The procession started in The Square and was followed by a ceremony performed at the Showgrounds. Nurses march in a group, followed by others, around the corner of Coleman Place and The Square
Kaingahou was built for Ditlev Monrad c1905. At the time of this photograph it was the residence of the Kendall family. Written on the rear of the photograph, 'Property of R A Swan. Grandpa, Grandma, and Margaret on foot path'. Margaret, born 1921, (later Mrs Kernohan) is in the arms of her grandfather, George Kendall. The house still stands at what is now 642 Pioneer Highway.
John Nairn established his market garden business at the end of College Street, as it was then, in 1893. In all, seven glass houses and other buildings were built over the years. The family business largely grew tomatoes, cucumbers and grapes. These three glass houses measured respectively 100ft by 28ft, 78ft by 28ft and 153ft by 26ft, and were claimed to be the most substantially built structures for commercial growing throughout Australasia. High pressure artesian water tanks imported from England are shown at the rear of the buildings. The business was demolished in 1958, to make way for residential growth in the Awapuni area.
Mr D W Low was Headmaster of College Street School from 1904 - 1924. During his teaching career he was prominent in the NZEI, was a City Councillor 1925-1931, a member of the Wanganui Education Board 1926-1928 and A & P Association and a Justice of the Peace. He was also a member of the bowling and golf clubs and an active member of St Andrew's Presbyterian Church.
Looking across The Square to the Grand Hotel, built 1906. To the left can be seen the Occidental Hotel opposite the Bank of New Zealand, on the corner of Fitzherbert Avenue. In the foreground can be seen the statue of Te Peeti Te Awe Awe erected in 1907, and behind, the observatory and cannon before the Lakelets were constructed and opened in 1909. To the right is the Band rotunda, situated in the centre of The Square.
The brickworks, with the Hoffman Kiln, can be seen at centre left, and the metal pit, now being developed as Pit Park. At centre can be seen Freyberg High School, with Ross Intermediate behind. Tweed Street curves around at the bottom.
Hand coloured photograph looking from the Grand Hotel corner towards the Chief Post Office. In the foreground can be seen the Lakelet quadrant before the lakelet was constructed in 1909.
The Coronation Fountain, built 1902, is in the forefront of this view of the Square. Directly behind can be seen the men's toilets built in 1982, and the central parking precinct. Buildings in the background are the T & G tower on Broadway and the Telecom tower and building on Main Street. Either side of the Main Street corner of The Square can be seen the Post Office (left) and the Palmerston North Public Library.
The Te Peeti Te Awe Awe statue stands in the middle of the quadrant of The Square near Church Street. The clock tower was removed from the Post Office after an earthquake in 1942.
Overlooking 2 quadrants of The Square on the right. On the left can be seen the Clarendon Hotel and the Bank of New Zealand opposite each other on the corner of Rangitikei Street.
A hand coloured photograph of The Square. The cannon was one of two purchased and placed in The Square in 1909, and the Lakelet created in 1909. Behind can be seen the All Saints Church, built 1914 and the Grand Hotel, built 1906.
Group of men photographed at Macedo's studio.