The Public Trust was established in 1872. In Palmerston North the Public Trust grew rapidly earning a permanent branch office in 1919; by 1937 it had a staff of fifty under the control of Mr C Freyberg, District Public Trustee. The building shown here was opened in 1922; in later years many extensions were required, including a partial second floor being added and extensive improvements on the ground floor completed around 1936. The building was demolished in August/September of 1978 to make way for the new courthouse building. See also ; ‘Swamp to City’ pg 138.