The house was constructed by Jacob Nannestad c1892 and sold to John Strang in 1903. In 1921 the Strang's sold the property to W.C. Caccia Birch. It remained in the Caccia Birch family until gifted to the Government in 1941. After various uses it was eventually given to the Palmerston North City Council. It is now called Caccia Birch and serves as a function centre.