Found 1 result

Narrow search resultsHideFilters

 
Flooding at Awapuni

Flooding at Awapuni

Flooding at Awapuni, at the end of the Palmerston North Racecourse. In the centre, the two storied gabled house is the Women’s Division of Federated Farmer’s Union rest home “Kaianga Moe’, which later burnt down in 1958. This house, formerly 'Shalimar', was built for Walter Strang on Long Melford Road c1903. Between 1926-1939 it was used as the 'Girl's Flock House', and was then sold to the WDFFU. At the end of Long Melford Road (on Maxwells Line) is the Awapuni Hospital, for the elderly.