Staff and students of the Palmerston North Technical High School. Palmerston North Technical School was founded in 1902, with art classes conducted by the Wanganui Education Board. 1906 saw organization of Technical Classes handed to Palmerston North Boys' High Board of Governors. Mr. F. D. Opie was appointed the first Director in 1908 and worked tirelessly building the role and expanding options until his death in early 1924. the secondary School moved to Rangitikei Street in 1956 and was renamed Queen Elizabeth College. Photograph from the “Dominion, Special Souvenir Booklet’ September 2, 1930.
The Hokowhitu School Swimming Baths opened on February 27 1932.