This photograph was taken from the section of Rangitikei Street between King and Queen Streets. In the shot are many pedestrians standing on the pavement and a horse cart moving at speed. This horse cart is the Bourough Council's water-cart, used to water the roads. It was built by P&D Duncan and sold to the Council by Adam Burges. The driver for many years was Fred Jardes (pronounces "guards"). The two-storey brick building on the left is Dawick's Buffet (boarding house). Next to Dawick's Buffet is a single-storey wooden building (with flag pole). This is Harry Palmer's auction mart and furniture showroom, situated on the corner of King Street. On the opposite side of King Street stands the two-storey Phoenix Hotel. This two-storey building was replaced in 1911 by the Hotel Imperial, which occupied 30 Rangitikei Street from 1911 – 1968, after which it was replaced by the Commercial Union building. On the south side of Rangitikei Street is the three-storey brick building occupied by the Clarendon Hotel. It was constructed in 1904, after fire had destroyed the earlier wooden hotel. In 1927 the license was transferred to the newly constructed Carlton hotel in Cuba Street and the building was converted into shops and offices, as seen in the photograph. The ground floor was occupied by Goldfinch and Cousins Ltd. The top-storey of the building was removed after the 1931 Napier earthquake.
This photograph was taken from the the roof or top storey of the four-storied Roscos Department Store. On the horizon is the spire of St Patricks' (1925); on the corner of Palmerston North and The Square (far right) is the Bank of Australasia (now the ANZ), a two-storey brick structure built before 1925. The building opposite it with the mock domed clock tower is the wooden Collinson and Cunningham (standing 1911-1964). The light coloured buildings to the left of C&C were demolished in 1932. The 1915 Bank of New Zealand building is prominent on the corner of Rangitikei Street. It was expanded and defaced in the early sixties. On the other side of the intersection stands the brick building which served as the Clarendon Hotel from 1904-1927 and thereafter as a block of shops - primarily Goldfinch and Cousin's menswear business. In 1931, after the Napier earthquake, the top storey was hurriedly demolished as a potential risk (as was the Grand Hotel tower). This photograph must therefore have been taken in the winter (note the trees and coats) of 1928, 1929 or 1930. This building no longer exists and the site is occupied by the Commercial Union and Westside Buildings that contains @ The Hub (a student hostel) and the Rangitikei Convenience Store. For later views of Broadway Avenue see 2014n_sq220_008639 and 2014P_Sq276_008921.