Looking across the lakelet quadrant of The Square in Palmerston North. The building labelled Municipal Offices was originally the offices of the Colonial Bank of New Zealand. The Palmerston North Borough Council first leased tne building in 1900 and then purchased it in 1905. The Library was housed there 1900-1905, then it became the Council offices. The building has now been replaced by what is called Square Edge, an arts centre. On the opposite corner stands the Grand Hotel which opened in 1906 (still standing in 2014). To its right is the Manawatu Daily Times building. It was moved into this space in the 1890s and the newspaper remained here until 1913. The gun in the Square opposite the Grand Hotel was put there in May 1909. The Lakelet was constructed in October 1909, by the Beautifying Society, and remains there today (2014).