Found 8 results

Narrow search resultsHideFilters

 
Saint Josephs Convent School Prior to Demolition, Carroll Street and Fitchett Street

Saint Josephs Convent School Prior to Demolition, Carroll Street and Fitchett Street

St Josephs Convent, run by the Sisters of Mercy, began in Fitchett Street in 1910, and later expanded into Pirie and Carroll Streets, on leasehold land. This building was constructed in Carroll Street c1891, and was the Carow Ladies’ College (also known as the Carow Girls’ Collegiate School) until about 1902, and was then owned by Duncan Matheson. He sold it to the Catholic Church, and in 1923 the building was cut in half and moved on rollers to the south side of Fitchett street, where it became the St Joseph’s Convent High School until 1974. The building was demolished in the 1990s to make way for a retirement village.

 
Saint Josephs Convent School Prior to Demolition, Carroll Street and Fitchett Street

Saint Josephs Convent School Prior to Demolition, Carroll Street and Fitchett Street

St Josephs Convent, run by the Sisters of Mercy, began in Fitchett Street in 1910, and later expanded into Pirie and Carroll Streets, on leasehold land. This building was constructed in Carroll Street c1891, and was the Carow Ladies’ College (also known as the Carow Girls’ Collegiate School) until about 1902, and was then owned by Duncan Matheson. He sold it to the Catholic Church, and in 1923 the building was cut in half and moved on rollers to the south side of Fitchett street, where it became the St Joseph’s Convent High School until 1974. The building was demolished in the 1990s to make way for a retirement village.

 
Saint Josephs Convent School Prior to Demolition, Carroll Street and Fitchett Street

Saint Josephs Convent School Prior to Demolition, Carroll Street and Fitchett Street

St Josephs Convent, run by the Sisters of Mercy, began in Fitchett Street in 1910, and later expanded into Pirie and Carroll Streets, on leasehold land. This building was constructed in Carroll Street c1891, and was the Carow Ladies’ College (also known as the Carow Girls’ Collegiate School) until about 1902, and was then owned by Duncan Matheson. He sold it to the Catholic Church, and in 1923 the building was cut in half and moved on rollers to the south side of Fitchett street, where it became the St Joseph’s Convent High School until 1974. The building was demolished in the 1990s to make way for a retirement village.

 
Saint Josephs Convent School Prior to Demolition, Carroll Street and Fitchett Street

Saint Josephs Convent School Prior to Demolition, Carroll Street and Fitchett Street

St Josephs Convent, run by the Sisters of Mercy, began in Fitchett Street in 1910, and later expanded into Pirie and Carroll Streets, on leasehold land. This building was constructed in Carroll Street c1891, and was the Carow Ladies’ College (also known as the Carow Girls’ Collegiate School) until about 1902, and was then owned by Duncan Matheson. He sold it to the Catholic Church, and in 1923 the building was cut in half and moved on rollers to the south side of Fitchett street, where it became the St Joseph’s Convent High School until 1974. The building was demolished in the 1990s to make way for a retirement village.

 
Saint Josephs Convent School Prior to Demolition, Carroll Street and Fitchett Street

Saint Josephs Convent School Prior to Demolition, Carroll Street and Fitchett Street

St Josephs Convent, run by the Sisters of Mercy, began in Fitchett Street in 1910, and later expanded into Pirie and Carroll Streets, on leasehold land. This building was constructed in Carroll Street c1891, and was the Carow Ladies’ College (also known as the Carow Girls’ Collegiate School) until about 1902, and was then owned by Duncan Matheson. He sold it to the Catholic Church, and in 1923 the building was cut in half and moved on rollers to the south side of Fitchett street, where it became the St Joseph’s Convent High School until 1974. The building was demolished in the 1990s to make way for a retirement village.

 
Saint Josephs Convent School Prior to Demolition, Carroll Street and Fitchett Street

Saint Josephs Convent School Prior to Demolition, Carroll Street and Fitchett Street

St Josephs Convent, run by the Sisters of Mercy, began in Fitchett Street in 1910, and later expanded into Pirie and Carroll Streets, on leasehold land. This building was constructed in Carroll Street c1891, and was the Carow Ladies’ College (also known as the Carow Girls’ Collegiate School) until about 1902, and was then owned by Duncan Matheson. He sold it to the Catholic Church, and in 1923 the building was cut in half and moved on rollers to the south side of Fitchett street, where it became the St Joseph’s Convent High School until 1974. The building was demolished in the 1990s to make way for a retirement village.

 
Saint Josephs Convent School Prior to Demolition, Carroll Street and Fitchett Street

Saint Josephs Convent School Prior to Demolition, Carroll Street and Fitchett Street

St Josephs Convent, run by the Sisters of Mercy, began in Fitchett Street in 1910, and later expanded into Pirie and Carroll Streets, on leasehold land. This building was constructed in Carroll Street c1891, and was the Carow Ladies’ College (also known as the Carow Girls’ Collegiate School) until about 1902, and was then owned by Duncan Matheson. He sold it to the Catholic Church, and in 1923 the building was cut in half and moved on rollers to the south side of Fitchett street, where it became the St Joseph’s Convent High School until 1974. The building was demolished in the 1990s to make way for a retirement village.

 
Saint Josephs Convent School Prior to Demolition, Carroll Street and Fitchett Street

Saint Josephs Convent School Prior to Demolition, Carroll Street and Fitchett Street

St Josephs Convent, run by the Sisters of Mercy, began in Fitchett Street in 1910, and later expanded into Pirie and Carroll Streets, on leasehold land. This building was constructed in Carroll Street c1891, and was the Carow Ladies’ College (also known as the Carow Girls’ Collegiate School) until about 1902, and was then owned by Duncan Matheson. He sold it to the Catholic Church, and in 1923 the building was cut in half and moved on rollers to the south side of Fitchett street, where it became the St Joseph’s Convent High School until 1974. The building was demolished in the 1990s to make way for a retirement village.