Architectural plans by L G West & Son for the Working Men’s Club on 233-239 Cuba Street. Plan include the joinery details and overall site plan. Contract # 1434, dated May 1927.
Architectural plans for Ward Brothers shop and other additions on the corner of Lombard Street and Cuba Street. Holding includes site plan, details of reinforcement, bending moment diagram, overall elevation and floor plan, workshop addition, bulk store addition, additions to the existing premises and plans for a shelter. In 1911, Palmerston North brothers William Ercott Ward and Edward E Ward began their paperhanging and decorating business in the washhouse of William Ward’s home. The business expanded into mirror-making, glass-cutting and picture framing and in 1927 Ward Brothers relocated to Cuba Street. The brothers later commissioned architects Ernst West and Francis Hornibrooke to design this two-storey building, which was constructed by contractor A G Holmes in 1935 at a cost of £2214. The original plan of the building allowed for two shops on the ground floor and several large showroom spaces and service rooms on the first floor, with a slightly off-centre staircase. The Ward brothers originally ran their store out of the left shop and leased the other.
Architectural plans created for the A&P association, circa August 1940. Plans Include the original A&P Hall, exterior entrance, Ladie’s Restroom, pig and sheep pavilions, an overall site plan, as well as alterations and additions to existing buildings. The showgrounds were opened in 1886 on the site of the first cemetery plot in Palmerston North, and still stand bound by Cuba, Pascal, Waldegrave and Featherston Streets. Situated near the CBD of Palmerston North on Cuba Street, the site is currently called Central Energy Trust and boasts 6 arenas.
Multiple architectural plans made for the National Bank of New Zealand Ltd building on the corner of Cuba Street and Rangitikei Street. Plans include alterations, elevation and floor plans, sections, details, alterations to floor and elevation plans. Original building planned in August 1928 as part of Contract # 996 by Atkins & Mitchell Architects, Wellington. Further plans and renovations by O A Jorgensen (1929 - Contract 1122), L G West & Son (January 1931), F Bullick (February 1939 - Contract 700).