Flooding in the Turitea Valley as seen from the top of Harts Road looking across Turitea Road.
Uniformed members of the Palmerston North City Silver Band, posing with their instruments. From left: Back row: O Dalby; D Edwards; W Lacey; B Ozier; S James; R Miles (Drum Major); Ray How; I O'Hara (Deputy Conductor); F Robson; B Bailey; M Christensen. Centre row: L Miles; L Pacey; N Anderson; D Mitchell; E Findlay; C Boyce; L Lacey; Reg. How. Front row: V Belgrave; R Cook; N Bruce; L LeCheminant; M Paris; W O'Hara (Conductor); B Kruse; J Robson; B Belgrave; S Davis.
Shown here are Dutch migrants, who arrived on the "Sibajick to Wellington" to work under contract to the New Zealand Railways, in order to help construct the Milson Railway deviation, that took the train station, yards and track out of the centre of Palmerston North. This picture was taken in the Palmerston North Railway Yard. Front row: Peter Koning; Will Van Der Put. Back Row: Oeter Schellvis; Andre Zentveld; Bill Terbrake; Frank Gerbich (from New Zealand); Hugo Muller; Bert Jansen; Peter Westerhuis; Phillip Lagewaard.
The Wellington Manawatu Railway Company Limited constructed the rail line between Wellington and Palmerston, opened in 1886, and ran it until they sold it to the Government in 1908.
Anders Hansen Ihle was born in Norway 26/01/1833 and died in Palmerston North, NZ 20/05/1918. His surname was originally Hansen with the Ihle being a corruption of Iler. Hans married Martha Maria Pedersdotter on 4/03/1865 in the Hovia annex of the Ullensager Church. The family arrived in NZ aboard the ship Celaeno to take up land allotted in Palmerston North, section 350, lot 14 (40 acres of the Karere Scandinavian Block). See IMCA A175/168, Mosquitoes and Sawdust by Val Burr and Skandia 1 page 11-13.
From left: Cr d Needham (Builder); Cr Fred Jackson (Builder); Cr M A Elliott (commission agent); Cr S R Lancaster (Farmer); A M Spillman (Abattoir Manager); R Jordan (Assistant Town Clerk); J R Hardie (Town Clerk); R Black (Curator of Reserves); J A Nash (Mayor); J R Hughes (Borough Engineer); E Rabbidge (Gas Manager); G W Healy (Assistant Gas Manager); Cr M H Oram (Solicitor); Cr A J Graham (Chemist); Cr C F Spooner (Stationer); Cr E V West (Architect); Cr H J Canton (Farmer).
'Dania' was the home of Charles Dahl (1856-1929), a manufacturer of Palmerston North. Dahl was a Danish immigrant who came to Palmerston North in 1885 and set up a canvas and tent making business. previously hea had set up the first store in Rongotea. From 1919 he was the Danish Vice-Consul and was decorated by the King of Denmark in 1926.
'The Wattles' was built for William Park, a stationer of Palmerston North, and his family in 1887. Richard John Seddon visited Palmerston North when Prime Minister of New Zealand, along with James Carroll, Member of Parliament. In the vehicle on the left: William Park, with bowler hat and moustache; Richard John Seddon, with white beard. In the vehicle on the right is James Carroll, with hand on chin.
This house is located at 68 Heretaunga Street. It is typical of 1930s architecture.
This art deco building was on the left or northward side of College Street, between Ranfurly and Ada Streets (opposite Union Street). It was designed as two flats for Miss Charlotte Eliot Warburton by Reginald Thorrold-Jaggard, a local architect in 1937. Charlotte Warburton was a well known local resident who was born in Palmerston North in 1883. She was active in the Girl Guide Movement and was chairman of the committee of the Women's War Service Auxiliary, for which she was awarded an MBE in 1946. She died in 1961. Contract and plans are held in CA: Thorrold Jaggard, contract 665.
Carlton Avenue was designed as a 'garden street'. 8 Carlton Avenue (on left) was built in 1930. Its first owner was W H Stephens. 9 Carlton Avenue (on right) was built in 1928-1929 and its first owner was D H Cook. The roof as seen was remodelled soon after being built - see 2010p\_bur301\_3399a.
These two-storied residences ar typical architecture of the 1930s. It is thought that one of them might be the former home of Thomas Grigg, the undertaker, and situated on the left-hand side of Fitzherbert Avenue.
178b Fitzherbert Avenue was the home of John Coulson Fowler, who came to New Zealand in 1879.
'The Wattles' was built for William Park, Stationer, Councillor and Mayor of Palmerston North, and his family in 1887, on 4 acres of land. The dining room of Mr. Park’s house was situated on the ground floor, facing Linton Street. The house was demolished in 1967.
This house was designed by Reginald Thorrold-Jaggard, a local architect, in 1929. It was built by Dickle and Kempson for Mr E Bruce Levy. Plans held in Ian Matheson City Archives: CA: Thorrold Jaggard, contract no.366
This house was designed by Reginald Thorrold-Jaggard, a local architect, in 1932. It was built by A E Allen for Charles F Cronin, a manager, who lived in it until c1946. Plans held in Ian Matheson City Archives: CA: Thorrold Jaggard, contract no.465
'The Wattles' was constructed in 1887 and was demolished in 1967. The hall of the house was situated on the ground floor just inside the front door. On the left can be seen the door to the drawing room, while in the center is a passage leading to the stairs and dining room.
This house was designed by Reginald T Jaggard, a lcoal architect for Mr C A Small, as a 'Hanoverian House' in 1933. It was built by F J Poman. Plans held in Ian Matheson City Archives: CA Thorrold Jaggard, contract 507.
This block of four flats, designed by Reginald Thorrold-Jaggard, a local architect, was constructed for Miss Norah Grant in 1936. Plans and contract held in CA: Thorrold Jaggard, contract 604. Renumbered as 235 Broadway Avenue.
The older house is at 748 Main Street. It was built around 1887 and distinguishing features were the twin gables of the front. T R Moore was an early owner, followed by the Coutts family. The house is mostly built of totara and the flooring is tongue and groove in heart totara. The house, near the Ruahine Street corner, no longer exists at this address (2010).
The location of this building construction is unknown. It is possibly state housing.
It is thought this housing development may be part of Savage Crescent, with the near road Mansford Place. The brick house on the far left could be 127 Savage Crescent.
William Park was a stationer in Palmerston North, and also served as a Councillor and Mayor. Two of Mr. Park's sons are in the foreground. This view of the house, built 1887, shows the side of the house fronting Linton Street. The house was demolished in 1967 and replaced by single storey apartments.
Mrs Matilda Kennedy is on the verandah of her home, in either Taonui or North Street, with three of her children: Willie (standing); Frederick; Jessie. Matilda Kennedy, nee Mellon, came to New Zealand from Australia and lived on the West Coast. She married John Kennedy and they had a family of 9 children. Matilda died in Te Awamutu c1920.
This house was built in 1905 by Mr John Hankins, a solicitor with Hankins, Fitzherbert and Abraham. In 1910 the house was bought by Mr Robert McNab, a prominent New Zealand historian who had a fire-proof concrete library added to the house. The house became a maternity hospital and nursing home in 1925. It was owned by the Charters sisters and known as 'Levuka'. After it was partly destroyed by fire in 1929 it was bought by Mrs J L Hopwood, who, in 1934, had the house remodelled as the Cranleigh Apartment House. In the late 1930s it was renumbered as 189 Fitzherbert Avenue. The house had about 36 rooms and was still existant in the late 1970s.Plans, by the architectural firm L G West, of the 1934 remodelling and the 10 bedroom annex built that year are held in the Ian Matheson City Archives; CA: L G West, Ref Nos 428, 429 & 433.
This house was built by Elliot Warburton (d.1922) in the 1870s, and sold by him to the Government for Defence Offices in 1915. Elliot Warburton, a solicitor, arrived in Palmerston North in 1875 as a young man of 27 and married Miss Budd in 1882. Pictured are two of his daughters, Maud (later Mrs C Dalgety) and Charlotte. The house has since been demolished.
William Smith was a brick maker. Mrs W Smith is in the centre of the photograph. The residence stood on the eastern side of what is now Victoria Avenue, near the Church Street corner.
The panelled, furnished, foyer of , what appears to be, a large house.
This building was one of the first European houses in inland Manawatu, erected 1867 by European carpenters employed by Ditlev Gothard Monrad, the Lutheran Bishop and ex-Premier of Denmark who settled at Karere in 1866. The house was occupied by the Bishop and his wife 1867 - 1868 and then by one of the Bishop's sons, Viggo, 1868 - 1885. The last owners and occupants were two of Viggo Monrad's sons, Ditlev and Oscar, who lived in the house from about 1886 until its destruction by fire in 1889. The house was situated near the bank of the Karere Lagoon on section 35 of the Karere Block, about three miles west of the present settlement of Longburn, near Palmerston North. To the left can be seen the original clay whare that housed the family until the house was built. A translated description of the clay hut reads, “They took the clay from the bed of the lagoon, which puddled with straw they used for the walls and the floor. The roof was of thatch but this was later replaced with shingles”.
This building was one of the first European houses in inland Manawatu, erected 1867 by European carpenters employed by Ditlev Gothard Monrad, the Lutheran Bishop and ex-Premier of Denmark who settled at Karere in 1866. The house was occupied by the Bishop and his wife 1867 - 1868 and then by one of the Bishop's sons, Viggo, 1868 - 1885. A verandah and extra ground-floor rooms were added to the house about 1880. The last owners and occupants were two of Viggo Monrad's sons, Ditlev and Oscar, who lived in the house from about 1886 until its destruction by fire in 1889. Written on the rear of the photograph:” To the left of the house is partly visible the store, which is on posts. The stave fence carries on down to the other fence. You can see between the big tree and whare a yard, but now we will change the left part from the fence to the store into a hen run. The open window is our bedroom, the two middle ones the living room, the left one the guest room. Above my room is Louise’s, the remainder still open space with a couple of windows. The door leads into a passage. To the right of the house is a gate leading into a yard. To the right of the whare stands raspberry bushes, then potatoes….etc”.