This postcard looks down Church Street probably from the top of All Saints Church to the corner of Church Street East and The Square. To the left is the Statue of Te Awe Awe (constructed 1907). The buildings on The Square include: A Stanton's confectionary; Millar and Giorgi (built in 1902, rebuilt after a fire in 1910); John Ross and Company; Swallow's bookshop; A Turner, painter and decorator (on Maple Corner), who also owned the Club Hotel. On Church Street East, the Opera House is just visible (built 1904-1905), as is St Andrews Church (the building with the 6 little arched windows in the roof). The Occidental Hotel is the building towards the centre of the postcard with a clock tower.