Palmerston North Borough Council rate book, listing rate payers for the years (1 April - 31 March) 1925 - 1926. Gives names, street, owner (if different to rate payer), legal description of property, capital and unimproved values and rates paid.
In 1958, the Health Inspector and Trainee Health Inspector of the Kairanga County Council conducted a survey of the housing conditions at the Kai Iwi Pā, a Marae and village of the Ngāti Kauwhata iwi, near Feilding. They reported: “It is obvious conditions generally are bad – housing structures are poor and dilapidated; there is gross over-crowding; plumbing and draining almost entirely absent and water supplies inadequate.” Welfare Officers from the Māori Affairs Department had attempted to improve conditions in the area, but in most instances the houses were still assessed as unsafe or unsanitary. This collection includes selected documents from a file kept by the Kairanga County Clerk concerning housing at Kai Iwi Pā. Reports were prepared on each of the seventeen dwellings. The names of the owners and occupants have been blanked out in these digital reproductions to protect the privacy of living relatives. During the mid-twentieth century many Māori relocated from regional areas to towns and cities for employment and other opportunities. Some of the families discussed here were in the process of moving to Feilding and were on the waiting list for a state house. These documents are a product of their time and contain language and opinions that may be considered offensive or insensitive. They are reproduced here for the valuable insights they provide into living conditions, government attitudes and race relations in mid-twentieth century New Zealand.
This register for the Palmerston North Municipal Opera House and Coronation Hall records bookings from 1935 until 1940, for performances, meetings and the activities of community groups. The Municipal Opera House, designed by F J Wilson and built by J Trevor and Sons, was erected on Church Street in 1904-1905 and opened 12 July 1905. In 1952 it was condemned as unsafe by the Palmerston North City Council and was strengthened and remodelled both inside and out in 1955. It was sold by the PNCC to a businessman in 1996 and demolished. The Coronation Hall, located at 801 Main Street, was built as a Public Hall in 1911 to mark the Coronation of George V. In 1962 it was bought by the Palmerston North Little Theatre Society (later Manawatu Theatre Society) and became a playhouse. In 1996 the hall was bought by Douglas and Moana Hann, who renovated the building into a home. As of 2014, it is the premises of a painting and decoration business.
A report prepared by Peter Crawford, Research Planner, for the Town Planning Department of the Palmerston North City Council. It discusses the recent increase in the Māori population of the city and projected trends for the future. The report is a product of its time and some of the language used and views expressed may be considered offensive or insensitive.
This report was prepared by Peter Crawford, Research Planner, for the Palmerston North City Corporation Town Planning Office. It considers changes in the demographics of the region's Māori population between 1966 and 1971. The report is a product of its time and some of the language used and views expressed may be considered offensive or insensitive.