Map showing part of the area bought by the Government to open up the interior of the lower North Island. it follows the courseof the Manawatu and Oroua Rivers. "The main part of this map is traced from one drawn by Mr G L Adkin in Nov. 1956 based on a half-scale copy (dated 1860) of J T Stewart's 2 inches to 1 mile survey of 1859. Additional names and data are from other maps by J T Stewart and from other sources. Additional pa sites have been added from a rough map drawn by the Hon. Mr W. Moffat. As the latter was not to scale these sites may be out of their true position and have been marked thus + for reference. A. E (?) Williams. August 1961"
This series of images depicts the development of the site at the corner of The Square and Main Street (east) over the period of 17 June 1963 – 5 April 1965. During this time these existing buildings including the former Municipal Council Offices/Third Public Library the former Manawatū Evening Standard offices, and the corner retail building) were demolished to make way for the construction of a new public library. The public library was officially opened on 4 November 1965. Retail businesses include Mowlem's Pharmacy and Evan's Bag Store.
The new public library was officially opened on 4 November, 1965 and served as the city's library until 1996. The caption reads: "The library building from The Square. At present the library occupies part of the ground floor, all of the first floor, and the basement."
The Palmerston North Public Library as seen from near the corner of Rangitikei Street and The Square. The building was officially opened on 4 November, 1965 and served as the city's library until 1996.
Palmerston North Public Library Circulation Staff. Front row (L-R): Melva Hardie, Joyce Dennis, Diana Pipke, Jenny Duckett, Elizabeth Grant. Second row: Suzanne [?], Belinda Kelland, Sally Austin, Lorna Olsen, Barbara Yeoman, Linda Pearson. Third row: Brenda Elliot, Alan Picking, Robert Ensing, Unidentified, Grant Wattes.
Palmerston North Public Library Staff. Front row (L-R): Margaret Mowat, Marie Moncrieff, Irene Wolfbauer, Ian Malcolm, Julie Tucker,Diana Pipke, Chris Campbell. Second Row: Belinda Kelland, Ruth Blakely, Patricia Key, Elizabeth Grant, Fiona Harkness, Suzanne [?], Dale Lukkassen, Pat Pundy, Norrelle Rosser, Melva Hardie. Third Row: Graeme Wattes, Elizabeth Agnew, Barbara Yeoman, Unidentified, Glorianne Stevens, Noretta Holdsworth, Joyce Dennis, Linda Harrowfield, Bronwyn Jones, Elizabeth Gardner. Left Back: Brenda Elliott, Martin Shierlaw, Alan Picking, John Collins, Merill Robinson, Joyce Andrews, Eileen Raines, Barbara Seifort, Joanne Elwood. Right Back: Sally Austin, Unidentified, Jenny Duckett, Robert Ensing, Mary Saxby, Stephanie Farmer, Lorna Olsen, Pam Mayo, Stefanie Bieder, Linda Pearson.
A new public library was opened in November 65 on the corner of Main Street and The Square. This photograph shows a child standing at the security gates.
A new public library was opened in November 65 on the corner of Main Street and The Square. This photograph shows a librarian reading to children in the children's area of the library.
A new mobile library bus began service in 1989. This photograph shows (from left) the Mayor, Paul Rieger, Unknown, Anthony Lewis (Librarian - obscured) and Ian Cruden (Councillor) and what is believed to be the launch of the new bus.
A publicity image used in the souvenir programme for the offical opening of the public library in 1965. The reverse reads: "A view from the ground floor showing ornamental pool and internal stair to first floor."
A series of images spanning 4 May - 14 September, 1965, depicting the construction of the Public Library on the corner of Main Street and The Square. The library was officially opened on 4 November, 1965.
Blueprint of The First Church of Christ Scientist with drawings for Ground Floor; Foundations; Longitudinal Sections; Side Elevation; Rear Elevation; Cross Section and Front Elevation.
Blueprint of The First Church of Christ Scientist with drawings for the new Sunday School Building. Contains setting out and electrical plan; foundation plan; front and side elevation.
From the title page, "Historical Maori Pageant Organised and Staged by the Maori People of the Manawatu District for the Diamond Jubilee Committee of Palmerston North as an event during the Celebrations, held in November 20th to 27th, 1937. Maori Committee: Rangi Marumaru (Parewanui), Chairman Hoani Meihana Apakura Meihana Durie (Aorangi) Wiremu K Te Awe Awe (Rangiotu) Akuira Te Rangi (Rangiotu) Tata Roera (Awahuri) Te Hiwawa Paurini (Tokorangi) Purangi Herangi (Pikiahu-Waewae, Halcombe) Te Haeana Wi Hemara (Motuiti) Pitihira Reihana (Motuiti) Takerei Kohika (Poutu-Shannon) Hon. Rangi Mawhete, M.L.C. (Convener) Taite Te Tomo (Kakariki) (Kaumatua representing the older generation of assembled tribes) Rikihana B Carkeek, Hon. Secretary" Printed by local company H. L. Young Ltd.
Topographical map showing boundaries proposed by the Palmerston North City Council (August and November 1988) and Local Government Commission (Interim Determination and Draft, December 1988. In 1989 there was New Zealand wide reform of Local Government. At the time about 850 local bodies were amalgamated into 86 local authorities, made up of regional and territorial levels.
"A Form of Prayer and Thanksgiving to Almighty God commended by the Archbishops of Cantebury and York for general use on Wednesday, the 12th Day of May, 1937 being the day of the Coronations of their Majesties King George VI and Queen Elizabeth in the Abbey Church of St. Peter, Westminter."
The order of service from the unveiling of the Memorial Shrine at Fitzroy Memorial Park (later known as Memorial Park). The memorial was created to remember service men and women from Palmerston North and District who gave their lives during World War One and World War Two.