A flock of sheep block Awahuri Road. Behind them gentleman on horseback, a bicyclist and a coach wait to pass. Taken around the Kitchener Park area.
To the left of the Band Rotunda is the original All Saints Church. It was replaced with the current brick structure in 1914-1915. On the corner of Church Street and The Square is the Provincial Hotel. It burned down 3 January 1906 and was replaced by the Grand Hotel, which still stands in The Square today . The fact that the three-storey Coles Building has not replaced the two storey wooden building on the far right suggests that the photograph was taken around 1902.
This booklet of Palmerston North views includes All Saints Church, The Square, Massey Agricultural College, Boys High School, Girls High School and Rangitikei Street. It was printed by Dawson Printing Company Ltd, Auckland.
This hand-tinted postcard shows the Manawatū Gorge around 1900.
This postcard wallet shows a variety of Palmerston North views, including The Victoria Esplanade, a train going through the Manawatū Gorge, a panoramic view of The Square and the portion of The Square between Coleman Mall and Church Street West.
This punt was in operation from 1895 until 1909. It was the second punt to operate on the Manawatu River at Ashhurst, the first being in use from 1871 until the construction of the first bridge in 1886. The bridge (in the background) was damaged in the great Easter flood of 1895 and a new bridge was not constructed until 1909. See also 2007N_Ash7_ASH_0755 for a black and white version.
A fête for the Palmerston North Public Hospital being held at the A&P Showgrounds. Crowds of onlookers are shown in the grandstand, while a variety of horse drawn buggies are visible, as well as a bicycle made to resemble a boat, are displayed on the grounds.
The Palmerston North Public Hospital was constructed at a cost of £3,700, and opened in November 1893. It was designed by Ernest Larcomb, the builders were Mr G. Carter and the first board chairman was George Snelson. Initially the staff consisted of Doctors McIntyre and Porter, Miss Ellen Dougherty, Matron and two nurses. The current hospital remains on the same site.
A "posting album" containing post cards of some Palmerston North scenes, including the Post Office, The Square, the Hospital and the Railway Station. It includes a handwritten note that reads, "With lots of love, Mal [or Mae]".
This postcard booklet claims to have views of Palmerston North that are the "finest yet published". The front indicates that 12 views were originally included, but only 5 remain.
This hand-tinted postcard shows three men hiking through the Turitea Stream.
This postcard shows Palmerston North's Racecourse. Note that construction work appears to be happening in the grandstand second from left.
Looking across the Fitzherbert Bridge from what is now Anzac Park. To the immediate left, across the bridge, is the Victoria Esplanade.
This postcard has an image of the middle of The Square surrounded by a calendar for the year 1911.
This postcard shows The Square as it was in 1912 and looks towards the section of The Square between Coleman Mall and Rangitikei Street. The base of the fountain that once stood in that section of The Square is just visible in front of the Bon Marche. The cannon in the bottom right corner is one of two bought to Palmerston North in 1909, being surplus equipment of the Defence Department. Both cannons were removed and scrapped during the 1940s. [ ](https://manawatuheritage.pncc.govt.nz/item/73b9b958-1e85-401b-b20a-a5ae643daa88)
This postcard looks from The Lakelet towards the south-east section of The Square, between the corners of Main Street East and Fitzherbert Avenue.
This postcard shows the T. Parkins Butchery wagon. Thomas Parkins had a butchery in The Square in the early 1900s, though it had become E Hampton Butchers by around 1910.
This postcard shows the corner of Broad Street (left-hand side), now Broadway Avenue, and The Square (right-hand side) around 1910. One of the balconies of the old Royal Hotel can be seen on the left-hand side of the image.
This postcard looks over The Lakelet to the section of The Square between the corners of Fitzherbert Avenue and Church Street West.
This postcard shows The Square from the corner of Rangitikei Street to Coleman Place.
The Grand Hotel was built in 1906 on the site of the former Provincial Hotel. [ ](https://manawatuheritage.pncc.govt.nz/item/6286bdd8-392c-4b27-8176-f48f8c6e7a32)
This postcard shows Broad Street, now Broadway Avenue.
This postcard was send by someone named "Wessie". The back reads, "Wishing you a Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year." It is possible the man on the postcard is the sender. The photograph was taken by A Rickard, Palmerston North. Newspaper ads for a photographer by that name can be found in the Manawatu Evening Standard around 1910-1915.
A postcard of the newly built Chief Post Office on the corner of The Square and Main Street East. Built in 1906, the Post Office on the corner of The Square and Main Street was Palmerston North’s fourth, and replaced a small wooden building on the same site. In 1988, when Telecom and Postbank became separate entities, the building ceased to be the Post Office. It currently operates as a restaurant and bar.
This postcard looks down Fitzherbert Street (now Avenue) from The Square.
This postcard shows The Square as it was around 1950-1955.
A colourised postcard of The Square was taken after 1902, when the statue of Te Peeti Te Awe Awe was constructed, but before 1907, when the small Rotunda was shifted to the Victoria Esplanade Gardens.
The sign on the side of the image reads, "Notice. Any Person riding a Bicycle, lighting a Fire, Cutting, Damaging or removing any Tree, Fern or Shrub or Structure within this Reserve, will be Prosecuted. By Order R N Keeling, Town Clerk. P.N. Borough Council." Development began on the Victoria Esplanade in Palmerston North, named to mark Queen Victoria's 60th jubilee, in 1897. The bush walk was probably originally laid out c1900-1905.
In 1890, the Palmerston North Reserves Act resulted in 39 acres along the bank of the Manawatu River set aside for the development of a park. The first development occurred in 1897 when a metal path was formed at the Fitzherbert Ave end. The whole area was named the “Victoria Esplanade” to celebrate Queen Victoria’s 60th jubilee. Shown here are some of the lovely intersecting paths and the manicured lawns.
This postcard shows the interior of the second St Andrew's church, erected in 1893 on the same site as the present St Andrews . This building was demolished in the 1950s.