Photo taken by Terry Finnerty, photographer. The Hopwood clock tower in The Square. In the background, the T&G building clock tower on Broadway Avenue can be seen.
Photo taken by Terry Finnerty, photographer. King Street showing Arlidge Brothers and Company (produce auctioneers). On the opposite side, Agnew Refrigeration Ltd, Dunlop New Zealand Ltd and Beechey and Underwood Ltd (office equipment specialists) can be seen amongst other shops. In the distance is the steeple of St Patrick's Church on Broadway Avenue.
Photo taken by Terry Finnerty, photographer. Looking across Butterfly Lakelet and its bridge, to the corner of The Square and Church Street West. From the left of the picture, in the background can be seen the Municipal Chambers, All Saints' Church and Morris Services, a car dealership also known as Justice and Edmunds. Opposite the church, on the right, is the Grand Hotel.
Photo taken by Terry Finnerty, photographer. Looking across Butterfly Lakelet with fountain, to the corner of The Square and Church Street West. From the left of the picture can be seen Young Fruit Supply, the Municipal Chambers, All Saints' Church. Opposite the church, on the right, is the Grand Hotel. Several fountains were added to the Lakelet in the early 1960s.
Photo taken by Terry Finnerty, photographer. Shown here are the new toll bridge charges in anticipation of change to decimal currency in July 1967. The privately funded bridge at Opiki was officially opened in January 1918, then known as the Tane Suspension Bridge. The original purpose of the bridge was to transport flax fibre from Tane and Rangitāne Mills to the Rangiotu Railway station, to Palmerston North and then to Foxton for exporting. Many hours and transport costs were thus saved. By 1926 flax traffic had fallen off and the route was made publicly accessible. Toll charges were introduced to pay for the upkeep and maintenance of the bridge. The bridge was closed in 1969 and can still be seen from State Highway 56 today (2022).
Photo taken by Terry Finnerty, photographer. The railway operated in Palmerston North from late 19th century to 1964. On the left the Old Railway Hotel can be seen. It was on the other side of the road from the railway station, on Main Street. In the distance to the left is the T&G clock tower on Broadway Avenue, with the Hopwood clock tower on The Square to the right.
Photo taken by Terry Finnerty, photographer. Businesses seen here are on the left side of Rangitikei Street (from The Square) numbers 59 to 93. Manson and Barr Ltd, at number 59 were hardware merchants. In the same building General Machinery Co Ltd were distributors of Frigidaire branded products. Smith and Smith Ltd was a hardware company. On the second floor was the Manawatu Catchment Board and next door was J.A. Redpath and Sons Ltd, flooring and roofing specialists. The sign for Dominion Floor Surfacing Co Ltd can also be seen. The next building is the State Fire Insurance building, which also housed State Advances Corporation of New Zealand. Both were government departments. Next is South British Insurance Co Ltd, established in 1872, which shares the building with Barraud and Abraham Ltd, wholesale general merchants. The next building is McIntyre Buildings, tenants include Alex Greer Ltd, mens outfitters and Ideal Milker, a milking machine company. The next building at number 93 housed Manawatu Motors Ltd, motor garage and used car dealers, with signage showing that Rover was a dealership brand.
Photo taken by Terry Finnerty, photographer. Clearly shows the railway track and two roads which run parallel on each side of it through The Square. Fitzherbert Avenue traffic could also drive into and through the Square at this time. In 1964, the railway track and roads were removed, although some parking remained. Other notable features seen in The Square are the Coronation fountain in the foreground, the War Memorial (center left) and the Hopwood Clock Tower behind it. The road south is Fitzherbert Avenue, with the Public Library building on the first corner (right) on Church Street. The Manawatu Evening Standard building is in the middle and The Municipal Chambers building is at the right end of this block of buildings. Massey Agricultural College is 4.5 kms from The Square, travelling south on Fitzherbert Avenue towards the Tararua mountain range.
Photo taken by Terry Finnerty, photographer. The Post office building is on the far left. It is on the other side of the rail tracks (obscured), which became Main Street in 1964. The next group of businesses include Brownings Shoe Store Ltd at number 2, and Mowlem's Pharmacy Ltd. This group of buildings was demolished in 1963 to make way for the construction of a large building on the corner site. It was to accommodate a new public library, with its entrance on Main Street. The Watson Brothers Ltd building remained, next to the Meteor picture theatre at number 9. Further along is Millar & Georgi, clothing store, local agents for "Sincerity Ready To Wear Suits". In the next building, Rees Furnishing Co Ltd can be seen. In the foreground is the statue of Te Peeti Te Awe Awe, Rangitāne iwi leader (c1820-1884). Further distant is the steeple of St Patrick's Church on Broadway Avenue.
Photo taken by Terry Finnerty, photographer. The Municipal Chambers building is on the far left, next to All Saints' Church on Church Street. Opposite the church is the Grand Hotel. Coles Henry & Co, a music and radio shop is on the next corner, alongside the rail track. On the other side of the rail track is the Commercial Hotel, with a cafe and The Pink Cake Shop on the ground floor. The Commercial Building next to the hotel houses several businesses, including Schneideman & Co tilers, a jewellery business and Art Cabinet Co Ltd, home furnishers at number 101. C.M. Ross department store is partly visible. Beyond this block of businesses, West End suburban housing can be seen. The Tararua ranges are in the distance.