The Carnival of the Lake, centred around Centennial Lagoon, was an annual event organised by the Public Relations Office for a few years during the early 1960s.
This promotional booklet was printed by the Palmerston North Public Relations Organisation to mark the city's centennial. The back reads, "Palmerston North, New Zealand: One hundred years old! Not a great age for a city by world standards but still worthy of note, especially when one considers that native forest and swamp covered much of the city area in 1870. Today, an increasing number of fine buildings and facilities marks the progress of New Zealand's premier provincial city and the manufactured beauty of the urban scene echoes the meaning of the Maori name for the sylvan glade where it all began - Papaiōea - "How beautiful it is." Geographically the city is at the heart of the North Island transportation system and this factor together with the fertile Manawatu plains has fostered a wide range of industries. Education too, owes much to the land as Massey University began as an agricultural college. Today the university teaches all Arts and Sciences and many Technologies. The campus covers nearly one hundred acres and houses New Zealand's only veterinary school. To mark the Centenary, this folder shows the city scene of yesteryear as well as the City of the Seventies."
This building was called Devonshire House and was on Church Street next to the former Police Station. In the 1940s when this water colour was thought to have been painted the downstairs served as Tuckers' wine merchant business. After this it had two shop frontages; the Sweet Nook Confectionery and P Hosking, Watchmaker. Upstairs was used as a boarding house run by Mrs Clark. Entitled 'Apartment house' by the artist, John Tetley. Pen and wash. Colour. John Tetley was a parasitologist at Massey Agricultural College, Palmerston North, and a well known amateur artist who exhibited locally.
A variety of activities are shown in the photograph album created by the Ashhurst Scout Group, including examples of bush craft, a handicraft expo, games and several Field and Cub Days. Group photographs are also included.
The Grammer family were early Ashhurst residents and the Grammer Family archive contains family information from 1868. Ron Grammer was the son of Tom Grammer and the family lived in Bainesse, close to Palmerston North. Private Ron Grammer served in World War Two. This album covers the Bainesse School 50th and 60th Jubilee celebrations.
Photograph album mainly consisting of photographs of pupils and activities of Craven School, Palmerston North. The names written in ink were added by Lorna Playford, who donated the album to the Ian Matheson City Archives. Alongside views of life at the school, the album also contains holiday snaps and visits to neighbouring farms.
This photograph album contains photographs of the Seifert flaxmills Weka and Miranui. Flax workers are pictured cultivating, gathering, drying and processing the fibres. Details of the transport operations undertaken by cart and barge are also shown. The album was given to R H Webb on 9 March 1918 by the Managing Director of the mills, Alfred Seifert.
The Grammer family were early residents of Ashhurst. This album is one of several artefacts created during World War Two by Ron Grammer.
This photograph album spans the years 1903-1911 and showcases the life of young women at boarding schools in the late 19th Century.
Family photograph album, including images of family members, scenes around Palmerston North, animals, music, sport, soldiers, "Huanui" (boat at Foxton), Foxton, Maori Battalion (1940) and farm scenes.
This photograph album depicts the Creighton Family of 5 Donnington Street, Palmerston North. It shows a range of different locations around Palmerston North and the surrounding area, ranging from 1940 to around 1943. The woman in most of the pictures (unless otherwise specified) is Emma Curling Creighton (aka Goldie, Bubs, Curling and Spiffy), while the man is Melvyn J Creighton. They married 19 July 1941 and had Robyn Curling Creighton 29 December 1942 and Lynn Melwynn Creighton 20 October 1948.
This "McDougall Farmers' Notebook 1935-36" was used as a diary by an unknown farm worker who went on 'Tour of N.I.', beginning 15 October 1935 (first entry). He travelled from Blenheim, and records his holiday, mainly in the Hawkes Bay and Giborne areas, and employment at Hore Hore Station near Tokomaru Bay. It is likely that the writer was J. Lane, named in the front cover, and also listed at the top of the 'Addresses' page. The last entry appears to be 18 December 1936, but a subsequent note records 'Drowened (sic) Easter 1939'. The Poverty Bay Herald (18 April, 1938, page 4) writes of the drowning of Joffre Lane, a station hand at Hore Hore Station.
A pamphlet explaining, and encouraging women to join, the Land Service in World War Two
This small 'posterette' encouraged young women (from 17 years of age) to join the Women's Land Service (WLS). The woman is wearing a standrd issue working hat, shirt and overalls, and happily drives a tractor while waving her hand in the victory sign. This poster was displayed in 225 railway stations throughtout New Zealand.The WLS was the largest of the women's war services, with 2,711 'land girls' placed on farms. Hundreds of women also served unofficially on family land.From the archive of 'C E Warburton'.
Issued by the Authority of the Director of National Services, this handbook gave information to those serving in the Women's Land Service. It included topics such are wages, accommodation, age limits, hours of work and holidays.
A greeting card sent to New Zealand troops in South Africa, as a souvenir of the campaign 1899-1900, addressed to Private A F Batchelar of Palmerston North, in the first New Zealand Contingent. From the archive of 'A F Batchelar'.
A reception, given by the Palmerston North Borough Council, for the returned troopers from the Boer War, was held at the Fire Brigade Social Hall, Palmerston North, 29 July 1902.
An illustrated envelope addressed to Trooper A F Batchelar of Palmerston North, serving in the Boer War. Arthur Batchelar was a member of the Manawatu Mounted Rifles. From the archive of 'A F Batchelar'.
The Overseas Ladies Club was formed in Palmerston North in 1947. It acted as a support group for the wives of returned servicemen who came to Palmerston North after World War Two. The women met monthly and shared activities until 1982.
The album was created for Mrs Jill Cook, a founder of the club. It contains messages from members of the Club and photographs of members and their children and husbands. It also lists their former home and when they arrived in New Zealand The Overseas Ladies Club was formed in Palmerston North in 1947. It acted as a support group for the wives of returned servicemen who came to Palmerston North after WWII. The women met monthly and shared activities until 1982.
The Downs double wedding held in Marton. Shown here are the respective brides & bridegrooms flanked by their wedding parties. Also see 2012N_ELMAR_4_006393.
An unidentified bride and groom.
This account of the Shannon World War Two Detention Camps is based on contributions from a large number of family members and descendants of those who were in the camps. it also offers an overview of the history of the camps based on research by Margaret Tate.
This Danish-Norwegian newspaper was produced in Palmerston North on 18 November 1875. The editor was Hjalmar Graff. It is believed that this was the only volume produced. This copy was presented to the Manawatu Evening Standard offices in the 1950s. That organisation passed the copy on to the Palmerston North City Council.
The Awapuni Memorial was rededicated at the ceremony at the Palmerston North Race Course on Thursday 20 October
A sheet outlining the history of the Manawatu Knitting Mills Limited, probably created for the 1983 centenary of the establishment of the business. The business was founded by John Stubbs in his home, and moved to the Main Street site in 1889. It was originally named Stubbs Hosiery Factory, then the Manawatu Hosiery Factory before it became the Manawatu Knitting Mills Ltd in 1932. For more information on the Manawatū Knitting Mills, see White, Jill (2007). ["Women at Work in the Manawatū Knitting Mills." _Manawatū Journal of History_, Vol. 3](https://manawatuheritage.pncc.govt.nz/item/d1572973-019a-4679-9600-89222ba78491/pdf), pp.20-29.
Music score for "Guardians of Our Freedom," written as the New Zealand Home Guard Anthem, by R H Radford, with words by Ann Jacques of Palmerston North. It was 'dedicated to C V Ciochetto Esq., Area Commander 6a Home Guard'.
Alan Loveday (b. 1929, Palmerston North) was a renowned child violinist who went overseas to further his career in 1939. A concert was put on at the Opera House, Palmerston North, 14 January 1939, at which Alan and others performed. From the archive of the 'Alan Loveday Fund'.
The Commanders were the resident band at the Army, Navy, and Air Force (ANA) Dance Hall (later the Ballroom Astoria, then George Street Ballroom). The well known band began life as the ‘The Revellers’ in 1943 and disbanded in 1960. Max Jordan and his two brothers and father were involved with band.