Andre Zentveld, railway worker, stands outside one of the single men's huts provided by the Railway yards as accommodation.
The Paiaka Mill was owned by A Seifert and Co. Ltd, located on the Manawatu River, near Foxton. The mill was constructed in 1889 by Robert Gardner and sold to A Seifert & Co in 1901. Demolition of the mill took place in 1910 and a second Paiaka Mill was built. Mr R H Webb was the manager of the first Paiaka Mill from c 1901 to 1907.
Workers are shovelling (possibly) blood and bone into sacks, marked as 'Longburn'. Note the dog looking over one of the sacks.
Unidentified worker stooking sheaves of oats. The oats are tied with stalks of the plant. Location unknown.
Staff of an unidentified Flaxmill, thought to be at or near Foxton. The photograph includes flax leaves, dried fibre and bales of flax, branded with 'JTO".
This truck operated by A.E. Claussen ltd, General Carriers of Palmerston North is loaded with boxes of items for sale produced by the Manawatu Co-op for delivery.
Image of vat produced by Berry Engineering (then trading as Mauri Engineering) being moved by truck to destination. During the 1980s Berry Engineering became Protech Engineering and was situated in Railway Road. Berry Engineering was established in 1907 by Mr Edwin Berry, in Main Street, as E. D. Berry General Engineer. As they grew, they moved to Ferguson Street, then to Ashley Street, and sons Frank, Zean and Edwin Jnr joined the business. They manufactured a wide variety of industrial equipment, and were particularly involved with the dairy industry over the years. More images in this series are held. Please ask staff if interested.
Image of a piece of industrial equipment produced by Berry Engineering (then trading as Mauri Engineering) being moved by truck to destination. During the 1980s Berry Engineering became Protech Engineering and was situated in Railway Road. Berry Engineering was established in 1907 by Mr Edwin Berry, in Main Street, as E. D. Berry General Engineer. As they grew, they moved to Ferguson Street, then to Ashley Street, and sons Frank, Zean and Edwin Jnr joined the business. They manufactured a wide variety of industrial equipment, and were particularly involved with the dairy industry over the years. More images in this series are held. Please ask staff if interested.
Unidentified couple sitting on the bonnet of a truck. Probably related to the Pike family.
The shelter shed that served as the railway stop at Makerua. Harold Venn Eade stands on the right. Makerua was a railway siding, south of Tokomaru.
Shown here are Dutch migrants, who arrived on the "Sibajick to Wellington" to work under contract to the New Zealand Railways, in order to help construct the Milson Railway deviation, that took the train station, yards and track out of the centre of Palmerston North. This picture was taken in the Palmerston North Railway Yard. Front row: Peter Koning; Will Van Der Put. Back Row: Oeter Schellvis; Andre Zentveld; Bill Terbrake; Frank Gerbich (from New Zealand); Hugo Muller; Bert Jansen; Peter Westerhuis; Phillip Lagewaard.
People viewing the de-railment that took place between the Makerua Railway Station and the railway crossing at the junction of the present Makerua-Rangitāne Road and Highway 57. The house in the background was Yorston’s residence.
The Wellington Manawatu Railway Company Limited constructed the rail line between Wellington and Palmerston, opened in 1886, and ran it until they sold it to the Government in 1908.
Everybody's Theatre, in Coleman Place, was built by Benjamin Fuller around 1913, had a seating capacity of about 700. It was conducted as a picture theatre for almost 16 years. All day shows were the norm starting at 1 pm and concluding at 10 pm with picture programmes being repeated several times. A 25 h.p. gas engine to supply power for the motion picture projector was installed. Although the projector was driven by gas engine, electricity was available for the lighting of the theatre entrance and shops on either side. Mr E G Child was the projector operator. It was converted to the Hotel Midland in 1928.
The Meteor theatre was located on the west side of The Square, it operated from 1937-1964. This photograph shows the exterior of the building in the late 1950s. Gregory Peck starred in Moby Dick in 1956. Seating capacity was for 940 - 990 people, obtaining its films through J.C. Williamson company known as Palmerston North Amusements Limited. Upon closure it was converted into shops. The theatre was built by Maurice Millar of Millar and Giorgi, local menswear businessmen, with a value of 8500 pounds. In 1947 Robert Kerridge took over the Regent, Vogue, Mayfair and the Meteor establishing the Kerridge-Oden empire. The arrival of Television in 1960 led to a slump in theatre patronage, resulting in the closure of the Meteor and the Vogue. Ian Matheson for Evening Standard August 1990. See: Ian Matheson City Archives Research file A 175/ 148.
This slide shows a lecture theatre. Possibly at Massey University. This slide is from a series that was possibly taken for publicity purposes. Based on other images in the set, this image appears to have been taken in the mid-1990s.
This image shows a group of women in costume, possibly for a Palmerston North Girls' High School theatrical production. Jean Torstonson (nee McPherson) can be seen second from right in the second row from the front (kneeling).
Glevum House is located on Howe Street in Foxton. The property was built for G. Brewer (a flax miller) circa 1907.
Te Peeti Te Awe Awe (c1820-1884), a chief of the Rangitāne tribe, was involved with negotiations and the sale of Māori Land for the opening up of the Manawatū for pākehā settlement. A marble statue of Te Peeti was installed in The Square, Palmerston North, in 1907. Beyond can be seen the spire of All Saints Church and the Grand Hotel, on the corner of The Square and Church Street
This image was taken for a story that ran in The Manawatu Evening Standard on 04 July 1958, page 9: "These girls in ballet-like poses are contestants in the basketball match between Freyberg High School and Rangitikei College. One of them, however, appears to be giving an excellent example of action in a Māori haka. Freyberg won by 28 goals to 18. "
This image was taken for a story that ran in The Manawatu Evening Standard on March 04 1958, page 6: "The Minister of Forests and Associate-Minister of Māori Affairs (Mr. Tirikatene) is seen being welcomed by the Conservator of Forests (Mr. R.J. Wells) in Palmerston North as he stepped from his car this morning. Mr. Tirikatene is on a visit to the Wellington conservancies."
This image was taken for a story that ran in The Manawatu Evening Standard on 17 April 1958, page 14: "A Kia Ora player makes a determined bid for the line against Takaro in a 10-a-side Rugby League tournament on Saturday last. The all-Maori team had no trouble in beating Takaro 21-3 and carrying off the tournament trophy."
Karere Lagoon is one of the many ox-bow lakes along the banks of the Manawatū River. The original photograph is captioned “Mr Monrad’s. A lagoon at Karere with maori canoe”. The children are probably those of Olga and Viggo Monrad, who farmed beside the lagoon. Karere is situated at Tiakitahuna, between the Manawatū river and State Highway 56.
Te Peeti Te Awe Awe (c1820-1884), a chief of the Rangitāne tribe, was involved with negotiations and the sale of Māori Land for the opening up of the Manawatu for pakeha settlement. A marble statue of Te Peeti was installed in The Square, Palmerston North, in 1907. Beyond can be seen the Grand Hotel on the corner of The Square and Church Street
A float made to look like a waka makes its way through The Square. People in traditional Māori dress ride on the float. 92 floats took part in the Palmerston North City Centennial celebrations of 1971. Approx. 10,000 people were present at the event to celebrate 100 years of Palmerston North.
Te Peeti Awe Awe was the leading Māori figure of the Manawatū in the years when Palmerston North was established. The statue comissioned by his sister was unveiled on 26 January 1907.
This area was known as Fitzherbert East, but is now officially known as Aokautere after the former Māori Chief of the district. In 1967 Aokautere was included within the boundary of Palmerston North.
Miss Armstrong (left front); Mrs Donaldson (at right, standing). The lady seated on the right had a nursing home in Cuba street, on the site of the Māori Battalion Hall.
Te Awe Awe Street, Hokowhitu, Palmerston North was named for Peeti Te Awe Awe, a noted Rangitāne Maori Chief of the area.
Hare Rakena Te Awe Awe (Harry Larkins), Chief of the Rangitāne, was the brother of Te Peeti Te Awe Awe, who is remembered today with a statue in the Square Gardens, Palmerston North. In 1895, Hare Rakena Te Awe Awe petitioned the Government to be allowed to sell land to buyers other than the Crown.