Journalist Tina White's weekly "Memory Lane" article in the Manawatū Standard. A snapshot of life in Palmerston North in December 1953. The city was looking forward to a visit from the new Queen Elizabeth II and her husband, the Duke of Edinburgh.
Local historians weekly "Back Issues" article in the Manawatū Standard. Local History Week and History Month this year is inspired by the whakatuakī (proverb) "Whatungarongaro te tangata toitū te whenua".
Fifty local history organisations and enthusiasts responded to the City Library's Heritage team invitation to contribute to a rich programe of historic whenua (land) related events and activities. More than 80 activities will be held during March. This article outlines a programme that highlights the history of the Manawatū and Palmerston North. Talks, tours and workshops are mostly free to attend. The popular programme, co-ordinated by the Palmerston North City Library, has been held annually since 2008.
This photograph shows Reginald Bridewell (Reg), Master Baker, with his bakery van outside the business's first address on the corner of Main Street and Victoria Avenue, around 1935. Reg was the original owner of this family business. Not long after the photograph was taken, the bakery moved to 487 Main Street (later renumbered 729 Main Street, one of several Terrace End shops) where it remained operating until the 1980s.
Image from about 1935, this bakery was on the corner of Main Street and Victoria Avenue. The site was leased from Hopwood's by the Bridewell family. On the far left is Reginald (Reg) Bridewell with his young son Maurice. His son-in-law Ron Siegel is on the other cart, next to Lionel Bridewell and Dudley Bridewell. The horses names are Lady and Tody.
Not long after this photograph was taken, the bakery moved to 487 Main Street (later renumbered 729 Main Street, one of several Terrace End shops) where it remained operating until the 1980s.
Image from about mid 1950's, when Bridewell's Bakery operated from 729 Main Street, Terrace End. The bakery was a family owned business.
Shown on the left is Reginald (Reg) Bridewell, the original owner and Master Baker from London, born in Wiltshire UK. His sons Dudley (Dud) and Maurice, shown here, became the joint owners after Reg's death.
Reginald's granddaughter recalls that the awards displayed on the van door were awarded from London for Best Loaf of Bread, 1919, 1921 and 1924.
This image shows a collection of objects pertaining to Reginald (Reg) Bridewell, Master baker, the original owner of Bridewell's Bakery.
The medals were awarded to Reg from London for Best Loaf of Bread 1919, 1921 and 1924. The photograph shows Reg with his bakery van outside the business's first address on the corner of Main Street and Victoria Avenue, around 1935. Not long after this photograph was taken, the bakery moved to 487 Main Street (later renumbered 729 Main Street, one of several Terrace End shops) where it remained operating until the 1980s.
Manawatū Standard article about the 1981 Springboks tour and the role protesters played in the anti-our movement. The Springboks vs All Blacks game on 1 August 1981 in Palmerston North was marred by protest, conflict between rugby supporters, anti-tour protesters and the police. Thousands of people demonstrated, clashing with rugby supporters in several locations. National anti-tour protest groups Hart and Mast organised local protest marchers. The showgrounds were barricaded with large containers and fences topped with barbed wire to keep out opposition to the game.
The game was attended by more than 20,000 spectators. It was a close game, won by the visitors 31-19.
Many felt the game should not have gone ahead. A week earlier, the game in Hamilton had been stopped by protesters marching on the rugby field. Police wanted no repeat of a stopped game. Those opposed to the tour included activist Penny Poutu, local councillors, local All Black Bob Burgess, and unionist Roger Middlemass.
Terrace End Cemetery Tour hosted by Tina White and Leanne Hickman, part of the 13th Local History Week 2020. This white cross marks the centre of the designated Catholic section where three priests from St. Patrick's Church on Broadway Avenue and 11 nuns from the Sisters of Mercy are buried. The cross is in the centre of an octagonal shape which symbolises regeneration and eternal life.
Terrace End Cemetery Tour hosted by Tina White and Leanne Hickman, part of the 13th Local History Week 2020. This image shows the grave of the single known Chinese person buried at Terrace End Cemetery.
Journalist Tina White's weekly "Memory Lane" article in the Manawatū Standard. History of the A-MU-C-UM (pronounded "A Musuem" or "Amuse-um"), a collection of mechanical and static museum displays. When publicly displayed, it attracted large crowds in the 1970's and was reported to be one of the best attractions of its type in New Zealand.
Dating back to 1928, Erland McKay Patterson's hobby was building miniature mechanical clowns. The collection of miniature circus objects, fairytale figures and animated scenes grew to thousands. It was displayed around the city and on special occasions, including the 1971 centenary celebrations. It was housed for many years at 280 Church Street (now Centrepoint Theatre) until 1974, when the building was sold. Finding a new home for the large collection was a problem, and it disappeared from public view.
In 2012, A-MU-C-UM was acquired by the Feilding Rotary Club. After many hours of voluntary restoration work, the historic collection was again on public display at the Feilding Christmas cave.
Local historians weekly "Back Issues" article in the Manawatū Standard. The story of Cuba Street and surrounding streets from Palmerston North's early days. The street was on the original Palmerston town plan. Its commercial heyday was arguably in the first half of the 20th century, when it was predicted that it could rival Te Marae o Hine/The Square in importance. However, this importance did not endure and Cuba Street is now mostly used as the main route leading to the Showgrounds.
Journalist Tina White's weekly "Memory Lane" article in the Manawatū Standard. Warren and Virginia Warbrick share their love and understanding of Palmerston North, its present and its past with a wider audience. Their work includes city council cultural projects. Warren is a maker and performer of ngā tāonga pūoro - traditional Māori musical instruments.
In 2017, the couple discovered that the direct global opposite location to Palmerston North is St Martin de Valdeiglesias, a town in Spain. They followed up this discovery with a visit to the town.
The Warbricks continue to work on history projects and tell Rangitane 's past in music, artworks and performance, creating new interest and reaching a wide audience.
Local historians weekly "Back Issues" article in the Manawatū Standard. European refugees displaced during World War 2 started arriving at a camp in Pahiatua in 1949. They stayed for 6 weeks to prepare for life elsewhere in New Zealand. The success of this scheme is believed to have been mixed as many arrivals were traumatised by their wartime experiences. Official and personal records are scarce. Descendants of the displaced persons have set up a project called Untold Stories to discover more about the experiences of these immigrants in Pahīatua.
The Royal Wanganui Opera House was designed by Wellington Architect George Stevenson and commissioned to commemorate Queen Victoria’s reign. It is New Zealand’s last surviving Victorian Theatre and the only theatre in New Zealand to have a Royal Charter.
Construction of the Whanganui Māori War Memorial began in late 1924 and it was unveiled on Anzac Day the following year. The memorial stands almost 10 metres high and topped with a statue of a soldier.
Constructed in 1925, the Durie Hill Memorial Tower is the official Wanganui Memorial to the 513 people from the district who died in World War One. The tower is 33.5 metres high (104 feet) and the lookout deck is 113 metres (372.2 feet) above sea level and provides panoramic views of the city.
The interior of St Joseph's Church in Jerusalem. The church was designed by Thomas Turnbull and constructed in 1892. The first church was destroyed by fire in 1888.