Plan of buildings for Milson Aerodromme Inc. The Aerodromme opened in 1931, with commercial flights beginning in 1936.
Architectural plans created for the A&P association, circa August 1940. Plans Include the original A&P Hall, exterior entrance, Ladie’s Restroom, pig and sheep pavilions, an overall site plan, as well as alterations and additions to existing buildings. The showgrounds were opened in 1886 on the site of the first cemetery plot in Palmerston North, and still stand bound by Cuba, Pascal, Waldegrave and Featherston Streets. Situated near the CBD of Palmerston North on Cuba Street, the site is currently called Central Energy Trust and boasts 6 arenas.
Architectural plan showing a proposed shed at the A&P showgrounds. Created by G Parker and dated 1 July 1924.
Black and White photographs of Caccia Birch taken pre-restoriation circa 1980. The purpose of the photographs was to show the state of the house and grounds before submissions were made to council and the Ministry of Works. First built in 1892 by Jacob Nannerstad, a local sawmiller, the house was one of the preeminent buildings of early Palmerston North. Extensive renovations were undertaken in 1905 by the new owner, John Strang, with the addition of two conservatories, a coach house and attached cottage. From 1908 to 1910 the house was home to Lord Plunket, with the house being sold to William Caccia-Birch in 1921.0 Although Wiliam died in 1936, his widow maintained the house until 1939, whereupon the house was donated to New Zealand Government as part of the war effort. After the war, the house was variously owned by the Department of Health, Victoria University, Massey College & Palmerston North Teachers College, before finally being passed to the Palmerston North City Council.
Sir Brian George Conway Elwood, CBE, JP, (born 5 April 1933) is a former New Zealand lawyer, politician, and public servant. He served as mayor of Palmerston North from 1971 to 1985, and was the Chief Ombudsman of New Zealand from December 1994 to June 2003. In the latter role, he was responsible for investigating complaints against central and local government agencies, including Ministers of the Crown. Interview of Brian Elwood as Mayor of Palmerston North, conducted by Ian Matheson on 2 May 1985. Interview length: 1 hour, 36 minutes and 55 seconds.
Jill White was elected Mayor of Palmerston North in 1998. She was the first woman to hold the position. She also served as a Palmerston North City Councillor from 1983 - 1992, as a Manawatū-Whanganui Regional Councillor (now Horizons) from 1989 - 1994 and as a Member of Parliament 1993 - 1998. Jill was again elected as a Horizons Regional Councillor in 2007 until 2013 when she chose not to seek re-election. In 2007, Jill also completed her Masters thesis entitled "An uneasy relationship: Palmerston North City and the Manawatū River 1941 - 2006". The thesis is held in the Palmerston North City Library's lending collection.
This photograph shows many mature trees in The Square with a path leading to the Te Awe Awe statue, built 1907, and beyond to the corner of The Square and Fitzherbert Avenue. From the corner of Fitzherbert Avenue can be seen the Fisherman's Table restaurant, FMG tower, Manawatu Standard building, Square Edge, All Saints Church and, across the street, the Grand Hotel.
Looking across The Square to Arthur Barnett department store. This building was built for C M Ross Co Ltd in 1927-1928. In 1959 it was sold to Milne and Choyce, in 1966 to the D.I.C. which was bought out by Arthur Barnett in 1987. At a time of declining department stores and a new plaza on the other side of The Square, Arthur Barnett vacated the building in 1990. In 1993 the Palmerston North City Council bought the building and renovated it into the new City Library, opened in 1996.
These carvings, created by John Bevan Ford and Warren Warbrick were constructed in 1990 to honour the significance of the Māori name for The Square, Te Marae-o-Hine, The Courtyard of the Daughter of Peace. John Bevan Ford, a member of Ngāti Raukawa and a well known artist of Palmerston North was commissioned to undertake the work by the Rangitāne Maori Committee and the Palmerston North City Council. The paved courtyard provided a venue for civic gatherings where Māori protocol could be used and the set of nine wooden carvings defined the boundaries of the courtyard. The two large posts shown here contain carvings which face in two directions. The outward carvings welcome visitors to the city by Rangitāne, while the inward carvings depict Te Rongorito and her mother Hineaupounamu, bring their gifts of peace to the civic gathering place which they overlook. The group of three carved posts, shown in this picture symbolise a hope for peace and prosperity. The Square has since been redesigned but the carving and their significance remain.
From the title page, "Historical Maori Pageant Organised and Staged by the Maori People of the Manawatu District for the Diamond Jubilee Committee of Palmerston North as an event during the Celebrations, held in November 20th to 27th, 1937. Maori Committee: Rangi Marumaru (Parewanui), Chairman Hoani Meihana Apakura Meihana Durie (Aorangi) Wiremu K Te Awe Awe (Rangiotu) Akuira Te Rangi (Rangiotu) Tata Roera (Awahuri) Te Hiwawa Paurini (Tokorangi) Purangi Herangi (Pikiahu-Waewae, Halcombe) Te Haeana Wi Hemara (Motuiti) Pitihira Reihana (Motuiti) Takerei Kohika (Poutu-Shannon) Hon. Rangi Mawhete, M.L.C. (Convener) Taite Te Tomo (Kakariki) (Kaumatua representing the older generation of assembled tribes) Rikihana B Carkeek, Hon. Secretary" Printed by local company H. L. Young Ltd.
Topographical map showing boundaries proposed by the Palmerston North City Council (August and November 1988) and Local Government Commission (Interim Determination and Draft, December 1988. In 1989 there was New Zealand wide reform of Local Government. At the time about 850 local bodies were amalgamated into 86 local authorities, made up of regional and territorial levels.
Map of the Papaiōea Clearing shown in relation to the original streets of Palmerston North surveyed between 1866 - 1875. Based on Mitchell's map of 1866, Jackson's map of 1875 and Scott's map of 1881. The street names drawn on the map are present day names, not the original names. When the area was surveyed for a town the clearing was chosen as the site of what became Palmerston North due to it being a flat, open area, sufficiently elevated to avoid flooding from the Manawau River and adjacent streams. The 'clearing' disappeared during the 1870s and 1880s as settlers destroyed the surrounding forest.
Four first edition maps in a series covering Palmerston North and close environs. Map two covers Roslyn, Milson and Kelvin Grove areas of Palmerston North, and areas towards Bunnythorpe in Kairanga Council. Map shows: Section and Lot numbers of properties; size of sections and lots, Palmerston North city and country boundaray; Survey District Block boundary; Registration District boundary; Deposited Plan boundary. Drawn by Barbara M Winchester
This map shows Kairanga County as it stood in 1916.
This map was created for the Shell Company of New Zealand Ltd by Coulls Somerville Wilkie Ltd. Dunedin (Lithography) and Palmer and Mahood Ltd Wellington (Draughtsmen). It details the condition of all the major roads in the region, as well as amenities like camping grounds, schools, cemeteries and Shell Company petrol stations.
Plan showing the layout of the yards, between West Street and The Square. The railway station and yards were in Main Street from 1890 to 1964, when all services finally moved to the Tremaine Avenue site on the edge of Palmerston North. Much of this land is now called 'the Railway Land" and is maintained as a recreational space. Plan is a copy of the original railways plan 13984, drawn to a scale of 1 chain: 1 inch. Amended 1948 and 1953.
This building was the first purpose built Post Office in Palmerston North, sited on the corner of The Square and Main Street in 1889. In 1906 when the new Chief Post Office was built the building was first moved back on the site to make way for the new Post Office, and then later was turned to face Main Street. It was used by various Government departments for offices until, in 1988 it was deemed redundant and was offered to the Palmerston North City Council. In 1989 the City Council resited the building to the Esplanade Gardens and it became a cafe. Size of original 710 X 535mm.
Plan of 33 seater bus on Leyland 'Tiger' passenger chassis, as produced for the Palmerston North City Council. The plan is undated but Leyland produced the 'Tiger' between 1927 and 1968.
Plan of the bus station for rural buses, in relation to Church Street and Fitzherbert Avenue.
A plan for a 19 seater bus for the Palmerston North Borough Council. The Palmerston North Municipal motor service began in 1921. The plan is undated but is prior to 1930 when Palmerston North became a city.
A plan for a 27 seater bus for the Palmerston North Borough Council. The Palmerston North Municipal motor service began in 1921. The plan is undated but is prior to 1930 when Palmerston North became a city.
Minute Book of the Palmerston North Borough Council from 2 September 1885 to 11 October 1889. Palmerston North became a Borough in its own right in 1877, having previously been administered by the Wellington Provincial Council. The first Minute Book of the Borough, from 1877 - 1885, is missing. Handwritten.
The first valuation roll for the Palmerston North Borough Council (PNBC). This roll was prepared by the Council for the purposes of introducing rating on unimproved land value. The roll is presented in three parts – each is in numerical order by the legal description of the properties (section number). The three divisions of the roll appear to represent the three wards of the Borough. Many early sections were large and so may not directly correspond with modern property boundaries which have been subdivided. A modern section sharing some of the land will have the same section number and additional lot and DP numbers. Read notes found on the first page of section one of the roll regarding the actual status of the person listed as ‘owner’ or ‘occupier’. Part One includes the following section number ranges: 1-138, 201-344.
This manuscript lists the meanings of some local place names. Ian Matheson, City Archivist, created a series of manuscripts on Local History in the course of his work. To view the full item, please click the download link.
This manuscript contains a brief history of the Maori in Palmerston North. Ian Matheson, City Archivist, created a series of manuscripts on local history in the course of his work.
"A Form of Prayer and Thanksgiving to Almighty God commended by the Archbishops of Cantebury and York for general use on Wednesday, the 12th Day of May, 1937 being the day of the Coronations of their Majesties King George VI and Queen Elizabeth in the Abbey Church of St. Peter, Westminter."
The order of service from the unveiling of the Memorial Shrine at Fitzroy Memorial Park (later known as Memorial Park). The memorial was created to remember service men and women from Palmerston North and District who gave their lives during World War One and World War Two.
Plans for the development of the central area around The Square of Palmerston North. It includes proposals for the use of public spaces around Coleman Mall, Broadway Avenue and Church Street.
The Downtown building in Broadway houses retail businesses on the Ground Floor and the main cinema complex for Palmerston North on the First Floor.
A series of maps showing residential and industrial development across the city of Palmerston North.