This newsletter announces the opening of the new museum complex on Church Street, details the work already undertaken by staff to ready the building for opening and includes a map of the building layout.
Emma Finnis, 60 years, and her son William Henry Aldridge. aged 26 years. Emma married William Aldridge in England and they emigrated to Palmerston North c. 1872. William Henry (1876-1964) was the only son and youngest of their 8 children. After William (the elder) died in 1975 Emma married Edwin Finnis. They were the owners of Carnarvon House, 1876 - 1896, which later became the Rangitikei Street Boarding House. William is pictured in his Boer War (South African War) uniform. He married Minnie Port in 1909.
A photographic series prepared by the Prime Minister’s Department in 1947 to attract British migrants. The Evans family of 5 Mansford Place, Palmerston North were selected to show the living conditions of a typical New Zealand family. Betty Evans is buying groceries at the College St Co-op shop on the corner of Cook and College St. She is served by Ben Backholm (manager) and an assistant identified as Cliff (?) Entw(h)istle of Keeling St. The Manawatu Cooperative Society operated from 1935-1988, based on British models which returned profits to member shareholders by rebates on purchases. ‘The Co- op’ began with a grocery store in Broadway and developed a chain of grocery and butcher’s shops which operated in most suburbs.
David Rowland (d.1914) emigrated to New Zealand from England. He bought land at Tiakitahuna (also known as Jackey Town), in the newly opened up Manawatu area, in 1867. There he married Marara Koroneira, a daughter of the chief of the Tukorehei tribe ( a sub-tribe of Ngati Raukawa,) and they had ten children. This short publication tells the story of the two branches of the family and their children.
Reminiscences of living in Terrace End of Palmerston North as a child, by Leslie Aldridge Hanson (1904 - 1981). Leslie was the son of Annie (nee Aldridge) and Samuel Hanson.
Reminiscences of the life of Annie Aldridge (1866 - 1952) as recorded by her son Leslie Aldridge Hanson (1904 - 1981). The recount tells of her early life in England, arriving in Palmerston North c.1872 and early days in the growing town. Annie was one of the daughters of William and Emma Aldridge. William died in 1875 and Emma remarried, to Edwin Finnis.
Map of Palmerston North Borough by H R Farquhar showing streets, landmarks and property sections.
Includes an alphabetical list of streets, original sections in Borough, Index to Public Buildings and Palmerston North statistics. Map drawn by H R Farquhar, Authorised Licensed Surveyor
This is an example of the documentation that was sold to those looking to secure a burial plot in Palmerston North. The plot was sold to George H Gaskin of Terrace Street Palmerston North and cost three pounds ten shillings. The Palmerston North Cemetery is now known as Terrace End Cemetery.
This programme was printed by the Palmerston North City Council. It gives the schedule and details for the week-long celebrations surrounding the city's Diamond Jubilee in 1937.
This booklet was produced by the Palmerston North Borough Council to commemorate the 1927 Jubilee. It details a week's worth of special events that took place all about Palmerston North, including an electric light show, a baby show, jazz night, fireworks display and lantern parade.
This card, created by the Palmerston North Borough Council, contains details about the engineering works and reserves in Palmerston North. There is a photograph of the Municipal Opera House on the front. The Opera House was demolished in 1996. The date this card was created is unknown, but the text mentions a "large new concrete dam ... on the Tiritea Stream," which was opened in 1913.
N.Z. & Empire Industries Week 17th to 22nd November Free Gift Booklet and Programme of Events No. 4394 From the cover page: "Palmerston North Celebrations to Mark the Rise of Palmerston North to City Status 1930. A Series of Entertaining Events extending from Monday 17th November to Saturday 22nd November. N.Z. & Empire Industries Week. The striking displays in the shop windows of the city are made specially to illustrate the marked progress of Dominion manufactures and the high standard of goods produced throughout the Empirem a rare tribute to John Bull and his family. City Celebrations Week Chairman: His Worship the Mayor, Mr A J Graham Secretary: James R Hardie, Town Clerk Organiser: John Hopkins" This booklet contains a number of advertisements from local businesses, statistical information about Palmerston North and a programme of events for the week.
A plan from 1886 showing the section allotments in the town of Bunnythorpe.
The programme from the Palmerston North Amateur Boxing Club's second members' night held at Whalley's Hall in The Square.
Manawatū Flour Mills staff photograph. Individuals identified by John Ireland, 10 June, 1968: L-R: Les Hemmingsen, L.A. Ferguson, Unknown, Frank Lunn, Unknown (at back), John Reece Cole (front), Jack Barker (with dog), Unknown (front), Miss Barber, Unknown, Horace Ruth, Jack Rogers (back), Len Thorn, Fisher (back), Unknown (back), Unknown (front), Jack Baubery.
The donor's family moved into this house in Savage Crescent on Christmas Eve 1939. This photograph was taken about six months later, with fences and gardens established. Saavge Crescent was developed by the Government as state housing 1937-1944. It remains as an excellent example of early state housing in New Zealand.
A Grand Wireless Concert, broadcast from Auckland, was held in the Opera House, Palmerston North, 1 December 1923. It was arranged by St Paul's Wesley Guild. Ticket no.410, for the Back Stalls at a cost of 2/-.
A card to mark the visit of HRH Edward, Prince of Wales, to Palmerston North and districts 4 May 1920, including a 'Message to the Children of New Zealand from The Prince of Wales'.
A card issued to school children, to celebrate the coronation of King Edward VII and Queen Alexandra June 26, 1902.
The front of this illustrated guide to the Manawatu and Rangitikei districts reads, Palmerston North, Feilding, Hunterville, Ashhurst, Foxton, Paraparaumu, Waikanae, Plimmerton, Marton, Bulls, Sanson, Shannon, Levin, Otaki, Titahi Bay. Dairying, stock-raising, sheep-farming, flax-milling. Beautiful coastal, river and mountain scenery. Up-to-date road map. Price: 2/6 E. Bradbury & Co. Publishers, 16 Wyndham St, Auckland.
C M Ross Co Ltd newspaper advertisement of sale held during the construction of their new store in The Square of Palmerston North. The C M Ross Company continued trading where possible throughout the construction during 1927-1928.
"Just for Fun - Personalities at Par - Cartooned and Published by Pat Studio (Regent) - Who's Who in P.N." The inside cover has a hand-written note that reads, "Harold Bryce Clapham once owned this booklet when residing in Palmerston North. He put a name beside each figure. I'm not sure if the figures were known to him or whether it was his wicked sense of humour showing up. As his daughter-in-law I had great respect and affection for Harold. Jean Clapham 9/8/06 Taumarunui"
Contains biographical information about Edward VIII, advertisements for businesses in the towns he visited during the New Zealand tour and descriptions of tour events and stops. See also, Souvenir of the visit of HRH Edward Albert, Prince of Wales to Palmerston North
A procession walked to the Palmerston North Showgrounds, where a religous service was held, followed by a 21 gun salute, on 12 May 1937. It was organised by the Palmerston North City Council to celebrate the Coronation of King George VI and Queen Elizabeth.
This Scouting conference was held in Palmerston North 31 May to 2 June 1952. The programme contains some promotional information on Palmerston North, as well as the activities that would be undertaken during Queen's Birthday weekend 1952
This building, which housed the Manawatū Flour Mills from 1918 to 1968, was situated on the corner of Broadway Avenue and Albert Street until demolished in 1968. It was the second flourmill on this site, the first being a small wooden building. The business was established by Richter, Nannestad and Co. in 1878 and sold to James McGill of the Manawatū patent Roller Flour Mill Co. in 1902. Seventeen years later it was purchased by John Ireland of The Manawatū Mills Ltd, who sold it on to Farm Products Co-operative Tararua Ltd in 1965.
The Maori in Focus exhibition took place at Palmerston North Art Gallery in March 1970. It showcased photographs taken by Alfred H Burton, James McDonald, L Hinge, W H Davis showing a variety of Maori scenes from the 1880s through to the 1920s.
"Te Wa O Te Reo Maori. 31 July - 7 August. Maori Language Week". Part of a collection of posters that were displayed in the Public Library in the 1970s - 1980s.