Found 62 results

Narrow search resultsHideFilters

 
Andrews Collection: Duck Pond, The Square

Andrews Collection: Duck Pond, The Square

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, "Duck Pond, Square PN." The child in the photograph is very probably Joyce, refer to 2014P_AndrewsS1_010045 for identification. The body of water in the photograph is The Lakelet, also know as Butterfly Lake. The white dome on the left is the top of the observatory (built 1903, demolished 1938). The building in the middle is All Saints Church (built 1914-1915, still standing in 2015) and to the right of that is the Grand Hotel (built 1906, still standing in 2015).

 
Andrews Collection: Nessie

Andrews Collection: Nessie

This small photograph album belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, "Nessie 15-1-28." Nessie appears in many photographs in this album. There is no indication about the nature of the relationship between Nessie and the albums owner, but there appears to be a familial resemblance between the two.

 
Andrews Collection: Picnic at Ashhurst Domain

Andrews Collection: Picnic at Ashhurst Domain

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption "Picnic at Ashhurst March 1928 PN". Mrs Oliver (second row, far right) and Edith (front and centre) appear in 2014P_AndrewsS1_010039 also. The woman on Mrs Oliver's left may be Nessie, who is in several photographs in the album. See also 2014P_AndrewsS1_010060. See CA: Andrews Collection

 
Andrews Collection: Picnic at Ashhurst Domain

Andrews Collection: Picnic at Ashhurst Domain

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption "Picnic at Ashhurst March 1928 PN". Mrs Oliver (second row, far right) and Edith (front and centre) appear in 2014P_AndrewsS1_010039 also. The woman on Mrs Oliver's left is Edna Shanly, who is in several photographs in the album. See also 2014P_AndrewsS1_010040. See CA: Andrews Collection

 
Andrews Collection: First Fitzherbert Bridge

Andrews Collection: First Fitzherbert Bridge

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph has no caption but appears to depict the first Fitzherbert Bridge. Built in 1877, this wooden bridge served the needs of those crossing the Manawatu until 1935 when a new concrete bridge was constructed. This second bridge was replaced with the bridge we have today [2015] in 1987.

 
Andrews Collection: View of The Square from C M Ross Department Store, The Square

Andrews Collection: View of The Square from C M Ross Department Store, The Square

This small photograph album belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, "View PN from Ross's Building". This photograph was shot from the top of Rosco's Department Store, now the City Library and Community Services building. The road on the left is Broadway Avenue. Several monuments are prominent, including the King Edward VII Coronation Fountain (now next to the corner of Broadway Avenue and The Square) and the War Memorial (far right). The building with a clock tower in the middle of the photograph is the old Post Office, built 1906-1906. Next to the Post Office is Main Street East.

 
Andrews Collection: Joyce, Aged 4

Andrews Collection: Joyce, Aged 4

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, "Joyce, Aged 4 Years, Square PN." The top of the Band Rotunda is visible in the clearing to the left of Joyce. She is standing in one of the patches of garden in The Square.

 
Andrews Collection: Bridge Over Duck Pond

Andrews Collection: Bridge Over Duck Pond

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, "Bridge Over Duck Pond, Square PN Feb 28." The Duck Pond is now known as The Laklet or Butterfly Lake. The two figures on the bridge are Mrs May and Joyce from 2014P_AndrewsS1_010045. The Grand Hotel is visible on the left.

 
Palmerston North Chief Post Office

Palmerston North Chief Post Office

This photograph bears the caption, "Post Office PN May 1928." Built in 1906, the Post Office on the corner of The Square and Main Street was Palmerston North’s fourth, and replaced a small wooden building on the same site. In 1988, when Telecom and Postbank became separate entities, the building ceased to be the Post Office. It currently operates as a restaurant and bar, though the building no longer has the clock tower as it removed after the 1942 Napier earthquake. Taken from small photograph album belonging to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House.

 
Andrews Collection: Myra, Joyce and Mrs May with Square Cannon

Andrews Collection: Myra, Joyce and Mrs May with Square Cannon

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, "Myra, Joyce and Mrs May Feb 29." Two cannons were acquired by the Palmerston North Borough Council in 1909 for display in The Square. By 1939, the Council decided the cannons had outlived their usefulness and sold them to a scrap dealer. See Research File A175/72/2 in the Ian Matheson City Archives, City Library for more information. They served as a very popular spot to take photographs. All Saints Church is just visible on the right.

 
Andrews Collection: Myra, Joyce and Nessie with Square Cannon

Andrews Collection: Myra, Joyce and Nessie with Square Cannon

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph bears the caption, "Myra, Joyce and Nessie Feb 29." Two cannons were acquired by the Palmerston North Borough Council in 1909 for display in the Square. By 1939, the Council decided the cannons had outlived their usefulness and sold them to a scrap dealer. See Research File A175/72/2 in the Ian Matheson City Archives, City Library for more information. They served as a very popular spot to take photographs. All Saints Church is just visible on the right.

 
Mrs R Andrews

Mrs R Andrews

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph has no caption. It depicts a woman in furs and a hat sitting on a park bench. Based on other identified photographs, this is a likely to be Mrs R Andrews, the owner of the album. See CA: Andrews Collection

 
Andrews Collection: Manawatu River

Andrews Collection: Manawatu River

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph has no caption, but is on the same page as photographs of a picnic in Ashhurst, which could indicate that this photograph shows the Manawatu River near there. See CA: Andrews Collection

 
Andrews Collection: Unidentified Child

Andrews Collection: Unidentified Child

This photograph came from a small photograph album that belonged to Mrs R Andrews of Rangitikei House. This photograph has no caption. It depicts a young woman with a bow in her hair standing in an unidentified location. She wears the same clothes in photograph 2014P_AndrewsS1_010030.

Load Items 31 to NaN