This group of army personel was taken in Ashhurst, it is thought they could all be related. During the Second World War many racecourses throughout New Zealand hosted Army groups.
This truck operated by A.E. Claussen ltd, General Carriers of Palmerston North is loaded with boxes of items for sale produced by the Manawatu Co-op for delivery.
The Longburn Slaughtering and Freezing Company Ltd was established as a farmer's co-operative in 1890. Sited at Longburn, just south of Palmerston North, it later became known as the Longburn Freezing Works. It closed in 1986.
This piece of equipment belonged to A F Martin Ltd, Engineers and Founders. They were located at 652 Main Street.
From Archives New Zealand: On 16th July 1947 Field Marshal Bernard Montgomery, 1st Viscount Montgomery of Alamein, arrived in New Zealand to confer with the Government on defence matters. Lord Montgomery was one of the most decorated military leaders of World War Two, and was famous for his victory at the Battle of El Alamein. At the time of his visit to New Zealand, he was Britain’s Chief of the Imperial General Staff. Lord Montgomery toured the country, receiving a hero’s welcome everywhere he went. The photograph above was taken in Wellington on 17th July 1947. The Old Government Buildings are visible in the background, as well as some of the thousands of Wellingtonians who turned out to see Lord Montgomery (nicknamed ‘Monty’ and ‘The Spartan General’). Public servants in central Wellington were granted an hour’s leave so they could witness the Field Marshal’s drive from Government House to the Cenotaph, where he laid a wreath.
A view of the offices of the BEA. The door advertises their "Canadian Pacific" run.
This photograph shows the First XV rugby team from Palmerston North Technical High School in 1943.
Photograph of a three unidentified women posing with croquet mallets.
Mr and Mrs Black (nee Brown) pose for a wedding photograph with their bridsemaid and best man.
A group of soldiers outside the Officers quarters during the Second World War.
This event is thought to be part of the celebrations held in Palmerston North at the end of World War Two. Military and civilians, including the Mayor Gus Mansford, are seated before a crowd on the rostrum. Behind (from left) can be seen the BNZ, on the corner of Fitzherbert Avenue, the spire of All Saints Church and the Grand Hotel. Also see 2011G\_ELMAR-2-B10\_005216 and 2011G\_ELMAR-2-B10\_005218
Part of the salvage crew winch equipment down the banks of the Manawatu River in the Gorge. Engine driver Basil Craighead and Fireman R Hoskins drowned when their 140-tonne goods train was derailed by a slip and fell into the flooded Manawatu River in the Manawatu Gorge on 20 August 1946. The steam engine sank under the flood waters and reappeared when the waters receded four days later. It took several days to recover the engine in pieces. Three of the 24 wagons also fell down the 20 metre bank, and were winched out six days after the crash.
Mutton chain gang workers with carcasses at Longburn Freezing Works. The Longburn Slaughtering and Freezing Company Ltd was established as a farmer's co-operative in 1890. Sited at Longburn, just south of Palmerston North, it later became known as the Longburn Freezing Works. It closed in 1986.
Selwyn Motors Lt were Ford motor dealers in Cuba Street and Rangitikei Street. The fleet of vans and trucks are Ford vehicles.
The class of 1888 – 1899 are shown here at their unidentified school reunion.
Massey Agricultural college students outside of the Refectory. Massey Agricultural College opened in 1928. The Refectory was designed by Roy A. Lippincott in the Spanish Mission / Mission Revival style. It was built in 1930 by Fletcher Construction, and opened in 1931. It was one of the original buildings on the Massey Agricultural College campus, alongside the Main Building, and housed the dining room, students' common room, kitchen and servants’ quarters. It is now used as offices.
The 1st XV Rugby Team pose for their photograph.
The PNTHS first eleven soccer team photograph. The Palmerston North Technical High School was opened in September 1909 on what is now Princess Street, Palmerston North. In 1956 the school moved to the Rangitikei Street site and became known as Queen Elizabeth Technical College. The original building and site is now used by the Universal College of Learning [UCOL].
A David Brown Cropmaster tractor with Firestone tyres. This tractor has a bulldozer attachment attached to the front end.
College Street School was established in Palmerston North in 1893, on the west side of College Street opposite the present buildings.
Unidentified wedding photograph of bride, groom, bridesmaid and groomsman.
This large unidentified sports group are thought to be from a bowling or croquet club.
Rugby team with coach.
A group of unidentified World War Two non-commisoned officers.
Basketball is now called netball. The Palmerston North Technical High School was opened in September 1909 on what is now Princess Street, Palmerston North. In 1956 the school moved to the Rangitikei Street site and became known as Queen Elizabeth Technical College. The original building and site is now used by the Universal College of Learning [UCOL].
Several members of a lawn bowling team pose for a photograph.
Possibly the Palmerston North bowling green.
A gathering at St Lukes in Kairanga on the 15th of December, thought to be 1951. It is thought this might have been the opening of the Church. Though the principle builders were Isaac Brothers, local farmers pitched in with some of the concrete work. In addition, many of the furnishings were donations from the community. For more information, see Kairanga: More Than One Hundred Years, by R G Mildon.
A large group photograph showing members of a branch of the Women's Institute. All of the ladies in the photograph are unidentified. Originating in Canada in 1897, the The Dominion Federation of Women's Institutes, as it was known at the time, was set up to enable women to take an effective part in community life and its development. The idea of Women’s Institutes was first introduced to New Zealand by Miss Ann Elizabeth Jerome Spencer on her return from war work in England, where she had seen the work of the organisation and the first branch was founded in the Hawkes Bay in 1921. In 2014, there were 13 individual branches in the Manawatu Federation.
The Rahui football club has been a regular on the Horowhenua rugby scene since 1932. It originally fielded a team in 1927 when a group of gentlemen, mainly dairy farmers, met in the waiting room of the Otaki railway station, but only lasted one season. Originally based at Taylor’s Farm and then the Otaki Racecourse, Rahui moved to the other side of the railway tracks when it inherited the Domain 1940's. - Rugby News 30 Sept 2010.