Found 1027 results

Narrow search resultsHideFilters

 
Opening of Maori Battalion Hall

Opening of Maori Battalion Hall

The Maori Battalion Hall, named 'Te Rau Aroha' (emblem of gratitude), was erected in Palmerston North as a national memorial to the men of the 28th (Maori) Battalion who lost their lives in the Second World War. It was designed by John Scott, architect of Hastings, and the 14 carved panels on the facade (8 feet x 1 foot 6 inches) were carved by Kelly Kereama of Feilding. Inside 639 names of those who did not return are inscribed on 14 brass plates. All the concrete, both inside and out, was left unplastered and with the marks of the boxing to symbolise the strength of the Maori people. The three-storey building was planned as a community centre to serve all races and was opened in June 1964 by the Governor General, Sir Bernard Fergusson. Mayor Gilbert Rennie was also in attendance, as well as a number of Maori veterans.

Creator
Date
June 27, 1964
 
Opening of Maori Battalion Hall

Opening of Maori Battalion Hall

The Maori Battalion Hall, named 'Te Rau Aroha' (emblem of gratitude), was erected in Palmerston North as a national memorial to the men of the 28th (Maori) Battalion who lost their lives in the Second World War. It was designed by John Scott, architect of Hastings, and the 14 carved panels on the facade (8 feet x 1 foot 6 inches) were carved by Kelly Kereama of Feilding. Inside 639 names of those who did not return are inscribed on 14 brass plates. All the concrete, both inside and out, was left unplastered and with the marks of the boxing to symbolise the strength of the Maori people. The three-storey building was planned as a community centre to serve all races and was opened in June 1964 by the Governor General, Sir Bernard Fergusson. Mayor Gilbert Rennie was also in attendance, as well as a number of Maori veterans.

Creator
Date
June 27, 1964
 
Women working on Farm During World War II, Palmerston North

Women working on Farm During World War II, Palmerston North

After work, this group of women went haymaking at the Fitzherbert property in Ihaka Street, Palmerston North, as part of the war effort. From left: Unknown; Eileen Redwood, worked at the Bank of New Zealand (later Mrs Kingston); Rona Fenwick(?), worked at the Palmerston North City Council (later Mrs Jim McDavitt); Mrs Spike Moore, her husband worked for an oil company; June Allen, worked for Johnston and Co, King Street, grocery and wine/spirits wholesalers (later Mrs Blennerhassett); Edna Spillman, worked at Johnston and Co (later Mrs Quarrie).

 
Regent Theatre reconstruction, Broadway

Regent Theatre reconstruction, Broadway

The Regent Theatre under restoration. The Regent Theatre opened 4 July 1930 as a cinema and theatre. It was designed by Charles Hollingshed for owners Williamson Films Ltd, and built of reinforced concrete by Julian and Co at a cost of £46,000. One of its features is a solid marble staircase. In the 1990s the theatre was purchased by the Palmerston North City Council and restored as the city's premier theatre. It is leased to the Regent Theatre Trust Board who run the facility.

 
Regent Theatre interior, Broadway

Regent Theatre interior, Broadway

Interior of the Regent Theatre from the dress circle, showing the proscenium arch and stage curtain. The Regent Theatre opened 4 July 1930 as a cinema and theatre. It was designed by Charles Hollingshed for owners Williamson Films Ltd, and built of reinforced concrete by Julian and Co at a cost of £46,000. One of its features is a solid marble staircase. In the 1990s the theatre was purchased by the Palmerston North City Council and restored as the city's premier theatre. It is leased to the Regent Theatre Trust Board who run the facility.

 
Regent Theatre, Broadway

Regent Theatre, Broadway

The Regent Theatre opened 4 July 1930 as a cinema and theatre. It was designed by Charles Hollingshed for owners Williamson Films Ltd, and built of reinforced concrete by Julian and Co at a cost of £46,000. One of its features is a solid marble staircase. In the 1990s the theatre was purchased by the Palmerston North City Council and restored as the city's premier theatre. It is leased to the Regent Theatre Trust Board who run the facility.

 
Unknown Group

Unknown Group

This image comes from a collection of unidentified negatives taken by H M Griffiths in the early 1900s, probably 1910-1920. Many of these negatives are labelled as having been taken in Tokomaru, but many have no information with them. They were donated to the City Archives in 1971.

 
Workers - hay and cart

Workers - hay and cart

This image comes from a collection of unidentified negatives taken by H M Griffiths in the early 1900s, probably 1910-1920. Many of these negatives are labelled as having been taken in Tokomaru, but many have no information with them. They were donated to the City Archives in 1971.

Creator
Date
1910 to 1920
 
"Traffic Congestion at Esplanade"

"Traffic Congestion at Esplanade"

This image was taken for a story that ran in The Manawatu Evening Standard on 29 August 1960 "Probably the busiest place in Palmerston North yesterday was the Esplanade. During the afternoon, traffic reached almost congestion point and obtaining a parking place was as difficult a feat as securing one in Broadway on Friday night. The roads around the children's playing area and the bird cages (as illustrated) were lined with cars."

 
"Music Seminar at Freyberg High School"

"Music Seminar at Freyberg High School"

This image was taken for a story that ran in The Manawatu Evening Standard on 01 September 1960 "There are 80 pupils attending the music seminar conducted this week at the Freyberg High School. Above is a group of senior 'celloists who will perform at the school tonight."

Creator
Date
September 1, 1960
Place
Freyberg Street, Palmerston North
 
Early Wireless set, Tokomaru

Early Wireless set, Tokomaru

This image comes from a collection of unidentified negatives taken by H M Griffiths in the early 1900s, probably 1910-1920. Many of these negatives are labelled as having been taken in Tokomaru, but many have no information with them. They were donated to the City Archives in 1971.

Creator
Date
1910 to 1920
 
Manawatu Knitting Mills Trade Stall

Manawatu Knitting Mills Trade Stall

This negative comes from the Elmar Collection - a large series of semi-identified and unidentified images from the 1930s-1970s. For more information on the Manawatū Knitting Mills, see White, Jill (2007). ["Women at Work in the Manawatū Knitting Mills." _Manawatū Journal of History_, Vol. 3](https://manawatuheritage.pncc.govt.nz/item/d1572973-019a-4679-9600-89222ba78491/pdf), pp.20-29.

 
Fitzherbert Park - Opening of Lido Swimming Complex

Fitzherbert Park - Opening of Lido Swimming Complex

The Lido swimming pool is situated on 10 acres of land previously owned by the old Awatapu Golf Club. The pool was planned in 1964, building got under was 23 January 1965 and was officially opened 15 November 1966. The Lido consists of indoor and outdoor pools.

Load Items 31 to NaN