The Royale Dutch, on The Square, Palmerston North, situated in the Waldegrave building, was run by Peter and Maria Bares from 1945-c1958. Peter Bares (Panayioti Ververis) and wife Maria were both born in Greece and emigrated separately to New Zealand in 1930 and 1939 respectively. They bought the Royale Dutch in 1945 and Peter renovated it along American lines of self service, something new to New Zealand. This area upstairs was hired out for wedding receptions. There was a small kitchen, toilet facilites and a dumb waiter to bring food up from the kitchen below. In about 1958 the business was sold to two couples, Evans and Williams, and was renamed the Royal Dutch Lounge. Further information can be found on the Bares family and businesses at IMCA A175/381-R.
The lakelet was built in the Square, Palmerston North, in 1909. There have been four bridges across the lakelet. This, the first bridge, was in place from 1909 - 1958.
Caccia Birch was designed by L G West and built for Jacob Nannestad, a sawmiller, in about 1892. After being sold to Jack Strang in 1903 the house, known as 'Woodhey', was extensively enlarged, both by him and by the New Zealand Government during the time it was leased for use as Government House 1908-1910. In 1921 the house was sold to William Caccia Birch. After Caccia Birch's death it was gifted to the NZ Government in 1941, and was variously used by the army in WWII, as a convalescent home for nurses, and by both Victoria and Massey Universities. The house has been owned by Palmerston North City Council since 1984 and has been restored and renovated as a conference and function centre. It is a Category 1 listed building with the New Zealand Historic Places Trust because of its historical and architectural and community significance.
Katherine (surname unknown) from Turakina Māori Girls College, who was attending a Presbyterian Bible Class at Terrace End, organised by the Manawatu District Committee.
Mirie (surname unknown) from Turakina Māori Girls College and Elayne Thompson at thePresbyterian Bible Class Girls' Easter Camp held in Feilding.
Pupils from Tuarakina Maori Girls College at the Manawatu District Bible Class Girls Easter Camp, St Andrew's Presbyterian Church
the camp was held at St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church on the corner of Ashley and Church Streets in Palmerston North. Sleeping accommodation was provided upstairs in the Memorial Sunday School hall and in the larger Sunday School Hall.
The Maori Battalion Hall, named 'Te Rau Aroha' (emblem of gratitude), was erected in Palmerston North as a national memorial to the men of the 28th (Maori) Battalion who lost their lives in the Second World War. It was designed by John Scott, architect of Hastings, and the 14 carved panels on the facade (8 feet x 1 foot 6 inches) were carved by Kelly Kereama of Feilding. Inside 639 names of those who did not return are inscribed on 14 brass plates. All the concrete, both inside and out, was left unplastered and with the marks of the boxing to symbolise the strength of the Maori people. The three-storey building was planned as a community centre to serve all races and was opened in June 1964 by the Governor General, Sir Bernard Fergusson. At the time this photo was taken, it served as the Visual Arts school of the Wananga O Aotearoa.
The cars used at the marriage of Clara Sutton to Stan Hooker, outside the Church of Christ, Matheson Street, Wanganui.
Drum Point was a pickup point for goods going to Linton station. Other goods were also reportedly spread all over the hillside.
Primer 2 infant class of West End School, Palmerston North, taught by Miss Freeman (not pictured). From left. Back Row: Unknown; Peter Reynolds; Bobby Bell; Unknown; Unknown; Brian Marshall; ? Robinson; Kevin McSweeney. Third row: Nicholas Thompson; Unknown; Unknown; Unknown; Keith Clausen; Unknown; Unknown; John Te Rangi; Glengarry McDonell; Peter Markham. Second row: Unknown; Ian Matheson; Selwyn Francis; Ken Turner; Unknown; Unknown: Brian Kelleher; Gordon Cameron; Donald Scott; Unknown; Mark Fuller. Front Row: Maxine McGormick; Unknown; Pauline Loveridge; Catherine Imery; Judith Proctor; Terry ?; ? Duthie; Unknown; Unknown; Unknown; ? Johnston.
Two people boating in the floodwaters, taken from outside 147 Te Awe Awe Street, Palmerston North. The Manawatu River flooded about 250 hectares of the city. A stop bank between Fitzroy Street and Jickell Street had been constructed but it proved inadequate.
The original Black Bridge, built in 1927, was destroyed in a flash flood in 1964. Here, builders are bringing in new girders for the construction of the new Black Bridge.
This piece of 4 inch, cast iron pipe was found lying in the kahuterawa Stream. The Fitzherbert West Water Race Scheme was built in 1917 to supply farms in the area with water. Pipes were installed in the stream to take water down to a settlement box which removed the silt and debris, and then onto the farms. Pipes were often smashed with the movement of large boulders in the stream.
A piece of 4 inch cast iron pipe lying in the Kahuterawa Stream, part of the Fitzherbert West Water Race Scheme which was built in 1917 to supply farms with water in the Fitzherbert West area. Pipes were installed in the stream to transport water down to a settlement box, which removed the silt and debris, and onto the farms.
A water intake for the old Fitzherbert West Water Race Scheme, which was built in 1917 to supply farms with water in the Fitzherbert West area. Pipes were installed in the stream to take water down to a settlement box, which removed the silt and debris, and onto the farms.
Trucks tranport the second girder into place in the construction of the new Black Bridge. The original Black Bridge, built 1927, was damaged in a flash flood in 1964.
The original Black Bridge was built by Poole and Klein in 1927. Mat Wolfsbauer is shown here leading his horses home from Top Farm. It is now owned by the Palmerston North City Council and the area is known as the Woodpecker Block.
The original Black Bridge was built by Poole and Klein in 1927, due to the tragic drowning of William F Brown, who tried to cross the river in flood after possum trapping. It is now owned by the Palmerston North City Council and the area is known as the Woodpecker Block.
Black Bridge was damaged by a flash flood 8 January 1964. Black Bridge was built in July 1926, due to the drowning of William Brown.
A flash flood damaged Black Bridge in 1964. Lyall Pickering (Kairanga County Council engineer), Albert Lyall (Kairanga County council foreman) and Mr & Mr Stewart Oxenham inspect the damaged Black Bridge.
Matt Wolfsbauer standing on top of Black Bridge Arch on his way home from Top Farm. Top Farm was sold to the Palmerston North City Council and renamed Woodpecker Block.
James Burtton built this bridge over the Tokomaru Stream to improve his farm access. It later collapsed and dropped him into the stream resulting in his death 15 March 1941.
Flooding at Richmond Escolme Harrison's residence in Albert Street. R E Harrison was a nurseryman of Hokowhitu, Palmerston North, and after the flood the family was never return to this home. the house is now the Village Inn in Hokowhitu. In May 1941 the Manawatu River flooded about 250 hectares of the city. A stop bank between Fitzroy Street and Jickell Street had been constructed but it proved inadequate for the flood waters.
375 Albert Street, Palmeston North, stood approximately opposite what is now the Hokowhitu shopping centre. In May 1941 the Manawatu River flooded about 250 hectares of the city. A stop bank between Fitzroy Street and Jickell Street had been constructed but it proved inadequate.
In May 1941 the Manawatu River flooded about 250 hectares of Palmerston North. A stop bank between Fitzroy Street and Jickell Street had been constructed but it proved inadequate for the flood waters.
Woman carrying bedding outside 249 Victoria Avenue, Palmerston North. In May 1941 the Manawatu River flooded about 250 hectares of the city. A stop bank between Fitzroy Street and Jickell Street had been constructed but it proved inadequate for the flood waters.
The Brown, Shaw, Milner, Shere and Wolfsbauer families picnicking over the river from the Brown House property, opposite Arnold Chamoves property.
Leslie (b.1900), Thomas (b.1897) and Ernest (b.1901) Davis on a shooting expedition to Oroua Downs. Les, Thomas and Ernie were the sons of James and Harriet Davis, who farmed in the Tiritea/Fitzherbert area c1897-1910, after which they moved into Palmerston North. The boys were 'outdoors men', interested in hunting and fishing. Tom later became a carpenter-builder in Wellington, Ernie a building inspector, and Les worked on the land, and later at the Wanganui Woolen Mills.
Bert Anderson, Ernest Davis, Thomas Davis, Pat Anderson and Neal Anderson 'catching tuna' in the Tiritea/Fitzherbert area. Ernest and Thomas were the sons of James and Harriet Davis, who farmed in the area c1897-1910.
The Davis brothers and friends hunting for eels in the Kahuterawa River. James and Harriet Davis farmed in the Tiritea/Fitzherbert area c1897-1910, after which they moved into Palmerston North.