Rangitāne O Manawatū blessed the site of the Central Energy Trust Arena, to mark the opening of its new entrance from Cuba Street, and other new developments. Guests met at 5pm, and were escorted over the new bridge into the complex.
This book is a product of two interfaith forums, held at the Cafe Royale , Square Edge. At the forum, young Palmerston North leaders talked about changing the world they will inherit. Forum topics were global climate change and racism. Young leaders, representing different religions, include: Grace Fakahau; Klem McJarrow-Keller; Agha Wajeeh; Jaspreet Singh; Jasmine Pai; Elza Gibu Joseph; Tessa Ma'auga The book also includes 'The Story of Interfaith Dialogue in Palmerston North" by Mary Eastham, and an article on climate change by Dr Kevin Tate - In Memoriam.
A short history of the city of Palmerston North and the local area, from inception to 2000.
Brief notes on the War Memorial, built 1926 in The Square of Palmerston North, and of resources held at the Ian Matheson City Archives
A book written to commemorate 80 years of the Rosco building, charting the history of the C M Ross Company, and the building, built by the company in 1927-1928. In 1883 Charles Ross bought the Bon Marche in Palmerston North and began trading as a drapery and clothing store. The business later traded under C M Ross Co. Ltd until it was sold in 1959. The building in question now operates as the Palmerston North City Library.
Manuscript of "Awahou School Cententary 1894-1994: A History of the Pohangina Valley" by Lois Hall, published in 1994. it was produced by the Awahou School's Centenary Committee. The book covers chapters on: Setting the Scene; First Footsteps; Getting Settled; The Surveyors; Fool's Gold; Clearing the Bush; Local Bodies; Roads and Bridges: Services; Living off the Land; After Work; Pohangina; Raumai; komako; People; Here and Now; Awahou south School; Komako School; Awahou North/Awahou School; Reminiscences; School Photographs; The Centennary.
A history of Palmerston North, commissioned by PNCC to commemorate 100 years of Palmerston North 1870 - 1970. George Conrad Petersen was a barrister and solictor, who authored many historical books. Includes an Introduction on Landforms in the Manawatu by Norman Whatman
An article about Whitaunui and Paiaka camps for conscientious objectors during WWII, officially called military defaulter camps. The article is illustrated with images of camp life at the time. This article was originally published in the 2016 "Manawatu Journal of History", and this copy extracted from that Journal for publication. It is a proof copy, although it is believed to be free of proofing errors.
A description of places listed on the Register of Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga, as at 2007 revised 2013). Compiled by Rosemary Harris, Margaret Tate and Pat Scrivens and published by the Manawatu Branch of the New Zealand Historic Places Trust Pouhere Taonga. Buildings included: Regent Theatre; All Saints' Church; All Saints' Church Hall; Cathedral of the Holy Spirit; Grand Hotel building, Coronation Memorial,; Hitching Post; Te Peeti Te Awe Awe Memorial; Former T & G building; United Manawatu Lodge (now Aqaba); Ward Brothers building; Soldiers' Club building (former RSA, now Café Cuba); Palmerston North Technical Institute (now UCOL); Former Chief Post Office; Steeles building; Stubbs Jewellers building; Massey University Old Main Building (now Sir Geoffrey Perrin building); Massey University Refectory building; Wharerata; Craiglockhart (Moginie House); Old Dairy Factory (Dairy Research building); Caccia Birch house; 16 Guy Avenue; Kaingahou, 642 Pioneer Highway; 28 Ranfurly Street; Rangimarie, 3 Rangiora Avenue; Woolahra, Rangitikei Line; Cluny Park, Rangitikei Line; 239 and 241 Ruahine Street; 170 Russell Street; Hoffman Kiln; Hokowhitu School; Stone Wall, Pahiatua Track
Bernard Cox (1905 - 1970) was a Palmerston North architect. The houses designed by Cox are important as examples of modernism, a major twentieth century movement that revolutionised the way houses are designed and constructed and which expressed the social vision of the mid-twentieth century. This booklet, detailing Cox's life and some of his buildings, was written to accompany an exhibition mounted by the Manawatu Branch of the New Zealand Historic Places Trust.
This alphabetical list encompasses new research that collates the names of all Manawatū connected deaths during World War I, as can be best ascertained. The list was compiled from Manawatū War Memorials and Rolls of Honour based on the original Manawatū counties in 1914. Supplementary information and verification of names was obtained from the NZ History website, collections of the NZ Society of Genealogists, _“Communities Remember World War One: Memorials of the Manawatū Districts”_ by Peter Olsen and Janet Doyle, newspaper reports, school and electoral rolls, Commonwealth War Graves website and military files of Archives NZ, National Archives of Australia, and National Archives (UK). As can be seen on the list there are questions around some of the entries, e.g. some of the names on memorials have been unable to to be traced and confirmed, there are questions about their connection to Manawatū, etc, but the list has been uploaded in its entirety.
An article about Whitaunui and Paiaka camps for conscientious objectors during WWII, officially called military defaulter camps. It complements an article based on local information drawn from a range of archival and published sources, that appeared in the 2016 issue of the Manawatū Journal of History. After that publication and a subsequent lecture the author was approached by a number of people who had memories of the camp and this article is based on this new material. This article was originally published in the 2018 "Manawatu Journal of History", and this copy extracted from that Journal for publication. It is a proof copy, although it is believed to be free of proofing errors.
119 Savage Crescent is part of a planned housing project undertaken by the New Zealand Government in the late 1930s to early 1940s. When the house was offered for sale in 1957, the then tenants purchased this property from the Housing Corporation for the sum of ₤2,905. By 1991 the Capital Value had risen to $8,700. 2010BD_IMCA-DigtalMaster_004490 for 1991 image of the house.
Four children, presumed to be from the same family, stand at the gates into Awapuni School, ready to attend the Gala Day. This image is from the Morrison's Pharmacy archive so may have links to the Morrison family.
The Wesley Broadway Church was originally called St Paul's. It was designed by James Bennie in 1911 and was the third Methodist church on this site. In 1989 the two Methodist churches in Palmeston North (the other in Cuba Street) combined to become the Wesley Broadway Church. The church was demolished in 2020 as it did not meet the new earthquake standards. Photo taken on a Huawei GR5 mobile device.
A group of Cub Pack leaders, taken by a Levin photographer. Cubs are part of the Scouts programme, catering for younger children who learn outdoor skills and work in the community. At this period it catered for boys only. From left Back row: Joyce Klempel (B); Bronwyn Elder (B); Lois Odering (B); Noeline Cook (Bl); Jennifer Price (B); Marje Smith (Bl); Nancy Clark (T); Sue Hopwood (T); Ethel \_\_\_ (R); Terry Bolan (T); Flo Warner (T). Middle row: Jackie Israelson (T); Joyce Terry (Bl); Sue Greening (Bl); "Me" (Bl); Marie McDougell (B); Chris Tennant (Bl); Kay Donnelly (B); Jenny Flower (T); Gwen Ireland (R); Mary Heatherwick (T); Linda Thake (T); Ann MacCawley (R). Front row: David Sutcliffe (R); Margaret Schulterups (T); Lee Redwood (R); Roby Henry (B); Trevor Brown (Bl); Marie Hogget (R); Don Clark (B); Eirma Lewick (Bl); Jerry Newby (T); Beverley Lees (R); Betty Cowe (?) (R); Paul Gateum (?) (Bl); Lynette Taylor (R); Malcolm Kwok (?) (R).
Cubs are part of the Scouts programme, catering for younger children who learn outdoor skills and work in the community. At this period it catered for boys only. "Black Six" (from left) Back row: "Me"; Lois Odering; Joyce Terry; Marje Smith Front row: Chris Tennant; Trevor Brown; Erma Lewick (Tutor); Paul Gatoum; Sue Greening.
Cubs are part of the Scouts programme, catering for younger children who learn outdoor skills and work in the community. At this period it catered for boys only. From left; Richard Burke; Aaron Pratley; Craig Wood; Clayton Meyhew; Brent Johns; Samuel Meyhew.
Cubs are part of the Scouts programme, catering for younger children who learn outdoor skills and work in the community. At this period it catered for boys only. From left: Craig Woods, Marcus Sheehan (Back); Wyatt Williams; Matthew Burke; Brent Johns; Clayton Meyhew; Samuel Meyhew.
A view from the newly constructed Civic Administration Building, looking across the Butterfly lakelet to the start of Fitzherbert Avenue.
A photograph from the newly constructed Civic Administration Building. The Butterly lakelet was constructed in 1909 by the Beautification Society. The fountains were a later addition in the 1960s. It was so called because of its shape, with the bridge across being the body of the butterfly and the pond either side its wings.
A view of one side of The Square, taken from the new Civic Administration Building, possibly still in construction. It shows the Rangitāne Pavilion in the foreground, and the corner of Rangitikei Street in the background. The Coronation Fountain has now been moved from the position pictured and now sits in The Square near the corner of Broadway.
The Royale Dutch, on The Square, Palmerston North, situated in the Waldegrave building, was run by Peter and Maria Bares from 1945-c1958. Peter Bares (Panayioti Ververis) and wife Maria were both born in Greece and emigrated separately to New Zealand in 1930 and 1939 respectively. They bought the Royale Dutch in 1945 and Peter renovated it along American lines of self service, something new to New Zealand. This area upstairs was hired out for wedding receptions. There was a small kitchen, toilet facilites and a dumb waiter to bring food up from the kitchen below. In about 1958 the business was sold to two couples, Evans and Williams, and was renamed the Royal Dutch Lounge. Further information can be found on the Bares family and businesses at IMCA A175/381-R.
A chronological list of significant military activity in Palmerston North from 1860 to 1975. Compiled by Leanne Hickman for the Palmerton North City Council.
Wiremu Te Awe Awe of Rangitane, and the Mayor of Palmerston North, Grant Smith, cutting the ribbon at the opening of new Council housing at 11 Papaiōea Place. Palmerston North City Council's social housing redevelopment project resulted in the completion of 30 new social housing units in stage one. The new units were blessed and opened on 4 March 2019. The new units at Papaiōea Place are open-plan, with eco-friendly and futureproof design to help enhance residents' quality of living. All units are double-glazed and well-insulated. They also have the 4-star Lifemark certification. This means the units are equipped to meet tenants' lifetime mobility and agility needs. Twenty more units will be added in Stage 2.
Stripped flax fibre that has been laid out to dry and bleach is now ready for the final stage of preparation – Scutching. As part of Local History Week, members of the public and City Library staff visited Te Awahou Nieuwe Stroom and the Flax Stripper Museum in Foxton.
Tony Hunt gives a run-down of the history of New Zealand’s flax fibre industry. Behind him is one of the few operational flax strippers remaining in New Zealand. As part of Local History Week, members of the public and City Library staff visited Te Awahou Nieuwe Stroom and the Flax Stripper Museum in Foxton.
The final stage in the preparation of the flax fibre is Scutching; a process in which the dried flax fibre is polished between two wooden surfaces. As part of Local History Week, members of the public and City Library staff visited Te Awahou Nieuwe Stroom and the Flax Stripper Museum in Foxton.
The lakelet was built in the Square, Palmerston North, in 1909. There have been four bridges across the lakelet. This, the first bridge, was in place from 1909 - 1958.