McHardy Hall, Massey University
McHardy Hall was designed by the Public Works Department and built for the Army in 1941, to be used as accommodation for army officers during WWII. It was handed over to Massey Agricultural College (MAC) in 1943, and used as student accommodation. It became known as the Pink Hostel because of its colour. It has been used as staff offices by the University for some time from 1960s-2000s. McHardy Hall was named for the former owner of the site of Massey Agricultural College. Photographs taken for Massey University walk, Local History Week 2010. Tour guide Louis Changuion, archivist, Massey University.