This postcard has an image of the middle of The Square surrounded by a calendar for the year 1911.
A flock of sheep block Awahuri Road. Behind them gentleman on horseback, a bicyclist and a coach wait to pass. Taken around the Kitchener Park area.
This postcard wallet shows a variety of Palmerston North views, including The Victoria Esplanade, a train going through the Manawatū Gorge, a panoramic view of The Square and the portion of The Square between Coleman Mall and Church Street West.
This postcard booklet claims to have views of Palmerston North that are the "finest yet published". The front indicates that 12 views were originally included, but only 5 remain.
This postcard shows Palmerston North's Racecourse. Note that construction work appears to be happening in the grandstand second from left.
This postcard shows The Square as it was around 1915.
Looking across the Fitzherbert Bridge from what is now Anzac Park. To the immediate left, across the bridge, is the Victoria Esplanade.
This postcard shows The Square as it was in 1912 and looks towards the section of The Square between Coleman Mall and Rangitikei Street. The base of the fountain that once stood in that section of The Square is just visible in front of the Bon Marche. The cannon in the bottom right corner is one of two bought to Palmerston North in 1909, being surplus equipment of the Defence Department. Both cannons were removed and scrapped during the 1940s. [ ](https://manawatuheritage.pncc.govt.nz/item/73b9b958-1e85-401b-b20a-a5ae643daa88)
This postcard looks from The Lakelet towards the south-east section of The Square, between the corners of Main Street East and Fitzherbert Avenue.
This postcard shows the T. Parkins Butchery wagon. Thomas Parkins had a butchery in The Square in the early 1900s, though it had become E Hampton Butchers by around 1910.
This postcard shows the corner of Broad Street (left-hand side), now Broadway Avenue, and The Square (right-hand side) around 1910. One of the balconies of the old Royal Hotel can be seen on the left-hand side of the image.
This postcard looks over The Lakelet to the section of The Square between the corners of Fitzherbert Avenue and Church Street West.
This postcard shows The Square from the corner of Rangitikei Street to Coleman Place.
The Grand Hotel was built in 1906 on the site of the former Provincial Hotel. [ ](https://manawatuheritage.pncc.govt.nz/item/6286bdd8-392c-4b27-8176-f48f8c6e7a32)
This postcard shows Broad Street, now Broadway Avenue.
This postcard looks down Fitzherbert Street (now Avenue) from The Square.