Found 184 results

Narrow search resultsHideFilters

 
Old Council Chamber Site (Now Square Edge)

Old Council Chamber Site (Now Square Edge)

On this site, in the southern corner of The Square, beside All Saints Church, the Colonial Bank built at impressive and handsome brick edifice after a fire in 1891 swept through this part of town. That building was purchased by the Council in 1900 for the Public Library but in 1905 the Library was exiled to the corner opposite the Post Office and the Council itself moved in. The 1944 the building was demolished and this photograph (taken from in front of All Saints), looks back past the vacant lot towards the Evening Standard headquarters (1937 remodelled 1975-1976) and shows the site before the new building, now Square Edge, was erected.

 
Interior of Garners Building, Broadway Avenue

Interior of Garners Building, Broadway Avenue

Garners began in The Square, Palmerston North 7 February 1906 with a small drapery business. Three years later Miss M M Garner & Miss H M Garner went into business with her brother Henry they became “Garner and Garner'. In 1930 Keith Garner joined the firm, later becoming its Managing Director. By 1937 Miss May Garner was no longer involved in the business and Garners moved to the old Zealandia Hall site in Broadway Avenue, which was remodelled to suit the business. The building was remodelled again in 1959 and the premises were extended through to Main Street. R and W Thorrold-Jaggard were the architects. Garners were bought out by Smith and Brown in the 1960s. Note the store "The Kash" was operated and run independently by Frank Meredith Garner (brother of Harry). The reason why Misses May and Hilda Garner went into business with Harry was their mother provided the money for the store to be established on condition that Harry worked the store with his sisters May and Hilda as equal partners. Keith Garner was sent to Beaths in Christchurch in 1923 (he was aged 17) where he trained as a draper there. After he qualified he came back to Palmerston North and went to work for his father Harry at Garners.

 
Everybody's Theatre

Everybody's Theatre

Everybody's Theatre, in Coleman Place, was built by Benjamin Fuller around 1913, had a seating capacity of about 700. It was conducted as a picture theatre for almost 16 years. All day shows were the norm starting at 1 pm and concluding at 10 pm with picture programmes being repeated several times. A 25 h.p. gas engine to supply power for the motion picture projector was installed. Although the projector was driven by gas engine, electricity was available for the lighting of the theatre entrance and shops on either side. Mr E G Child was the projector operator. It was converted to the Hotel Midland in 1928.

 
Painting of Awapuni Lagoon

Painting of Awapuni Lagoon

Awapuni Lagoon as painted by Christopher Aubrey. Not much is known about Christopher Aubrey, the Evening Standard (12/12/1979), writes of him as possibly a remittance man earning extra money from his paintings. The house in the painting was called 'Awa-Puni" and was built by A Southley Baker in 1887. It was bought by Alan Strang in 1902. The Strang family lived there until 1926 when it was sold to William Lovelock, a friesian breeder, who renamed it Friesland Park. After being sold to Albert Candy in 1930, it burned down, c.1931. ​

 
Old Council Chamber Site

Old Council Chamber Site

The Municipal Chambers, designed by R and W Thorrold-Jaggard replaced the earlier (1905) building on the site, they were opened on 13 June, 1945 and this shot apparently taken in springtime, may be either from earlier in 1945 (since the rooms look unoccupied) or from early 1946 (since the electric clock was not added until later). Thorrold-Jaggard papers, especially volumes III and IV; IV, 12 includes a defence of the Thorrold-Jaggard art deco style of architecture.

 
Annie Milson

Annie Milson

Annie Milson was the wife of Robert Milson, a farmer in Palmerston North in Milson Line (which is named after him). She died 25 August 1917, aged 75.

 
Robert Milson

Robert Milson

Robert Milson farmed on Milson Line (which is named after him) from about 1872 until his death on 3 April 1909, aged 74. His only child Annie married Joseph Linklater, a well known farmer who was a Member of Parliament for Manawatu from 1922 to 1935.

 
Demolition of Public Trust Office, 470 Main Street

Demolition of Public Trust Office, 470 Main Street

The Public Trust was established in 1872. In Palmerston North the Public Trust grew rapidly earning a permanent branch office in 1919; by 1937 it had a staff of fifty under the control of Mr C Freyberg, District Public Trustee. The building shown here was opened in 1922; in later years many extensions were required, including a partial second floor being added and extensive improvements on the ground floor completed around 1936. The building was demolished in August/September of 1978 to make way for the new courthouse building. See also ; ‘Swamp to City’ pg 138.

 
Public Trust Office, 470 Main Street

Public Trust Office, 470 Main Street

The Public Trust was established in 1872. In Palmerston North the Public Trust grew rapidly earning a permanent branch office in 1919; by 1937 it had a staff of fifty under the control of Mr C Freyberg, District Public Trustee. The building shown here was opened in 1922; in later years many extensions were required, including a partial second floor being added and extensive improvements on the ground floor completed around 1936. The building was demolished in August/September of 1978 to make way for the new courthouse building. See also ; ‘Swamp to City’ pg 138.

 
Rangitikei Street

Rangitikei Street

The south side of Rangitikei Street opposite Grey Street. The Square is in the distance (extreme left). Visible are Booth Macdonald and Co Ltd (farm machinery), Fowler Motors Ltd, Beatty Factory Branch, Simon Printing Co Ltd, Haydon Clothing Co Ltd. A group of marching girls in uniform can be seen in the centre of the image.

 
Johannes Monrad (1849-1915)

Johannes Monrad (1849-1915)

Johannes, the second son and fourth child of the celebrated Bishop D. G. Monrad, was born in Denmark August 1849 when his father was a Minister in the Danish Cabinet, shortly before he was made Bishop in the Luthran Church. Johannes became a Naval apprentice, but did not flourish in this pursuit. The photograph shows the young man of "artistic tastes" shortly before the Monrad family emigrated to New Zealand. While the family settled at Karere on the Manawatu, Johannes and his older brother Viggo worked on a second property at Patea. Precocious, even for a pioneer New Zealander, Johannes was soon carving out the farm himself and when the Bishop Monrad and his family returned to Denmark, Johannes ran the holding alone, while Viggo took over Karere. After two years he sold the Patea holding and sailed for Denmark in January 1870, marrying Marie Frederiksen there in 1872. After a brief period in America he took up farming in Bunnythorpe from 1878-1883. In 1883 Johannes finally settled in the United States, rising to be a leader in Dairy research and an authority in the dairy industry until his death in 1915.

 
Bovis Store Vehicle

Bovis Store Vehicle

This is either an interesting example of an early trade vehicle or a decorated vehicle for a parade, possibly the 1932 Royal Show. The New Zealand Post Office Directories show W.M. Bovis J.P. in Business from c. 1925 until c. 1955. Initially Bovis Store operated out of premises at 99 Grey Street, by 1937 with a name change to Bovis Ltd; the premises were operating from 42 Main Street until 1955. By 1957 the name Bovis has disappeared from the Post Office Directories, possibly because Bovis had disappeared out of the area. NZ Post Office Directories: 1925; 1929; 1930 pg 742 & 1146; 1937 pg 2497; 1953-54 pg 581; 1955 no copy of 1956; not showing in 1957.

 
Palmerston North Teachers College

Palmerston North Teachers College

In the foreground is the Palmerston North Teachers' College, constructed on this site in the 1960s, and the Manawatu Golf Club to the right. Victoria Avenue, in Hokowhitu, can be seen running from the left top corner, ending at the footbridge over the lagoon.

Creator
Date
1973
Place
Hokowhitu Lagoon, Centennial Drive, Palmerston North
Load Items 31 to NaN