Found 41 results

Narrow search resultsHideFilters

 
Queen Elizabeth II and the Mayor walk through The Square

Queen Elizabeth II and the Mayor walk through The Square

Queen Elizabeth II, accompanied by the Mayor, Desmond Black, walks past a line of young girls in The Square gardens. Queen Elizabeth II and the Duke of Edinburgh visited Palmerton North for about one and half hours as part of their New Zealand tour.

 
Government Buildings, corner of George and Cuba Streets.

Government Buildings, corner of George and Cuba Streets.

Originally known as 'Manawatu Buildings', this structure on the corner of George and Cuba Streets was erected in 1929 for Messrs. A. H. White, E. D. Berry and R. A. Port. The architect was C. Tilleard Natusch of Wellington. The three-storey building was constructed from reinforced concrete and featured marble-terrazzo floors and stairways. It originally housed the Dominion Sample Rooms on its first and second floors. On the ground floor, there were six shopfronts located on George Street and a further four on Cuba Street. In 1945 the NZ Government purchased the building and had it modified to house Government offices, including the Land and Income Tax Department and Social Security Office. It was subsequently known as 'Government Buildings'. The structure was demolished in 1992 to make way for a supermarket. It was later converted into a Harvey Normans store.

 
Compressed Natural Gas driven bus

Compressed Natural Gas driven bus

Parked outside the City Council administration building is one the new CNG fuelled passenger buses, built by NZ Motor Bodies Ltd. They began operating in Palmerston North 16 July 1980, and were believed to be the only ones in passenger service in the world in 1980. From left: John Galbraith, bus manager; Brian Elwood, Mayor; the Hon. Bill Birch, Minister of Energy. Published in the Manawatu Evening Standard 20 august 1980.

 
Ashhurst Bridge

Ashhurst Bridge

This wooden bridge replaced the original swept away by flood waters in 1896. A punt was used for crossing until it was constructed in 1909. It was replaced in 1969. The Ashhurst Domain is on the lower left hand side of the photograph.

 
Checking carcasses at the Abattoir, Maxwells Line

Checking carcasses at the Abattoir, Maxwells Line

The abattoirs opened on 5 December 1906. The Palmerston North Brough Council took the business over as a municipal venture in 1917, until in April 1951 it was handed over to a company of butchers for lease. the abbatoir was demolished in 1969 and the land subsequently subdivided for housing in the rapidly growing Awapuni area of Palmerston North. From left: Mr Spilman, Manager; F Stewart.

 
Fire Brigade at Gasworks Storehouse Fire

Fire Brigade at Gasworks Storehouse Fire

The old gasworks were located near the railways sheds. For a full account of the event, see Manawatu Standard, 5 August 1913, Page 5 in an article entitled "Explosion and Fire" (available online on www.paperspast.natlib.govt.nz).

 
Miss C B Mills, First Principal of Palmerston North Girls' High School

Miss C B Mills, First Principal of Palmerston North Girls' High School

The school was opened in Fitzherbert Avenue in 1920. Previously girls and boys were educated together at Palmerston North High School.

 
Women in a horse drawn vehicle

Women in a horse drawn vehicle

A four wheeled Phaeton waits outside a cottage.

 
Carnival of the Lake, Hokowhitu Lagoon

Carnival of the Lake, Hokowhitu Lagoon

A midsummer festival named “Carnival of the Lake” was held on the Hokowhitu Lagoon at Centennial Drive, Palmerston North, January 17 – 20 1964. A variety of activities ensured the public were well entertained during the four day festival. The Manawatu Kayak Club gave special demonstrations on the Lake and Gondola rides were popular. Carnival of the Lake was organised by the Public Relations Office and started in 1958.

 
Dining room and staff ready for opening of Miranui Flaxmill, near Shannon

Dining room and staff ready for opening of Miranui Flaxmill, near Shannon

Miranui Flaxmill, owned by A & L Seifert Flaxmilling Company Ltd, was opened 16 November 1907 by the Hon, Robert McNab (Minister of Lands and Agriculture). The man on the far right is the mill cook, known as ‘Immortal Phipps’. Miranui Flax mill was the largest and most up-to-date flax mill in New Zealand at the time.

 
Aerial view of Massey Agricutural College

Aerial view of Massey Agricutural College

The Agricultural Science building dominates the Massey Agricultural College campus, with student facilities and training farm behind. In the foreground can be seen 'Wharerata', the Russell homestead, which was acquired by the College in 1951. Massey Agricutural College became Massey University in 1964.

 
Aftermath of Palmerston North High School fire, Featherston Street

Aftermath of Palmerston North High School fire, Featherston Street

The remains of the Palmerston North High School in Featherston Street. The fire was said to have been one of three set by Joseph Powelka, an escaped prisoner, on the night of 5 April 1910. Powelka denied the charges but was convicted of the fires.

 
Sir Charles Kingsford Smith's "Southern Cross" aircraft, Milson Airport

Sir Charles Kingsford Smith's "Southern Cross" aircraft, Milson Airport

Charles Kingsford Smith damaged his aircraft when taxiing at 5mph along the Milson Aerodrome runway before take off. The left wheel sank axle-deep in a boggy patch of ground. The left wing and port propellor were damaged taking several weeks to be repaired, at the Palmerston North Showgrounds by local volunteer help.

 
Walkway, Victoria Esplanade

Walkway, Victoria Esplanade

Development began on the Victoria Esplanade in 1897, named to mark Queen Victoria's 60th jubilee, . The pergola was built in c1916-1917 and demolished c1940. The winding complex of pathways was developed under Peter Black, Curator of Reserves from 1908-1946.

 
Interior of dried milk factory, Bunnythorpe

Interior of dried milk factory, Bunnythorpe

Joseph Nathan and Company established their dried milk factory in Bunnythorpe in 1904.'Glaxo' became the brand name for their baby milk product and Glaxo Laboratories was formed in 1937. The factory continued operating until 1973, when Glaxo centred all their production at Botanical Road, Palmerston North.

 
W T Wood Veterinary Shoeing Forge and General Blacksmith's Shop

W T Wood Veterinary Shoeing Forge and General Blacksmith's Shop

This business was located on section 263 (once occupied by The National Bank, now the ANZ Bank, on the corner of Cuba Street and Rangitikei Street). The building was destroyed by fire in September 1894, but was subsequently rebuilt in Cuba Street (next door to the original). W T Wood does not appear in this photo. He was Mayor of Palmerston North from 1895 to 1899 and again from 1901-1903. He died in Australia in 1943. Mr Ben Waters (3rd from left) and Mr Dan Fabling (5th from left, standing and looking away from crowd) are the only two identified.

 
Turitea Dam, Opening Day Picnic

Turitea Dam, Opening Day Picnic

In this photograph, we see the members of the Borough Council and their wives at the annual Mayoral Picnic at Tiritea. The newly built Tiritea Dam was also officially declared open by the Mayoress, who cut the ribbon. After inspecting the dam the party were given afternoon tea. Identified in the photograph are: Mayor J.A. Nash - 6th man from left, second row; His wife, Mayoress Elizabeth Nash is on his left; Councillor Edward John Armstrong is possibly on her left; W.H. Collingwood front row, second from right with the hat with grey ribbon; H Palmer second from left, back row with the bow tie; W. Stubbs 3rd from left, back row in white suit; S Jickell second from left, front row. See also W4 and The Birth of Palmerston North, p 92.In July 1888, the Palmerston North Borough Council accepted a scheme to bring water from the Tiritea Stream to the city at a cost of £18,350. The contractors were Coates and Metcalf of Hamilton. The dam was situated seven miles east of Palmerston North and the water was piped first to a reservoir on Tiritea Hill and then to the city over the Fitzherbert Bridge. A second dam was constructed in 1906-1907 and then was raised in height and re-opened on 17th February 1913, submerging the original dam.The present dam was constructed in 1957. See also 2015P_pic15_006178

 
Sweeping the surface of the road to Foxton Beach

Sweeping the surface of the road to Foxton Beach

These men were employed by New Zealand Laykold Ltd, of Wellington, the contractors for the reconstruction of the road between Foxton and Foxton Beach. This firm owned a bitumen factory in Wellington and employed Mr L C Eggers (photographer) as overseer for the contract.

 
Totalisator Building, Awapuni Racecourse

Totalisator Building, Awapuni Racecourse

This photograph shows the main totalisator building (TAB) at the Awapuni Racecourse. The decision to begin race meetings in Palmerston North was made at a meeting of sportsmen in October 1880. D H McArthur was to be President. The first race couse was situated at the end of Park Road and met there from July 1883 until 1903 when the Awapuni Race course was brought into commission (due to erosion at the previous site). A branch railway was laid in 1905 to carry patrons from Palmerston North to the race course.

 
Stacking oats, Feilding area

Stacking oats, Feilding area

A group of men stacking oats into two large piles on a farm in the Feilding area.

 
Te Manawa Art Gallery,

Te Manawa Art Gallery,

Te Manawa is Palmerston North's Museum of Art, Science and History. In 1996 sculptor, Elizabeth Thomson, was commissioned by the Manawatu Art Gallery Society to create this sculpture paid for by the Gertrude Raikes Bequest. The bronze painted sculptures are a set of four insects.

 
Corner of Maxwell's Line and Pioneer Highway, in flood

Corner of Maxwell's Line and Pioneer Highway, in flood

The land at this corner (underwater in the photograph) has since been subdivided and many houses built on it, as well as Pioneer Reserve. The Women's Division Federated Farmer's Rest Home was the former 'Shalimar' homestead. It was burnt down in 1958.

 
A Busy Street Scene on Main Street West

A Busy Street Scene on Main Street West

This photograph shows a bustling street scene on Main Street West. The advertisement for the Convent Carnival dates this to sometime in 1905 - the carnival itself took place in early November. A crowd has gathered outside Childs Commercial Hotel and the clothes worn by the women are an interesting example of the less constricting fashions of the early 1900s.

 
Laying of 36" Sewer pipe

Laying of 36" Sewer pipe

Mr Bill Hughes (Borough Foreman) is standing on the left (with hat), J R Hughes is standing on right (wearing a suit). J R Hughes was Borough Engineer from 1919-1937. This photograph appears to be taken beside the old sewage ponds at Awapuni.

 
Otaki area

Otaki area

A view looking north from Otaki showing the Main Road to Palmerston North and Tararua Mountains in the distance.

 
Opiki Tennis Club

Opiki Tennis Club

Photographed outside the old Opiki Hall. B A Norman, front row far right; Jack Percy, third from right, back row; Mrs Percy, fourth from right, back row; Mrs Fred Nagel, sixth from right,back row; Mrs George Larsen, sitting (front row with white hat) sixth from right.

 
Graveyard at Monrad farm, Karere

Graveyard at Monrad farm, Karere

Property of Bishop Monrad, former Prime Minister of Denmark and family. Translated from Danish on rear of photograph, and written by Olga Monrad, daughter in law of Bishop Monrad: ”The little enclosure where my little boy is buried. We have made it smaller and the fence tighter to guard against the sheep, and have planted flowers. It is situated close by the lagoon [to the right]. The fine trees that seem leafless are manuka. The leaves look like myrtle, but [are] very fine, like a cloud, and yet foliage, at Yuletide [is] snow white with myrtle like flowers. It is on this side of the lagoon. When standing in the garden [back] door you face it. At the end of the garden is the sheep lain (paddock) surrounded on all sides by the lagoon.” The little boy spoken of was Arne, second son of Viggo, Bishop Monrad older son, and his wife Olga. Arne died on 14th April 1868 aged two weeks.

 
Wool press in woolshed, Bunnythorpe

Wool press in woolshed, Bunnythorpe

Wool press in the woolshed of "Matusbara", A S Aldrich's farm near Bunnythorpe, north of Palmerston North. The “Matsubara” homestead of Mr G H Aldrich was located two miles out of Bunnythorpe, on the Bunnythorpe – Ashhurst road. The homestead was built about 1888 and destroyed by a fire in the late 1910s.

 
Studio Portrait of Two Soldiers from the South African War

Studio Portrait of Two Soldiers from the South African War

The seated solider is Frederick Chafe Kennedy, of Palmerston North. The person standing is unidentified - possibly Frederick's brother Isaac. Frederick Chafe Kennedy was awarded the King's Medal which signified that he completed 18 months service in South Africa before 1 June 1902.

 
Colour Postcard of The Square

Colour Postcard of The Square

This postcard shows The Square in the early 1900s with Main Street running off at centre top. During this time the railway ran down the centre of Main Street and through the centre of The Square, as seen behind the band rotunda. Prominent features of this postcard are the original band rotunda (centre left), built 1899 and moved to the Victoria Esplanade in 1907 and replaced, and the old Chief Post Office built in 1906(corner of Main Street East and The Square) now Highflyers Restaurant and Bar.

Load Items 31 to NaN