Found 32 results

Narrow search resultsHideFilters

 
Rugby Team

Rugby Team

Possibly the Oroua team. Sam Hart (?) far right, back row (son Vernon farmed Umutoi between Schools and Pipiti)

 
Lido Swimming Centre, Park Road

Lido Swimming Centre, Park Road

The Lido, Palmerston North's public swimming baths, was opened in October 1966, to replace the Municipal baths in Ashley Street. This postcard depicts the main outdoor pool as it was in the 1970s.

 
Christian Petersen Driving a Horsecart

Christian Petersen Driving a Horsecart

Christian Petersen was an early Mauriceville wood-carrier, and is shown here transporting timber for the new homes of the settlement.

 
His Majesty's Theatre

His Majesty's Theatre

His Majesty's Theatre opened on 6 February 1911. Charles Blackbourn, building contractor, is in the black suit on the left, standing on the scaffold. Blackbourn's building firm collapsed during the depression, after which he drove a taxi while his brother, Albert Blackbourn (who had worked with him), started out on his own account. It was then used as a skating rink, auction rooms and for storage until returning to theatre use, at first as the Paramount, then the De Luxe (1924-30). It continued use as the De Luxe Skating Rink, the De Luxe Dance Hall, the Coconut Grove Dance Hall (1936-42), ANA Dance Hall, George Street Dance Hall and eventually the Ballroom Astoria from approximately 1948-84. The ballroom was demolished in 1984 but the façade remains. It now the frontage for retail shops. (2004).

 
Woman paddling a dugout canoe on Jones' Lagoon, Karere

Woman paddling a dugout canoe on Jones' Lagoon, Karere

The Jones property, on the Karere Road was formerly owned by Ditlev Monrad.

 
Opening of Ashhurst Bridge

Opening of Ashhurst Bridge

Crowds gather for the opening of the new Ashhurst Bridge was opened 9 June 1909 by His Excellency the Governor General. The former bridge was washed away in the 1895 flood. Due to a dispute about the funding of a new bridge, a punt was used to ferry vehicles and people across the Manawatu River 1895-1909. This bridge was replaced by a concrete structure in 1969.

 
Boxing Day Meeting, Awapuni Racecourse

Boxing Day Meeting, Awapuni Racecourse

A crowd is assembled for the Boxing Day Meeting at the Awapuni Racecourse. The probably photographer is Reginald Thorrold Jaggard. He and his wife were frequent attendees of the races at Awapuni Racecourse.

 
Grey Street in flood

Grey Street in flood

The flood waters shown here on Grey Street and unidentified corner.

 
Visit of the Imperial troops to Palmerston North

Visit of the Imperial troops to Palmerston North

The Imperial Troops arrived in Palmerston North by train. After disembarking they paraded at the Showgrounds, where a large crowd watched.

 
Rangitikei Street

Rangitikei Street

The photographer is standing on the corner of Queen Street, looking towards Cuba Street and The Square. On the left of the photograph can be seen the two-storey, brick building occupied by Dawick's Buffet, now the Royal Tavern. On the corner of King Street and Rangitikei Street can be seen the two-storey, wooden, Phoenix Hotel, which was replaced by the Hotel Imperial in 1911. On the right is the two-storey brick building erected in 1903 by the N.Z. Loan & Mercantile Agency Ltd, The "Manawatu Carriage Works" (John Bett & Co Ltd) and the adjoining hardware business of Manson & Barr. The two-storey, wooden building on the corner of Cuba Street was replaced in 1927 by the present National Bank building. There is a vacant section on the opposite side of Cuba Street and then comes the three-storey brick building occupied by the Clarendon Hotel. The top storey of this building was removed after the 1931 earthquake. In the centre distance can be seen the band rotunda (on the site of the present clocktower) and the then two storey Bank of New Zealand, on the corner of Fitzherbert Avenue and The Square.

 
Feilding Civic Centre, Aorangi Street

Feilding Civic Centre, Aorangi Street

The building in Aorangi Street through to Stafford Street was completed in February 1957. The centre housed a large auditorium and catered for a wide variety of indoor sports. In 1954 a Queen Carnival was held to help raise funds, and this, combined with other monies, contributed £26,309 towards the £60,000 estimated cost of construction. Published in "Feilding, the First Hundred years', Manawatu Evening Standard supplement 20 February 1981.

 
Culling's General Store and Post Office, Pohangina Valley

Culling's General Store and Post Office, Pohangina Valley

Culling's General Store once served as Post Office and Telephone Exchange for the Pohangina Area. It was later used as a hay barn.

 
Railcar Crash at Milson

Railcar Crash at Milson

This rail crash occurred two km from the Palmerston North Railway Station on the run to Wellington. The only injuries sustained were those of the driver Mr Mayo while the seven passengers and Wally Wallbutton escaped unscathed. Railways General Manager Mr Trevor Hayward came to the conclusion that the accident was due to the driver speeding as he entered the junction points. See Manawatu Evening Standard 27 August 1981.

 
Inauguration of the first commercial air service from Palmerston North

Inauguration of the first commercial air service from Palmerston North

The Honourable F. Jones, Postmaster General, cuts the ribbon at the inauguration of the first commercial air service between Palmerston North and Dunedin, watched by a large crowd. The ceremony took place at Milson Aerodrome, Palmerston North. The aircraft is “Karoro” (ZK-AEG), which flew the first service, operated by Union Airways of NZ Ltd.

 
Local Body Representatives

Local Body Representatives

Shown here is a function conducted by the Manawatu Board of Control regarding the widening and straightening of the Manawatu Gorge. Mr J.A. Nash is speaking and immediately in front of him is Hon. J.G. Coates, Minister of Public Works.

 
Engine room, Miranui Flaxmill, near Shannon

Engine room, Miranui Flaxmill, near Shannon

The Miranui Flaxmill, near Shannon, was the largest built in New Zealand, in 1907. Workers stand beside two gas engines which drove the scutching machines at the mill.

 
Palmerston North Boys' High School

Palmerston North Boys' High School

This photograph shows the main entrance to Palmerston North Boys' High School in Featherston Street in the late 1930s. The school opened in 1902. The original school burnt down in 1910 and was replaced by a brick structure.

 
Hauling a damaged threshing mill up a hill, Mt Biggs Road

Hauling a damaged threshing mill up a hill, Mt Biggs Road

This threshing mill, owned by the Matthews Brothers of Mt Stewart, got out of control when it was on its way to thresh some crops on Mr John Young’s farm, Mt Biggs Road. The damaged engine was hauled up the hill by two traction engines using wire ropes. The mill was repaired on the Matthews’s farm and was operating again within a week. The traction engine on the far left was owned by Matthew Brothers and the other was owned by Gifford and Henson, local contractors.

 
Armistice Day parade in Rongotea

Armistice Day parade in Rongotea

Armistice Day celebrated the end of World War One, and remembered those members of the armed forces who were killed during World War One. In Rongotea 8oo people joined a torchlight pardeThis parade is passing the Town Hall on its way through the township of Rongotea.

 
Conference of Town Clerks

Conference of Town Clerks

Town Clerks, from left: L.F. Foote (Bluff); N.C. Harding (Hastings); J.R. Hardie (Palmerston North); C.R. White (Wanganui).

 
Construction of the Second Fitzherbert Bridge

Construction of the Second Fitzherbert Bridge

This photograph shows the southern most span of the second Fitzherbert Bridge under construction. This bridge was in use until 1986 when the third Fitzherbert Bridge, still in use today, was constructed due to increasing traffic constraints.

 
Palmerston North Volunteer Fire Brigade

Palmerston North Volunteer Fire Brigade

The Palmerston North Volunteer Fire Brigade Service was first set up in 1877, running until 1879. It was re-established in 1883. From left, Top row: Firemen J Richardson, E Humphries; Messenger J Kelly; Firemen E Hitchings; H H Hutchinson; W I Hall; Station Keeper E J Little.Third row: Firemen W Turner; J Kennedy; W Mugridge; Branchmen E A Fearnly; F de Luen; Firemen B Chandler; W Graham; J Wickliffe.Second row: Firemen A Short; P Milverton; Foreman W S Hart; Lieutenant W A Browing; Superintendent A Tingey; Foreman W H Barnard; G Canton; Secretary N H Nash; Fireman C S Rush.Front row: Firemen A Hosking; J McCall; P McCarty; Branchman P Dixon; Fireman J McNicol.

 
Engine Sheds, Corner of West Street and Pioneer Highway

Engine Sheds, Corner of West Street and Pioneer Highway

Engine sheds on the left (backing on to West Street). A Four-Square supermarket is on the right. This photograph is part of a series shot from a moving train. See also 2014N_St47_008750, 2014N_St47_008751 and 2014N_St47_008752.

 
Watchorn's staff picnic

Watchorn's staff picnic

A picnic held for the Watchorn general store, at Pohangina Reserve, On this occasion tables were set out inside.

 
The East Corner of The Square

The East Corner of The Square

This postcard looks from Main Street East to Church Street. The building second from left is the United Farmers' Cooperative Association, which occupied the building from 1895-1908. Millar and Giorgi's building was opened in 1902. The second building was erected after a fire in 1910. In front of the UFCA building is the Kind Edward Coronation Memorial, now know as the Coronation Fountain. It was built in 1904 to mark the coronation of King Edward VII. It has been moved several times - once to the corner of the Square near the City Library to make way for the War Memorial (built 1925) and again in 2005 to the corner of the Square near Broadway Avenue.

 
Aerial view of Palmerston North

Aerial view of Palmerston North

This photograph is one of the earliest aerial views of Palmerston North. The Square can be seen in the centre of the photograph, with the railway yards just beyond The Square. the Manawatu River is at the top of the photograph.

 
Main Post Office, The Square

Main Post Office, The Square

This building was Palmerston North’s fourth Post Office, operating from 1906-1988. It was extended towards Broadway and up Main Street in the early 1920s and in 1937. It was originally built with a clock tower but this was removed in 1942 for safety reasons and the clock and chimes were re-housed in the ‘new’ clock tower in The Square in 1957. This view shows the side that is on Main Street East.

 
Women working at Manawatu Knitting Mills

Women working at Manawatu Knitting Mills

Women staff work machinery used in the manufacture of knitted goods. The Manawatu Knitting Mills' Ltd, founded by John Stubbs c1888, was situated in Main Street, Palmerston North.

 
Manawatu and West Coast Agricultural and Pastoral Association buildings, Cuba Street

Manawatu and West Coast Agricultural and Pastoral Association buildings, Cuba Street

The A & P Association was set up in Palmerston North in 1886, and the first show held that year.

 
Army Truck in 1953 Flood

Army Truck in 1953 Flood

An Army truck ploughs through the raging flood waters covering Napier Road, at the James Line intersection, during the January 1953 flood. See ‘A Time of Transition’ by Val Burr, page 86. See Also: Ian Matheson City Archive Research File A175/ 316

Load Items 31 to NaN