Photograph shows flooding of the new housing are in Takaro, including Clausen Crescent and Featherston Street.
A photograph in the same set as this was published September 1928 in the Manawatu Daily Times over the news heading "Steering a Plane". The caption underneath reads, "The Southern Cross at Sockburn - a photograph specially taken showing the huge wing-spread of the airplane which carried Kingsford-Smith and his companions to success in the trans-Tasman flight". The Southern Cross, piloted by Kingsford Smith, also landed in Palmerston North in 1933.
The Central Hotel is visible on the right of this postcard of the Square from around 1908. The Central Hotel was built in the 1890s on the corner of Andrew Young Street and Main Street (having relocated from The Square). The business continued until 1969. To the left is the railway line that once ran down Main Street. The focal point of the postcard is a man driving a horse and cart.
The Gorge road opened in 1872, and in 1875 the Government established a tollhouse at the Woodville end to defray the cost of maintaining the road. In 1912 tolls were abolished, the tollhouse was demolished and the small settlement which grew up around the tollhouse disappeared. The telegraph pole on the left of the bridge shows that this photograph was taken after 1879 and the absence of the railway line indicates it was before 1891.
Stanley Roche (right) with Grace Morton, aged 82, at the launch of her book “Foreigner'. 'Foreigner' was written about Grace Morton and her life in China and Europe. In later life she settled in Palmerston North.
This view of The Square was probably taken from the top of the Grand Hotel. Some of the visible landmarks are The Lakelet, the cannons, the band rotunda, the observatory and the Te Peeti Te Awe Awe statue.
The small triangular reserve at the junction of Main Street, Park Street and Avenue Road was originally the site of Maori meeting house. In c1899 the reserve was enclosed with a white post and black chain fence, as seen here. The Returned Soldiers Association built a concrete surround and Fallen Soldiers Memorial on the site in 1920.
Joseph Beale was a well known farmer in the Palmerston North district, owning land at Fitzherbert West and also at Longburn. He was involved with the establishment of the Gear Meat Company in Wellington during the 1880s, and the Longburn Freezing Works in 1890. In 1899 he moved to Queensland, Australia, and was involved in the establishment of the diary industry in the Oakey district, where he died in 1906.
From left: Back - I Walther, M McKenzie, E Secker, J Koehler, F Fowler, D Hopkirk. Front - H Bett, M Permain (Vice-Captain), O Bett (Captain), I McKenzie, M Hopkirk. Absent - H Park. The school was opened in Fitzherbert Avenue in 1920. Previously girls and boys were educated together at Palmerston North High School.
From left, Back Row: A. Anderson (Sec), J. Cameron, A. Sanson, B. Poneke, E. Gust, K. Marsh, W. Gust, M. Griffin, E. Arnott (Selector). Middle Row: H. Howell, R. Nichol, G. Goldfinch, L. Staite (Captain), K. Vile, D. Sanson. Front Row: L. Knight, S. Ross, T. Lawton, B. Algar.
"Totara Reserve" is the popular name of the 740 acre public reserve situated on the east bank of the Pohangina River and officially known as Pohangina Valley Domain. Since 1947, this reserve has been owned by the Palmerston North City Council. The photographer is Charles E Wildbore (1862-1937), who came to New Zealand from England in 1874. He was a bee keeper, dairy farmer and a well-known amateur photographer in the Pohangina Valley during the period 1890s-1920. He married Jane Emily Dallison in 1888 and they had 13 children.
The company was formed in 1897 and manufactured butter under the brand name of “Red Rose’. It amalgamated with the Rongotea Co-operative Dairy Company Limited in 1960 to form the Manawatu Co-operative Dairy Company Limited.
The first St Peters Anglican Church was built on Ruahine Street, opposite the Broadway Avenue intersection inn 1902. Choristers, from left.Back Row: Porteous; Unknown; Gladys Hudges. Third Row: Charlie Kuhtze; Rhoda Sollitt; Mrs. Porteous; Unknown; Mrs. Moore; Eda Koehler; Unknown; Unknown.Second Row; Unknown; Unknown; Unknown; Unknown; (some are the Misses Linton); Stanton (?); Mrs. Mansford; Dury; Unknown.Front Row; Unknown; Unknown; Unknown; Unknown; Mr. Ali Mansford; Max Kuhtze; Unknown;.
Wd 360 was derailed at Halcombe on 14 November 1902. It was a 'special' train running from Wanganui to Palmerston North to the West Coast and Manawatu A&P Show. There were 290 people on board. Only minor injuries were incurred in the accident.
This is a standing chop, with four men standing on the planks wedged into the tree trunk. This photograph was possibly taken on C M Miller's farm at Apiti. The men are unidentified.
This view of the scheme shows constuction of the power house underway. The Mangahao Power Station is a hydroelectric power station near the town of Shannon, Horowhenua. After being delayed by World War One, access roading and foundation testing was started by late 1919 and the station opened in November 1924. It makes use of Mangahao River, through a series of tunnels and piplines totaling 4.8 kilometers, in the Tararua Ranges. Mangahao Power Station became the power station for Wellington, Horowhenua, Taranaki, Hawkes Bay, and the Wairarapa. As of 2012, it is jointly owned and operated by Todd Energy and King Country Energy.