Alexander McMinn was the founder of the 'Manawatu Daily Standard' (forerunner of the Manawatu Standard), the first daily paper published between Wellington and Wanganui, which produced it’s first issue on 29th November 1880. The newspaper was sold to Frederick Pirani in 1891. Archibald McMinn was said to be a compositor–typesetter. From left. Standing : Leslie McMinn; Gordon McMinn; Archibald McMinn; Garnet McMinn. Seated: Alexander McMinn, F Alex McMinn and Lassie the dog. Leslie, Gordon, Archibald, Garnet and F Alex were all sons of Alexander.
On the eve of the Springbok vs Manawatū Rugby match at the Showgrounds, army engineers from Linton moved into the grounds under the cover of darkness to ring the Oval with rolls of barbed wire.
The Queen and Prince Philip visited Palmerston North on Saturday February 26th, 1977. In this photograph, the Queen and Prince Philip are seen talking with Councillor and Mrs Gordon Kear at Milson Airport before departing to Wellington.
This building was owned by George Matthew Snelson, the first storekeeper, auctioneer and land agent in Palmerston North. It stood on the western side of The Square between Coleman Place and Main Street west, the site now occupied by the City Library (2009).
This photograph shows the handiwork of students under Mr Stephenson. Some of the items pictured are ladders, a cabinet and sets of shelves. The photographer, Charles Wildbore, was a well known local, amateur photographer during the early years of the 20th century. See the 75th Jubilee Booklet of the Pohangina and Mt Richards School (1963) for a brief history of the Technical School.
Although thought to be 1897 it is more likely that this photograph relates to the flood of 1894, when the Kiwitea Bridge was destroyed. The newspaper report of 1894 reads 'The damage at the Kiwitea bridge has been most disastrous, and the aspect there is anything but a pleasant one. What remains of the structure is at present in mid-stream, and there is a gap of about 200 feet between it and the banks on the Feilding side, with a straight drop of ten feet from the banks into the river bed! A large area of land has been scoured out on both sides of the bridge, and the willow protective works have been completely carried away.' The Kiwitea Bridge was rebuilt in 1896 and damaged again in the flood of 1897 but not as severely.
Pioneer Highway was originally Foxton Line. The name was changed in 1955 as a memorial to the city's pioneers of many nationalities who arrived by this route, which was the only means of access at the time except by canoe up the river. 664 and 666 Pioneer Highway are the first two houses from the left. This photograph is part of a series shot from a moving train. See also 2014N_St47_008750, 2014N_St47_008751 and 2014N_Rm27_007848.
The Municipal Opera House of Palmerston North, designed by F J Wilson and built by J Trevor and Sons, was erected in 1904-1905 and opened 12 July 1905. In 1952 it was condemned unsafe by the Palmerston North City Council and was strengthened and remodelled both inside and out in 1955. It was sold by the PNCC to a businessman in 1996 and demolished.
In 1980 three old houses at the southern end of the hospital, on Ruahine Street, were renovated to accommodate District Nurses, Therapists and other administrative Staff who make up the extra-mural services. Dr. Robert England, from Yorkshire, England, was appointed by the Hospital Board to set up the centre and to co-ordinate its activities. The centre began operation in May of 1980.
This photograph shows the main entrance to Palmerston North Boys' High School in Featherston Street in the late 1930s. The school opened in 1902. The original school burnt down in 1910 and was replaced by a brick structure.
Shown here are the large pipelines entering the basement and reinforcing for concrete within the Power House construction. The Mangahao Power Station provides hydroelectric power and is situated near the town of Shannon. It serves Wellington, Horowhenua, Taranaki, Hawkes Bay, and the Wairarapa. After being delayed by the first world war construction began in late 1919 and the station opened in November 1924.
The ‘Hennessey’ was a floating dredge purchased by the Foxton Harbour Board in the 1920s. As seen in this photograph, the Hennessey is on the Manawatu River near the ‘Awa’ flaxmill (on the left) near Foxton.
Photograph of an Edwardian Christmas card sent by Alick to Chris. Staff names are printed inside the card opposite the photograph. Back row: A.G. Robertson, F. Brennan, M.H. Ryan, W. Young, R. Pittaway, T. Evans, W. Ames. 2nd row: D. Reid, W. Rennie, D. Fraser, F. Rogers, D. Michie, G. Messer. 3rd row: W. Highet, A. Hardy, G.D. Cameron, R. Peattie, C.W. Turvey, R. Penny. Front row: W. McLean, W. Rennie junior, A.R. Allan, F. Whittleson. Absent: J.H. Wallace, M. Carruthers, W. Everest, J. Campbell, R. Lindsay, J. McDonald, W. Hopkins.
Front row, from left: P. Black, City Curator (2nd); J.R. Hardie, Town Clerk (4th); James A Nash (5th); J.R. Hughes, City Engineer (6th)
Samuel Jickell, shown here on the far right at the foot of the construction, was Palmerston North Borough Engineer from 1904-1919. This dam was originally completed in 1907 but was raised to 50 feet in 1912. It was officially opened February 17 1913. This enlarged dam remained in use until 1957 when a 100 ft high dam was constructed.
This engineering display was to show Engineering Officers and Senior Officers the capabilities of equipment used by the New Zealand Army. The building of an infantry assault bridge, across the lake at Linton Camp, was part of the display.