Child’s Commercial Hotel was situated on the corner of The Square and Main Street West. This building replaced the original hotel, built in 1882 and burnt down in 1900. It was demolished in 1935 to be replaced by a third Commercial Hotel, which in turn was demolished in May - June 1986. The site currently houses the House of Travel (2020).
Child Brothers Ltd, Carriers and Fuel Merchants, was established in 1919 by Edward G Child and his sons, W J Child & E W H Child. They opened the metal crushing depot and plant at the end of Albert Street near the Manawatu River c1927. The business later became known as Child Metal Ltd.
Kelvin Grove Cemetery and Crematorium is situated on 36 hectares of park-like surroundings on James Line just outside of Palmerston North. The cemetery was opened in 1927 to replace the older Terrace End Cemetery and the Crematorium and Chapel were added in 1957.
A civic welcome to Lord and Viscountess Galway in May 1935 after Lord Galway succeeded Lord Bledisloe as Governor General of New Zealand on 12 April 1935. He is shown here being greeted by Mayor Augustus Edward Black. Lord Galway retired from New Zealand on 3rd of February 1941.
In 1952, Palmerston North celebrated 75 years since being proclaimed a Borough. A parade of decorated floats was part of the week long celebrations. This float was entered by Hodder and Tolley.
Craiglockhart was built in 1890 for Charles John Monro and was situated on a property of fifty-one acres across the river from Palmerston North. The house was named after the Monro's county estate in Scotland. Mary Monro is in the trap in the middle distance. The house under construction on the left is 'Wharerata', which was built in 1901 for Mr & Mrs Arthur Russell. Both Craiglockhart and Wharerata are now owned by Massey University.
Shown here are some of the pipes starting to be bolted into position upon the floor of the Power House. The Mangahao Power Station provides hydroelectric power and is situated near the town of Shannon. It serves Wellington, Horowhenua, Taranaki, Hawkes Bay, and the Wairarapa. After being delayed by the first world war construction began in late 1919 and the station opened in November 1924.
This photograph was taken on the corner of Cook Street and Main Street West, and looks towards and beyond The Square. On the left is the Railway Land Reserve. This land formerly held the Railway Station and yards, that were removed in 1964 when the deviation of the line to the edge of Palmerston North was finally completed.
This second dam on the Turitea Stream was opened in 1907. In 1912, its height was raised to 50 feet. The man in the photograph is Mr Samuel Jickell, who was the Palmerston North Borough Engineer at the time.
William Davis senior's wife Maria holds her grandson, child of Mary Derham (nee Davis) and Edgar Derham. Edgar came from Bristol, England and lived at Carnarvon prior to his marriage to Mary. They settled at Te Horo after the marriage, where this child was raised.
Major B.A. Norman (at left) of the 6th Manawatu Mounted Rifles who lived at various times in Opiki and Ashhurst. The name of the Senior Sergeant Major is unknown. The 6th (Manawatu) Mounted Rifles was formed on March 17, 1911. They were mobilised during the Great War as a squadron of the Wellington Mounted Rifle Regiment.
John Rainbow Stansell was the proprietor of Whyte’s Hotel situated in Main Street, Foxton. It contained thirty rooms, plus a bar and private parlour used by the family. There were two private sitting-rooms upstairs and three parlours on the Ground Floor.
The Ballance River bridge at the eastern end of the Manawatu Gorge was designed by James Fulton and opened by the Premier, Richard John Seddon in 1904. The bridge was built using a double intersection Pratt truss with a small version at the south end, in a combination of steel and wood. The bridge was demolished and replaced 23 February 1972.
This postcard looks down Church Street probably from the top of All Saints Church to the corner of Church Street East and The Square. To the left is the Statue of Te Awe Awe (constructed 1907). The buildings on The Square include: A Stanton's confectionary; Millar and Giorgi (built in 1902, rebuilt after a fire in 1910); John Ross and Company; Swallow's bookshop; A Turner, painter and decorator (on Maple Corner), who also owned the Club Hotel. On Church Street East, the Opera House is just visible (built 1904-1905), as is St Andrews Church (the building with the 6 little arched windows in the roof). The Occidental Hotel is the building towards the centre of the postcard with a clock tower.
Standing, from left: Miss Broome (Young Children), Mrs Wood (Matron), Miss Fraser (Principal), Miss Hudson (Music and Modern Languages - French and German). Seated, from left: Miss Hull (m. Mr Southey-Baker; replaced by Miss Tendall), Miss Krule (English Teacher).
The first school at Newbury, near Palmerston North, was established in 1878, with a roll of 49 pupils, and enlarged in 1881. The school was originally known as Taonui School but was changed to Newbury in 1904 owing to confusion with the Feilding School of that name. The first teacher was J C Hill.
Palmerston North City Councillors and Library staff at the morning tea held to thank the Housebound Volunteers for their work. From left: John Bolt, City councillor; Robyn Leeming, City Councillor; Marie Moncrieff, Librarian in Charge of Housebound Service; Ian Malcolm, City Librarian