The CM Ross hockey team: Back row, from left: Miss J Glendhill, Miss W Boon, Miss W McFennan, Miss E Pickering, Miss E Skinner. Middle row: Mr Stebbing (dress material buyer), Miss F Browning, Miss B Crawford, Miss M Skinner, Mr J Whitehead (head window-dresser), Miss Patchett (buyer for women's underclothing dept). Front row: Miss P Flemming, Miss K Williamson (later Mrs Bill Paton), Miss H Farland.
The Technical School main building on Duke Street (now Princess Street) was built in 1909. In 1931 the main building was strengthened and the gables were removed. The Palmerston North Technical School occupied the building until 1956. It is now used by the Universal College of Learning(UCOL).
A week of activities were held in March 1952 to mark 75 years of the Borough of Palmerston North. On the Wednesday, following the re-enactment of the first train at Palmerston North, a parade of vehicles through the ages was held at the Showgrounds, which included this automobile. The individuals are: (back seat, left to right), Michael Judd, Beverley Judd, Rita Judd; (front seat, left to right), unknown, Rita Judd (senior).
The Baptist Church was established in Palmerston North in 1894, and a hall built on this site in 1895. The Central Baptist Church, designed by Clere and Clere, replaced the original building, being dedicated on 17 October 1928. In 1982 the building was considered too small and it was sold to the Operatic Society and became the Abbey Theatre.
An aerial view, looking north, of the Palmerston North Public Hospital. The unfinished building on the left is the laundry extensions being undertaken at the time.
The Occidental Hotel was erected c.1887 and was destroyed by fire in 1891. A second Occidental Hotel erected on the same site, was also burnt down in 1927. On the far left is the Club Hotel. The four two-storey buildings in the centre of the photograph were also destroyed by fire in 1891.
Australian Naval Officers pictured with the Mayor, A.E. Mansford (suited, centre front), Joe Hodgens, Member of Parliament for Palmerston North 1935-1946, and others, on the steps of the Main Building, Massey Agricultural College (now Sir Geoffrey Peren Building, Massey University). The visit occured during WWII when a military Staff College was located at Massey.
Sir Charles Kingsford Smith and crew of the 'Southern Cross', a Fokker F. VII Trimotor aircraft, were delayed in Palmerston North for several weeks after the aeroplane's wing was damaged during taxiing at Milson Aerodrome 4 February 1933.
Watchorns Limited was a department store, founded in 1923 as Watchorn and McNaught, 162-163 The Square, Palmerston North. By the mid 1930s it was Watchorns Limited at 162 The Square.
This photograph shows part of the Mangahao river. The Mangahao Power Station provides hydroelectric power and is situated near the town of Shannon. It serves Wellington, Horowhenua, Taranaki, Hawkes Bay, and the Wairarapa. After being delayed by the first world war construction began in late 1919 and the station opened in November 1924.
In all, fifteen men from Rongotea died fighting in World War One. These 15 names were inscribed on an obelisk in Douglas Square, Rongotea, which was dedicated by Viscount Jellicoe, Governor-General of New Zealand 1920-1924. Over 1000 people attended the ceremony. Constable Blaxland is in the background.
A band plays at the official opening of the second Fitzherbert Bridges, built 1933 - 1935. This replaced the original structure built in 1877. It was constructed by Fletcher Construction and remained until 1986 when it proved too small for the volume of traffic, particularly as it serves the main route to Massey University.
A view of the New Zealand Dairy Research Institute building.
Image showing flooding around Hokowhitu Lagoon looking out towards the Manawatū Gorge and Wharite Peak in the background.
Club football was first played in Foxton in June 1880.
There were four main incarnations of Central School - The Original School (corner of Main and Princess Streets, 1872-1890), Campbell Street School (1890-1922), Central School (Featherston Street, built 1922), Central Normal School (became a practice school for teachers college students in 1956). This photograph shows the building in Featherston Street, which had its second storey removed in 1931.
Flax workers at an unidentified Foxton flaxmill.
This unidentified family pose outside their home made from corrugated iron. Utuwai is situated in the Pohangina Valley. Early European settlement (from 1886) saw farmers buying land from the Pohangina Farm Homestead Association. An early gold rush in 1886 may have attracted many people to the area. Gold was not actually found, but many other minerals were abundant - most notably copper.
Oscar Frederick Anderson, who served in World War One, was the son of Mrs H Segren (formerly Anderson, North Street, Palmerston North. He enlisted in the Wellington Mounted Rifles and rose to be Lance Corporal. He died 9 August 1915, at Chunuk Bair, Turley, and is buried there. His name appears on the War Memorial in The Square, Palmerston North.