This appears to be part of hockey team - their uniforms match those of the CM Ross Co. staff hockey team, but there is no indication that they belong to that team. Geoffrey Watchorn is in the front row, from right.
There was a week of events to celebrate Palmerston North being granted Borough status in 1877. On Wednesday a 'Cavalcade of Transport Through the Ages' paraded around The Square. This 1912 Wolsley was the only vintage vehicle which ‘failed’ to complete the course under its own power. It almost fell to pieces in Rangitikei Street and had to be towed the rest of the way (note the tow rope).
A road through the Manawatu Gorge was completed in 1872, allowing for single lane traffic through to Hawkes Bay. By the time of this photograph the road had been widened, bridges had been constructed at both ends and a railway line ran along the opposite side of the Gorge
The foyer of the Palmerston North Library showing the garden, mosaics and stairs ascending to the first floor. This building operated as the public library in Palmerston North from 1965-1996.
'Atawhai' was built in 1908 for Edwin Keiller. It was designed by the architect Natusch and built by Arthur Bennett. The residence had seventeen rooms, plus service rooms, and remained in the Keiller family until 1963 when the Presbyterian Educational Purposes Trust bought the house for a student hostel. It was renamed Fergusson Hall and remains a hostel for students of Massey University at 150 Atawhai Drive(2009).
The milking was done by hand in this cow shed located in the Pohangina Valley. Note the leg-ropes on the cows and the men sitting on box-stools. The shed contains about 15 bays.
John Kennedy was born in Glasgow and came to New Zealand as a young man. He lived in Taonui and North Streets,Palmerston North, and also had land in the Tararuas, possibly a Government lease. He died in Napier around 1916. Matilda Kennedy, nee Mellon, came to New Zealand from Australia and lived on the West Coast. She died in Te Awamutu c1920. Sons, Frederick Chafe Kennedy and Isaac Campbell Kennedy, both fought in the Boer War. From left. Standing: David (c1875-1910); Frederick Chafe; John; Isaac; ?. Seated: Barbara (became Mrs Cowan of Apiti and later Mrs Anderson); John Kennedy; Matilda Kennedy; Elizabeth (became Mrs L Gronn, and later Mrs A Ross). In front: Jessie; Willie.
This image from around 1906 shows pedestrians walking on the roads through the square and railway workers working on the train tracks that once ran through the Square. The buildings, from left, are: The Occidental Hotel (built 1887) was extended when being rebuilt after it was destroyed by a fire in 1891. The extensions can be seen here. It burnt down again in 1927; the Bank of New Zealand was first built in 1878 as a wooden structure - the brick building shown here was built in 1902. This photograph shows it before renovations took place in 1909; The building beside All Saints Church is the Municipal Chambers (now Square Edge). The Council occupied the building from 1900-1945.
Fitzherbert Bridge taken from Palmerston side at 3.30p.m on the day of the flood, looking across to Fitzherbert.
The original Terrace End School was situated in Main Street but its exact locality and original use are not known. Mrs Harvey was the first teacher. In June 1884, the School was moved to Deard's Hall in Main Street and Mr A Matheson was headmaster. He was followed by D.H. Guthrie, C.H. von Blaremberg and T F Fairbrother (by 1893). The School was moved again in September 1885 and again in 1927. Several new buildings were constructed between 1930-1960.
This photograph was taken in the backyard of Maden's house in Medway Street, Rongotea. Arthur owned A Maden's Grocer Co-Op Store, situated on the corner of Douglas Square and Mersey Street from 1927-1931. His truck was also used to ferry children from the surrounding area to Sunday school - allowing their parents to keep an uninterrupted milking schedule.
This photograph shows the corner of Broadway and The Square. The buildings on Broadway, the right are: The Bank of Australia; Temperance and General Mutual Life Society (T&G) Building; Australian Mutual Provident Society (AMP) Building, with the statue on top; Mackay Limited; Leary's Pharmacy; The Manawatu Daily Times office; Progress Building, including the Farmer's Union; Garners Department Store.
The first St Peter's Anglican Church was designed by Mr. Larcomb and built by Mr. Griggs for ₤410 in 1902. It was replaced by the present St Peters in 1961.
This photograph appears to show two tunnels in the bank beside the Mangahao Dam. The Mangahao Power Station provides hydroelectric power and is situated near the town of Shannon. It serves Wellington, Horowhenua, Taranaki, Hawkes Bay, and the Wairarapa. After being delayed by the first world war construction began in late 1919 and the station opened in November 1924.
The aircraft was named the “Tainui” after one of the canoes in the Maori migration to New Zealand. It carried the first all-through air mail from England to New Zealand, with covers being stamped at Mildenhall, Melbourne and Palmerston North. Squadron Leader J D Hewitt, Flying Officer C E Kay and Frank Steward were the first to fly between Great Britain and New Zealand. The official time for the flight was 12hrs 9min, and the average speed was about 130mph.
The caption on the original postcard reads “Among the ferns, Esplanade, Palmerston North N.Z.”.
Architects, Reginald (at left) and William Thorrold-Jaggard, at the site of the Eventide Home, built in 1957. The Eventide Home, designed by the Thorrold-Jaggards, was constructed as a home for 40 elderly people at a cost of $60,000, largely due to the local Society of the Friends of the Aged and community fundraising. In 1961 it was renamed Brightwater Home.
The combined units of the Palmerston North Guards, the Palmerston North Rifles, Manawatu Mounted Rifles, Palmerston North Brass Band and Municipal Brass Band pictured at the annual encampment in the Showgrounds.
The Cyclopaedia of Ne Zealand 1897, lists Thomas Westwood as the proprietor of the Red house Co-operative Sore and a member of the Foxton Borough Council. (Also see 2011P_Fo75_004925)
In 1886 the Government gifted 9.5 acres of land in Cuba Street to the Manawatu and West Coast Agricultural and Pastoral Association, and the first Palmerston North A & P show was held in that year at the newly formed Showgrounds. In 1973 the Grounds were transferred to the Palmerston North City Council and since then have been administered by a Trust. This photograph was taken before May 1977, as on that date the cattle pavilion, top centre of photograph was destroyed by fire. Pascal Street is on the left.