This was the third Palmerston North Court House. The first Court House was constructed in 1874, and replaced in 1881. In 1895 this Court House was built and the second one moved to Church Street for use as the Police Station. This building was short lived as it burnt down in 1897. The fourth Court House remained in use, with additions and alterations, until it was demolished and replaced by a new one, completed in 1988.