"Te Mahoe", College Street
The view of the house on South Street. In 1910 William Park sold “The Wattles' and went to live in a newly constructed 18 room house further along College Street. He named this house, on Section 976, “Te Mahoe”. It stood on the western corner of South Street and College Street. In Mr Park’s time South Street was a cul-de-sac from Ferguson Street and the driveway to “Te Mahoe” ran along the site of the present College Street end of South Street. Mr Park sold the house to the Board of Governors of the Palmerston North High School, and from 1925 to 1938 the building was used as a hostel by Palmerston North Girls’ High School. During World War Two it was occupied by the Army and shortly after the war, about 1950, it was demolished to make way for State houses.