Found 1 result

Narrow search resultsHideFilters

 
Unveiling of War Memorial, Memorial Park

Unveiling of War Memorial, Memorial Park

Marching girls perform for the crowed attening the unveiling ceremony. The obelisk at Fitzroy Park, as it was then called, was unveiled in this ceremony by Major-General Sir Howard Kippenberger. Marching girls performed as part of the occasion. Later, in 1954, the park was dedicated and renamed Memorial Park. The obelisk, in a state of disrepair, was removed in 1983 and now only the gates into the park remain as the memorial.