This building was Palmerston North’s fourth Post Office, operating from 1906-1988. It was extended towards Broadway and up Main Street in the early 1920s and in 1937. It was originally built with a clock tower but this was removed in 1942 for safety reasons and the clock and chimes were re-housed in the ‘new’ clock tower in The Square in 1957. The building is currently used as a bar and cafe. (2015) This commemorative card was created as part of a series of eight replicating scenes of Palmerston North.