This photograph shows the demolition of the top floor of Central School, Featherston Street after the Napier Earthquake in 1931. There were four main incarnations of Central School - The Original School (corner of Main and Princess Streets, 1873-1890), Campbell Street School (1890-1922), Central School (Featherston Street, built 1922), Central Normal School (became a practice school for teachers college students in 1956).
The Technical School main building on Duke Street (now Princess Street) was built in 1909. In 1931 the main building was strengthened and the gables were removed. The Palmerston North Technical School occupied the building until 1956. It is now used by the Universal College of Learning (UCOL).