The girls in this photograph are the boarders at the school. From left: Back - Dorothy Moore, Mary (Mabel?) Ormond, Connie Wheeler, Kitty Martin, Rosa Wheeler, Nola Haybittle, Dorothy Stuckey, Win Stuckey. Third row - Daisy Bagnall, Lorna (Lornie) Monckton (donor), Enid Matthews, Madge Montefiore, Ida White (sitting at lower level), Doris Cargill, Marjorie Hector, Pattie Tennent, Annie Dalyrymple. Front - Mary Harding, Marjorie Heale, Topsy Crawford, Koppy Cargill, Avril Cargill, Marjorie Moore, Lawrie Lethbridge, Evelyn Moore, Treve McHardy and "Bill" the Bulldog.
In February 1910, an approach was made to the Education Department for a grant to establish a school at West End. It was opened 1 July 1913. Structures including a hall, swimming pool and so on were added over the years. The first headmaster was A O Buchler (1913-1922)