Found 1 result

Narrow search resultsHideFilters

 
Postcard of the Square

Postcard of the Square

Built in 1906, the Post Office on the corner of The Square and Main Street was Palmerston North’s fourth. Due to the risks in an earthquake, the clock tower was removed in 1942. They were re-purposed for the Hopwood Clock Tower. In 1988, when Telecom and Postbank became separate entities, the building ceased to be the Post Office. It currently operates as a restaurant and bar. The rotunda in the centre right of the postcard is the original structure - it was moved to the Victoria Esplanade in 1907 to make way for a larger structure. Behind the rotunda is the train line that ran through the Square until after the Milson Deviation was completed in 1959. In 1964 the last passenger train ran through the Square and the tracks were removed. The spire on the far right is that of the Catholic Church, situated in Broad Street.