Found 1 result

Narrow search resultsHideFilters

 
The Square looking from Main Street East to Fitzherbert Avenue

The Square looking from Main Street East to Fitzherbert Avenue

Panoramic view taken from close to the railway line in the centre of The Square, Palmerston North, with Main Street East on the left, the Church Street East corner at centre and Fitzherbert Street (now Avenue) on the right. The photograph was taken before the Te Awe Awe statue (built 1907) and the Millar and Giorgi shop was built in the Square (1902), dating it to sometime before 1902. Buildings include: The United Farmers Co-operative Association Ltd (second from left), established in 1895; the Club Hotel (the lower two-storey building on the other side of the Church Street corner); the second Occidental Hotel, with distinctive tower, on the corner of Fitzherbert Avenue. It was first built in 1887, was burnt down in September 1891 and was replaced by this similar building which was also destroyed by a fire in 1927.