The large gravelled parking area was where the former railway tracks ran down Main Street, before being diverted to the edge of town in the 1960s. to the right can be seen the two storeyed Princess Hotel (see 2008N\_Ho15\_BUI\_1712 and 2011N\_Ho24\_004782. The Princess Hotel, originally built as the Family Hotel by William Deards in 1874, was soon renamed and remained the Princess Hotel for most of its life. In circa 1979 this building was demolished and rebuilt as the Princess Tavern. This section of road is now State Highway 3. The view looks down towards Ruahine Street from about Kauri Street.