Postcard of the band rotunda that was in The Square of Palmerston North. Beyond can be seen the Chief Post Office on the corner of Main Street.
From left. Back Row: H J Smith, Traffic Manager; A M Spilman, Abattoir Manager; P Black, City Curator. Second Row: J R Hardie, Town Clerk, Cr A A Langley; Cr J T J Heatley; Cr J J Stevenson; J W Muir, Electrical Engineer; J Learmonth, Gas Manager. Front Row: CR W B Tennent; C R W B Cameron; CR G Tremaine, Deputy Mayor; His Worship the Mayor, A W Mansford, Esq; Cr R L C Aitchison; Cr J Hodgens, M.P., Cr W Mouldey.
Kate Watchorn was the wife of John Samuel Watchorn, draper of Palmerston North. She died on the 23rd of April 1915 and was buried in Plot 33, Block 17 at Terrace End Cemetery. Her obituary in the Manawatu Times for 4 April 1915 read, "OBITUARY. MRS. J. S. WATCHORN. The many friends of Mrs J. S. Watchorn will sincerely regret to hear of her death which occurred yesterday, after a long illness, during which she underwent three operations, the last on Tuesday of this week. All the best medical skill was unavailing to ensure recovery. The deepest sympathy will be extended to the bereaved husband and family. The deceased lady was highly esteemed by a large circle of friends in this district where she had been resident for thirty years. She was a daughter of Mrs Duncan Sinclair, and leaves two sons, Geoffrey and Nevill, and one daughter, Connie. The funeral will leave the residence, 37 Church Street East, at 3 o'clock to-morrow afternoon."
Foxton doctor who visited Palmerston North until Marriner, the first resident doctor, arrived. He later shifted to Palmerston North, where he died in 1913. See GC Peterson, Palmerston North: A Centennial History, p 105 and 139.
Mr Lockie was associated with the Sunbeam Corporation (formerly Ralta).
One of the events held to celebrate 100 years of Palmerston North was a garden party for ‘Old Identities’, held in the grounds of Caccia Birch House, Te Awe Awe Street. About 350 people attended. From left: Sir Arthur Poritt, Governor General of New Zealand; Mrs Martin.
Taken on the driveway in front of “Woodhey”, Mr Strang’s residence in Te Awe Awe Street, with the stables (Coach House) behind. The property is now known as Caccia Birch house. J. H. Strang owned the property 1903-1921.
This photograph is taken from the south bank of the Hokowhitu Lagoon which is seen in the foreground. Built for Jacob Nannestad, a sawmiller, the house was bought by John Henderson Pollock Strang in 1903. In 1921 it was sold to William Caccia Birch. It remained in the Caccia Birch family until gifted to the Government in 1941. After various uses it was eventually given to the Palmerston North City Council and now called Caccia Birch and serves as a function centre
Club football was first played in Foxton in June 1880.
This photograph is part of a series taken by Thomas Doherty a Steel Construction Worker. The hangar shown here now has the concrete roof and walls in place. Construction of 'barrack' type buildings appears to be underway in the foreground.
Elliot Quarters, at Linton Army Camp, were officially opened on 14 April, 1980. The Quarters are named after the Reverend Keith Elliot VC, who won his Victoria Cross for acts of courage in the Western Desert in 1942.
The camping ground was established in 1925, adjacent to the Victoria Esplanade. It is now called the Palmerston North Holiday Park. Shown here is a caravan and several tents.
Linton Army Camp purchased these 18 ton Mack dump trucks in 1979. They were attached to the Fire Support Squadron at Linton Army Camp, replacing 5 ton Internationals and Bedfords.
The band of the New Zealand Army on parade at Linton Camp. The occasion was the presentation of Long Service and Good Conduct Medals to nine soldiers. Major J Carson escorted the inspecting officer Brigadier, M R Kennedy, MBE.
An engineering display was held at Linton Camp for Army Officers, to show the engineering capabilities of the New Zealand Army.
The underground pedestrian access can be seen in the foreground.
The workmen are digging up a section of Albert Street, Palmerston North.
In the foreground can be seen the Peeti Te Awe Awe statue. Peeti Te Awe Awe (c1820-1884) was a chief of the Rangitāne tribe, and was involved with negotiations and the sale of Maori Land for the opening up of the Manawatu for pakeha settlement. This marble statue was installed in The Square in 1907. The buildings in this photograph are, from left: The Club Hotel; The P.D.C. (built in 1930, current location of the Plaza shopping centre); Pegden's furniture shop; Manawatu Oroua Electricity Board HQ; Foote Brothers (drapers); The Strand Building.
This grader was owned by the Kairanga County Council and used on their roads. The exact locality of this photograph is unknown. Mr Jack Findlay is standing on the grader.
An annual picnic, known as the Mayoral picnic, was organised by the Palmerston North Borough Council. James Nash, Mayor 1908 - 1923, is seated with his wife in the second row, fourth and fifth from right. Nash has a child on his knee.
R Nairne, traffic foreman, ringing the bell at the Main Street Station for the last time as the station closes 20 October 1963.
Henry Garner opened a drapery store in 1906 under the name ‘Kash’, with the first premises being in The Square and later, Cuba Street. In 1937 the store moved to a new building in Broadway, on the former Zealandia Hall site. In the 1960s the store became a subsidiary of Smith & Brown [later Smith City] and in 1988 it shifted to Linton Street. The business closed in 1990.
This tulip tree was planted in 1895 and is listed in the City register of Historic Buildings, Objects and Trees worth preserving.
A scene of The Square as snow is falling, looking towards the Bank of Australasia on the corner of The Square and Broadway. The photographer was Albert Zeinert, a local man who lived in College Street and worked in Hansell's Delicatessen on Broadway. He was interested in photography.
The buildings behind are the PDC (first opened 1915 as the Premier Drapery Company, now the site of the Plaza). The present building was constructed in 1930. The Harley Davidson garage is in the old Nash building - later the building housed the Manawatu-Oroua Electric Power Board)
The motorcycle in the foreground is an Ariel. The riders are unidentified.
The bowling and croquet greens were laid out in 1918-1919 and then leased to the Manawatu Bowling and Croquet Club, which was formed in 1917.
The Bandstand was originally located in The Square but was shifted to the Esplanade in 1907. It was demolished in 1966.
City Council 1962-1965. From left. Back row: Cr T S Mihaere; Cr M T Dearsly; Cr M C Sexton; A M P Hall - Town Clerk; Cr P Kelliher; Cr J A Walding; Cr H A Bodell: C F Hogg - City Engineer. Front Row: Cr T de Cleene, Cr J N Wallace; Cr D T Spring; G M Rennie - Mayor; Cr J A Colquhoun; Cr C W Teppett; Cr D B Black.
A print of this image was created from the original glass plate in 1970, for the centenary celebrations of Palmerston North. It was displayed in the public library and elsewhere, in the hope that someone could identify the young woman. Unfortunately, no solid information was found. The backdrop and prop in this photograph would indicate that the portrait was taken in Mr Shailer's photographic studio in Main Street, Palmerston North.