Found 23365 results

Narrow search resultsHideFilters

 
George Street, Name and History

George Street, Name and History

Name: George

Suburb, Palmerston North Central


George Street is named after the landowner and building contractor who put the street through, Mr George Frederick Roe (1837-1902).

The map is a derivative of this Palmerston North Borough map from 1923.

Mr GF Roe was an early settler in the district. He arrived in Wellington in 1841, with his parents and and six siblings, on the ship Gertrude.

As an adult he served throughout the New Zealand Wars. Arriving in Fielding c. 1872, one of his first contracts was building 40 houses for immigrants to Manchester Block. In those early years he was a local storeowner and agent for the Wanganui Chronicle.

In late 1875, he commenced building a hotel on property he owned in Feilding township. The Denbigh Hotel opened on 12th May 1876, with his brother, Charles Roe, his successor in the endeavour.

Mr G Roe moved to Palmerston North, where a year earlier he had sold the Clarendon Hotel to Mrs Atkinson for £1,400. He was a Palmerston North borough councillor from 1877 to 1880. Within that time he owned the Palmerston Hotel (1877-1879) and was a general storekeeper in partnership, Messrs Roe and Green. The partnership dissolved by mutual consent and Mr Roe was left to settle all debts. Unfortunately he became bankrupt in 1880.

He married Miss Mary Stoneleigh in 1878, and they had three children, Edward Wakefiled b.1879, Arthur George b.1881 and Nina May b.1882. Miss Mary Stoneleigh of Shropshire, England, emigrated to Aotearoa New Zealand in 1873, on the ship Salisbury. She was recorded as a general servant on the passenger list.

Mr and Mrs Roe soon started a new enterprise, Roe's Private Hotel (1881-1883). In 1883, the Roe's sold-up with the intention of moving to the new settlement of Kawhia. However, in 1884, a local newspaper reports Mr Roe suffering a protracted illness in Palmerston North.

It appears that Mr Roe continued in the hotel business and was briefly the proprietor of the Post Office Hotel on Broad Street (later Broadway Avenue), in the 1892-93 rates year. His bankruptcy was announced in 1893.

In September of 1900 the Roe's were living in Taonui Street, when their daughter Nina May died. Mrs Mary Roe died in April two years later. Mr George Roe followed his wife and daughter in May of 1902, at 66 years of age.

History


In 1875 the road was put through at the Main Street end and D.P.27 subdivided. An extension was made through to the Cuba Street end in 1879 under D.P.155.

In September of 1878 The Public Works Committee of the Borough Council accepted the tender of Mr Joseph Nathan, £147, for works in George Street. This was Joseph Edward Nathan, of Joseph Nathan and Co., owners of the agricultural supply firm that evolved into Glaxo. By the end of October 1878 the street was gravelled and had a pathway. With Mr GM Snelson having sold sections for some months prior, shops and houses became established rapidly, and land values soared.

Mr George Mathew Snelson (the first mayor of Palmerston North) and Mrs Louisa Matilda Snelson arrived in Palmerston in December of 1870. They built a general store on the western side of Te Marae o Hine the Square in partnership with Mr EW Mills, Mr Snelson's former employer, an ironmonger in Wellington. Opening in 1871, this was the first store in the township. By 1877, when the George Street sections came on the market, Mr Snelson was an auctioneer and appraiser with auction rooms in Te Marae o Hine the Square.

On October 6 1880, at a Palmerston Borough Council meeting, councillor Ferguson recommended purchase of a right-of-way from Broad Street (later Broadway Avenue) to George Street. Landowners, Mr Hoskings and Mr Darwick, were agreeable to selling ten feet each and councillor Ferguson thought it better to purchase now, than wait some years when prices had risen. The Chairman opposed the proposition, as George Street was initially a private street, not on the map and built on speculation. Furthermore, the developer had ignored suggestions on appropriate street width, and now there was an expectation of public funding to enhance the neighbourhood. Discussion ensued around this and the additional land required to fully open the way, being forty-six feet. According to the Municipal Corporations Act, 1876, the Council was prevented from making any street less than sixty-six feet wide. The proposal was rejected.

In the years following, there were constant issues and complaints about the narrowness of George Street in regard to parking.

The way through was revisited in January of 1883, when councillor Snelson presented a plan to the council of a proposed connection between George Street and the now established Coleman Place. The proposal was carried and the Reserves Committee commenced arrangements in September 1884, advising the Council to draft a clause into The Special Powers Bill giving local authority.

Early residents included


Palmerston North Borough Council Rate Books show that the Snelson’s owned an allotment and house on section 331, (George Street) from 1878. By 1879 they also owned a house and blacksmith shop on section 332. This was recorded as a house and stable the following year. In November 1883 it was reported in the Manawatū Times:

“Mr G. M. Snelson is having substantial additions made to the front of his residence in George street, which will greatly improve the appearance… .”

It was also that year, that section 847 (Fitzherbert Street), first appears listed under George Snelson in the rate books. It is likely that the couple moved to their Fitzherbert Street (later Fitzherbert Avenue) residence around that time and purchased the adjoining section, 848. In 1885 they’d also acquired section 300 (George Street) with house. The Snelson’s kept property in George Street until around 1892. Due to their extensive work in the community, the Snelson’s were later known as the “Father and Mother of Palmerston North.”

A second mayoral couple lived on George Street at the turn of the 20th century. James (Jimmy) Alfred Nash and Elizabeth Lily Grater, nee Keogh, married on Valentine’s Day in 1895. Rate books show that Mr JA Nash purchased allotments on sections 331 and 332 (George Street) that same year. Already operating a store in Te Marae o Hine the Square, Mr Nash established two shops in George Street next to Woodfield’s stables in 1901.

The Nash’s private residence on George Street was advertised to let in June 1906. The couple moved to their newly built house, later named Waimarama, on Alfred Street. Rate books show Mrs Nash as the ratepayer on an allotment of section 169, from 1904-05. In June 1907, Mr Nash sold his shop in Te Marae o Hine the Square to Messrs Paget and Barron and advised he could be contacted at his new business next to the Fire Bell Tower, Coleman Place. In September of the following year, Mr Nash, in partnership with DJ Lovelock, commenced business as Messrs JA Nash and Co., from George Street offices. They were produce, land, estate and general commissioner agents. It was also 1908 that he became mayor of Palmerston North, remaining in office until 1923.

The Nash Buildings, 42-48 George Street, were constructed in 1925 for Mrs Nash. She had purchased the property in 1894, before her marriage to James, with the building remaining in her family until 1978. The building plan was created by Herbert Leslie Hickson, registered architect. The Nash Buildings housed fours shops on the ground floor including confectionary, millinery and clothing; with living spaces upstairs. Additions were made to the Cuba Street end in 1929 to the design of Oscar Albert Jorgensen. This comprised a fifth shop and upstairs residence at 50 George Street. (See also, Built Heritage Inventory, below).

Early business, organisations and clubs included


The Woodfield Stables, also known as Manawatū Stables were established at 23 George Street in 1901. They were owned by Mr Herbert John Woodfield and operated as a livery stable with conveyances for hire. The local fire brigade housed their horses there, with the horse(s) harnessed to a fire cart overnight in case of emergency. The stables hosted experts, including Mr Walter J Bullock equine dentist and GE Owen Veterinary Surgeon. Woodfield’s also offered services, such as horse clipping, on site. In 1904 Mr Woodfield extended his livery business to a second site on Cuba Street. Considerable fire damage occurred to the George Street stables in January of 1911, fortunately no horses were harmed. The remaining wood building was pulled down in 1915. Mr Woodfield had fully established his business on Cuba Street.

Handily located next to the Woodfield Stables at 21 George Street, in 1907, was Mr Wallace John Bruce Jolly, saddler and harness maker. By the early 1920s Mr WJB Jolly expanded into sports goods and restringing of tennis racquets. His store was sold in 1926 after his unexpected death. Next to WJB Jolly, at number 19, were Messrs Swift and Co., land estate agents (established 1905). They were still advertising their business at its George Street location in 1920. In 1908, HJ Lauridsen Blacksmith & Farriers commenced business in a leased shop directly opposite Coleman Place. Hans Jorgen Lauridsen’s family had moved to Palmerston North from Denmark in 1907.

In January of 1904 Messrs Joe Lee & Co., started a laundry in George Street. It remained in George Street for 17 years, with a move within the street when the original structure was demolished for new builds in 1912. In March of 1921 the company moved to Main Street West.

In 1883 the Bon Marche, a general market, drapery and clothing store on the west side of Te Marae o Hine the Square changed hands. Formerly owned by Mr John Coulson Fowler, the new proprietors were CM Ross & Co., and they took over in September of that year. In 1905, extensive additions and improvements were made to the store, including an arcade from Te Marae o Hine the Square to George Street. Fronting George Street were large display windows. The first display was furnishings, as George Street housed the furniture department and, in 1909, the factory. At that stage customers could only access the George Street side via Te Marae o Hine the Square.

This changed in 1916 with the completion of a steel framed concrete building comprised of two storeys on Te Marae o Hine the Square, and three storeys on the Coleman Place and George Street sections. With display windows on Coleman Place, entry was made from Te Marae o Hine the Square and George Street. The latter housing the showroom of the firm.

During 1927 and 1928 CM Ross and Co., built a completely new department store, replacing three of the former buildings. It was called Rosco, and, as previous, could be accessed from Te Marae o Hine the Square and George Street. After Roscos discontinued operations in 1959, the store went through several owners including DIC. In 1991 it was purchased by the Palmerston North City Council and converted into the City Library – opening in 1996.

While George Street catered to shoppers looking for goods and services, it was also home to various national organisations, such as:

  • New Zealand Express Company, moved from the corner of Main and David Streets to George Street in 1906. The company worked from several locations within George Street over the years. In 1935 NZ Express sold their cartage, forwarding and sample rooms at 6 George Street to Child Bros., who made it their head office. In the 1940s the Child Bros. head office moved to 85 George Street.

  • Department of Labour, from 1908 on the corner of Main Street West and George Street. In the 1920s the Department of Labour moved into the Hopwood’s Buildings in Main Street.

  • Returned Services Association, from 1917 the Soldier’s Club was situated on the corner of George and Cuba Streets. (See also, Built Heritage Inventory, below).

  • YMCA, 1936 to 1942. Maintained rooms on the 2nd floor of the Manawatū Building.

George Street was a hub of community entertainment in the form of picture theatres, skate rinks, dance halls and billiard saloons. The later included T Bill’s Billard Saloon, Crown Billiard Saloon, West’s Billiard Saloon and the Commercial Billiard Saloon.

In 1910, some old shops were removed to make way for an indoor skating rink. Building commenced in September of 1910 by Mr TJ Rodgers for Messrs J Fuller & Sons. The finished product would be a hall (the rink especially constructed from heart of matai), dressing rooms, attendant’s rooms and offices. The hall would be used to show pictures out-of-season. There were two entrances from George Street and one from Main Street. Further, three shops would form the frontage in George Street.

For a taste of yesteryear George Street on a Saturday night, read this Back Issues article by Steve Stannard.

This skate rink and picture hall, His Majesty’s Theatre (here in its building stage), was consequently opened in February of 1911 with a 1,750-person capacity. It was referred to by various names, including Fuller’s Hall and Fuller’s Pictures. In 1916 the theatre was leased by Mr W Downey with the intention of converting it to a modern skate rink. His Majesty’s Rink, otherwise known as The Rink, reopened March of 1917.

In 1921 Fuller’s Hall was acquired by Kairanga Auctioneering Co., for storage, display and sale of goods. Stock pens for livestock were built alongside. They also leased part of their space to Mr AC Crossan for his billiards saloon in 1922. Unfortunately, in 1924, the Kairanga Auctioneering Company went into liquidation. In September of that year a tender was accepted from The Palmerston Paramount Pictures Ltd., Company and on the 30th of October 1924, the new Paramount Theatre opened in George Street.

By 1927 this became the De Luxe Theatre. The Skating Rink De Luxe was opened in July 1931. It was also known as the De Luxe Hall, and many dances were held there. In July of 1937 the hall reopened as The Coconut Grove ballroom. From 1942 to 1945 the hall was known as the ANA Dance Hall (Airforce, Navy, Army) housing a club, lounge and patriotic shop. It was then renamed the George Street Dance Hall. It became the Ballroom Astoria around 1948 and remained so until closing in 1984.

A second picture theatre was built in George Street in 1915 on the site previously occupied by Woodfield Stables. The Palace Theatre opened in November 1915 and remained until gutted by fire in 1935. A newly refurbished theatre opened on the same site in 1936, as the Mayfair (you can see the corner of it here), and ran until 1965. As Pauline Knuckey explains in this Back Issues article, the most successful screening was in 1950. Closed for extensive modernisation, the theatre re-opened in December of 1965 and was now called the Odeon. The Mayfair had become part of the Kerridge Odeon Corporation in 1946. The Odeon stayed until its demolition in 1992.

Renumbering


The addresses on George Street were renumbered between 1936 and 1939. See p.124 and p.125 of the Rates Register of Street Numbers - Old and New.

Built Heritage Inventory


Creator
 
Andrew Young Street, Name and History

Andrew Young Street, Name and History

Name: Andrew Young

Suburb, Palmerston North Central


The street is named for Andrew Young (1833-1895), the owner-driver of the first coach service between Foxton and Palmerston North. At a Palmerston Borough Council Meeting on 20 August 1884 the Mayor read a letter from Mr A Young’s agent. It advised that Mr Young wished to have a street laid facing the Masonic Hall, Main Street, running through to Cuba Street. Money to carry out the forming and metalling of said street was available at any time.

The matter of Andrew Young Street was referred to the Public Works Committee and a call for tenders made in November 1884.

The map is a derivative of this Palmerston North Borough map from 1923.

Mr Andrew Young, was born in Dungannon, County Tyrone, Ireland in 1833. He emigrated to Victoria, Australia, in the early 1850s on the ship, South Carolina. Mr A Young first tried his luck as a gold digger at Castlemaine and Bendigo. The Victorian goldrushes also saw the arrival of four Americans – Mr Freeman Cobb, Mr John Murray Peck, Mr James Swanton and Mr John B. Lamber, who established the original Cobb & Company line of coaches in Melbourne, in 1853. In May 1856 the partners sold-up and the business passed through a number of owners.

It was Cobb and Co., under Messrs Highett and Co., who employed Mr Young on his return to Melbourne. He drove coaches between Geelong and Ballarat, until the Ballarat to Melbourne railway was complete. It was here that Mr Young met and married his wife Miss Elizabeth Nott in 1860. She gave birth to their eldest daughter, Selina, in Geelong, in 1862.

In 1861 it was once again the discovery of gold, this time, at Gabriel’s Gully, Otago, that attracted the coaching business. Now under proprietor Mr Charles Carlos Cole, Cobb and Co service and plant (including a stagecoach, wagons, buggies, horses and saddles) travelled aboard the SS India from Melbourne to Dunedin. Operations commenced October 1861. Mr C Cole formed a partnership with brothers, Messrs Charles and Henry Hoyt, the following year, and the company sent for Mr Young around 1863. He was whip on the Tokomairiro line, travelling between Dunedin and Tokomairiro.

The successful coaching venture on Tokomairiro line enabled Mr Young to save money and start a staging line between Christchurch and Hokitika as the agent for Cobb and Co. He achieved this in partnership with fellow driver, Mr WH Shepard (also known as WH Shepperd). In time, they extended to the Wellington province.

In 1869, at the conclusion of the Titokowaru’s War, the partners started a bi-weekly service between Wellington and Whanganui. Mr Young ran the Wellington to Foxton Line, and Mr Shepard the Foxton to Whanganui Line. The partnership dissolved in March of 1871 by mutual consent, with Mr Young retaining the line between Wellington and Whanganui, and Mr Shepard taking the line from Whanganui to New Plymouth.

Mr and Mrs Young rented Flagstaff Cottage in Willis Street, Wellington, and moved in with their children: Selina Wilmot b.1862, William Andrew b.1865, James Frederick Robert b.1867 and John Henry b.1869. Albert Edward was born in February of 1872. In September of that year, architect, Ben Smith, sought tenders for the building of a two storey dwelling for Mr Andrew Young in upper Willis Street, opposite Union Bank. After moving into their home, the Young’s had three more children; Victoria May b.1875, Frank Wellington b.1877, and Ruby May b.1880. They moved to Ellice Street in 1893.

In October of 1871 Mr Shepard had a coaching accident while travelling along a beach near Patea. He was pulled from the cab box when a portion of harness broke, subsequently run over by the coach, and caught in the surf. Mrs Shepard, who was the sole passenger, managed to jump out of the coach and drag her husband from the sea. He died a few days later from his injuries. Mr Young continued the business over the whole line until able to purchase the interest of the late Mr Shepherd in 1872.

The Patea Mail, in December 1885, recounted that it was somewhere in the wilds of Otago, in 1872, that Mr Young and his coach famously faced off with visiting author, Mr Anthony Trollope and his carriage. With a cutting too narrow to pass, the author demanded that Mr Young cede the way. On refusal, Mr Trollope said:

“Sir, do you know who I am?”
Mr Young stated his ignorance and the author set him straight. Mr Young responded:

“Yes, I knew it was some fool or other like that. Well Mr Trollope, my name is Andrew Young, and I give you just one second more, and if you don’t start to back out of this cutting we’ll see your name on a tombstone as soon as your relations take the trouble to put it there.”

Mr Trollope backed out and, interestingly, did not include the incident in his book of travels.

Coaching in those days meant traversing incredibly rough terrain including unformed roads, beaches, and making river crossings by ferry. You can read more on ferry life in this Back Issues article by Val Burr. Sometimes passengers had to get out and push the coach!

Mr Young continued to expand his lines into the North Island. In 1877, knowing that trains would inevitably rise as the main mode of transport, Mr Young made arrangements with the Railways Department to offer trips with a combination of train and coach connections. Customers found they could now travel between Wellington and Napier in a day. In 1877 Mr Young sold his business to Messrs Hall and Henry. He then took overseas trips in 1878 and again in 1884, visiting the United Kingdom and United States. Mr Young was a shrewd businessman. Besides the coaching business, he purchased land in early Palmerston North and had holdings in Whanganui and Wellington. As a result, he retired comfortably.

He was prominent in Wellington municipal affairs as a councillor for both the Te Aro and Lambton Wards between 1880 and 1890. He was a mayoral candidate in 1881 and 1882, missing out in the vote. Mr Young was also involved in a number of community groups. He was First Lieutenant of the Wellington Guards, Vestryman of St. Peter’s parish, and a shareholder in the Te Aro Theatre and Opera House Company. As a keen sportsman and steward of the Wellington Racing Club, he owned and raced several horses. Mr Young was a member of Pacific Lodge of Freemasons until his death.

In 1882 he re-entered the business world, however this time it was unsuccessful. He lost a great deal of money on a line of coaches between Tauranga and Thames, when a road washed out. He unsuccessfully petitioned the Public Petitions Committee for compensation for loss of the mail contract in 1883. Within a decade this particular line was to flourish with the rising mining industry. In 1888 he backed his son, William, in an omnibus business (in opposition to the trams) in Wellington. This failed within two years. Mr A Young narrowly escaped bankruptcy due to negotiating an annulment in 1894.

In 1895 Mr Andrew Young became ill and was diagnosed with cancer of the gullet. He died on the 17th of September 1895, surrounded by his wife and children at their home in Ellice Street. He was interred in the Karori Cemetery.

History


In September of 1884, councillor Sutton motioned, and councillor George seconded, that plans be made for the construction of Andrew Young Street. The resolution passed. By November 1884, Mr RN Keeling, Town Clerk, was calling for contractor tenders.

The street was registered in 1885 and considered a private street, as were Bourke, Campbell, David, Domain and Lombard streets. As such, a loan was authorised to be raised in 1886 to form and metal Andrew Young Street. Allocation of monies was based on pro rata rates paid by the residents of the Ward.

D.P.451, sections 327, 328, 333, and 334 were subdivided in 1889, and Mr A Young started selling the sections and allotments.

It wasn't until 1900 that a drainage scheme was approved for Andrew Young Street. Sewers were laid five years later. By 1906 four sewer connections had been made to residences. Repairs to the composite joining the pipes had to be carried out in 1907, before all connections were completed in 1908. Tarred water tables were then constructed in 1909.

From 1905 the road and footpaths were top-dressed regularly with tar and sand, and in 1922 wooden kerbing was replaced with concrete kerbing and channelling. In 1926 Andrew Young Street was regraded and metalled. In the early to mid-1930s tar and bitumen were applied to the footpath and road down the length of the street.

In 1913 there was talk, initiated by a special committee appointed by the Borough Council, of changing the name from Andrew Young Street to Young Street. This never eventuated.

Early residents included


Mr Henry Mouldey, son of Moses and Eleanor Mouldey, was born in 1833 in Berkshire, England. He emigrated as a young man to Victoria, Australia.

Miss Ellen Stapleton was born in Tiperary, County Ireland. She emigrated with her parents to Victoria, Australia, in 1856, where she met Mr Mouldey. They married in 1859 and came to New Zealand, arriving at Port Lyttelton on the ship Cressy. The couple settled in North Cantebury and farmed there some 20 years. Mr Mouldey then became a bricklayer and owned a brick yard between Rangiora and Fernside.

They had nine children, Deborah Ellen b.1860 , Mary Ann b.1863, George Henry b.1864, Catherine Matilda b.1866, John Moses b.1869, William b. 1871, Henry Edwin b.1875, Ada Selina b.1873 and Minnie Frances b.1877.

The couple moved to Palmerston North in 1889, where Mr H Mouldey was first engaged as a building contractor. They became residents of Andrew Young Street that same year when Mr Mouldey purchased section 333, allotments 5 and 6, from Mr A Young.

From 1908 the couple ran Mouldey’s Variety Store in Andrew Young Street (see Early business, organisations and clubs included, below). Mrs Ellen Mouldey died in 1915, aged 79 years. Mr Henry W Mouldey died in 1919 at the age of 86 years.

Mr George Lynch Darby Goldfinch was born in 1822 County Dover, England. He emigrated to Sydney Australia, on the ship Steadfast in 1848. He stayed for a few months before travelling to Wellington, Aotearoa New Zealand, on the ship Charles Forbes. In Wellington he worked as a wheelright. On Christmas day in 1850, Mr GLD Goldfinch married Miss Mary Futter.

Miss Mary Futter arrived in Wellington in 1842 on the ship, Lady Nugent.

After a few years in Wellington Mr and Mrs GLD Goldfinch went to the gold diggings in Bendigo, Victoria. After trying their luck for six months, they settled in Melbourne for three years where Mr GL Goldfinch worked again as a wheelright.

Mr and Mrs G Goldfinch returned to Wellington in 1856, taking up a farm at Judgeford, Pahautanui. They remained there for 20 odd years and had thirteen children: John Matthew b.1852, Alice b.1853, George James b.1856, Arthur b.1858, Adolph b.1859, Lucy b.1861, Annie b.1863, Ruth b.1864, Henry b.1867, Eva b.1869, Astella b.1870, Charles James b.1873 and Susan Elsie b.1872.

In 1884, the Goldfinch family moved to Taonui, near Feilding. Later that decade they moved to Palmerston North, taking up residence in Andrew Young Street in 1892. Mr Goldfinch was involved with Oddfellow’s and the Loyal Antipodean Lodge, he been a member of the latter since his Wellington days.

On Christmas Day in 1900 it was the couple’s jubilee wedding anniversary. They celebrated with 150 guests at the Foresters’ Hall. Approximate eighty attendees were family.

Mr George Lynch Darby Goldfinch died April 1904, at 82 years of age. He is interred at Terrace End Cemetery. Mrs Mary Goldfinch died July 1908, aged 77 years.

Mrs Elizabeth Alice Smith lived in Andrew Young Street from 1901. She was born in Johnsonville, Wellington, in 1846 to Mr and Mrs John Monk. They emigrated from London in 1841, arriving in Wellington in 1842. Their home was a hut in the bush and Mr J Monk worked as a shopkeeper, pit sawyer and farmer, respectively.

Miss Elizabeth Alice Monk lived in Wellington until 1863, when she married Mr Thomas Smith. They couple farmed on Mr T Smith’s family station on the East Coast in Wairarapa for seven years. Then resided in North Makara near Wellington for fifteen years. They had fourteen children: Martha Alice b.1867, John David b.1868, James Alfred b.1870, William Edward b.1871, Wallace Ernest b.1873, Thomas Francis Every b.1875, Jesse Herbert b.1877, Albert Arthur b.1879, Joseph Leonard b.1881, Henry Bertram b.1882, Walter Charles b.1884, Lillian May b.1886, Violet Grace b.1888 and Nellie Rose b.1891.

The Smith family moved to Tiritea (later known as Turitea) Palmerston North, in 1886, where they farmed a property. In 1889 they retired to Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North, in order to provide easier access to education for their younger children. Mr Thomas Smith died in 1892 aged 49 yrs.

After a few years in Napier, Mrs Smith settled in Andrew Young Street in 1901. She remained there until her death, 1942, aged ninety-six years. Mrs Elizabeth Alice Smith is interred at Terrace End Cemetery.

Early business, organisations and clubs included


In 1896, Mrs Eliza Clare (nee Osborne) purchased section 328 allotment 17 of Andrew Young Street. It is listed under her husband, Mr Samuel Charles Clare, from the following year. Mr SC Clare built a bakehouse there, A1 Bakery (later called Clare’s Bakehouse), which supplied his various businesses:

  • A1 Bakery, Dining and Refreshment Rooms, 1896 – 1901, Te Marae o Hine the Square next to the Bee Hive Store.
  • Clare’s, Cuba Street, 1899 – 1904 (residence before moving to Ferguson Street).
  • S Clare’s A1 Caterer and Confectioner, later Clare & Co., 1900 – 1908, Te Marae o Hine the Square.
  • His Lordship’s Larder, 1900 – 1901, Te Marae o Hine the Square next to United Farmers Co-operative Association.
  • Macpherson the Cash Grocer, renamed Messrs S Clare and Co., 1903 – 1904, Te Marae o Hine the Square next to Bennett and Co.
  • Cosmopolitan Dining Rooms, 1905 - 1908, Main Street.
  • Miss Grubb, renamed Clare’s, 1905 – 1908, Broad Street (later Broadway Avenue).
  • Youngson’s Dining Rooms, renamed Clare’s Dining Rooms, 1906 – 1908, Te Marae o Hine the Square.

In 1908 fire damaged the northern end of the bakehouse, and it was rebuilt. Messrs S Clare and Co., then sold the business to Mr WS Dustin and it was renamed Dustin’s Bakehouse. In November of 1909 a fire broke out at Dustin’s Bakehouse. Fortunately, they were insured and the business continued. Here is the frontage of Dustin’s circa. 1914-1918, on Main Street.

From the mid to late-1890s Mr and Mrs JP Jensen leased property in Andrew Young Street where they operated a coffee palace and boarding house. The location on the street is unknown. In addition, Mr John P Jensen met incoming trains and provided transport to the boarding house.

Mr and Mrs CA Peters moved from George to Andrew Young Street in 1904. They had purchased section 333 allotment 26 from Mrs Annie Kirk. A native of Palmerston North, Mr Charles Abel Peters married Miss Esther Adams in 1893. They had five children, Florence May b.1893, Charles Abel b.1895, George Hugh b.1898, Dorothy Allen b.1901 and Ernest Albert b.1906.

Mrs CA Peters opened a two-storeyed boarding house, of twenty-nine rooms in Andrew Young Street in 1904. It also housed Peters Coffee Palace. The family resided on the ground floor at the rear of the café, with approximately fifteen boarders upstairs. The boarding house was managed by Mr Ernest Albert Fearnley.

A fire occurred in February of 1906, damaging the boarding house and contents. In September of the same year Mrs Peters rebuilt, this time in brick, with fire escapes.

In 1908 Mr Charles Abel Peters died, aged 44 years. Later that year Mrs Peters married Mr EA Fearnley. The business name changed to Fearnley’s Coffee Palace and private hotel. Mr and Mrs E Fearnley purchased further allotments on section 333 over the next fifteen years.

Fearnley's was rebuilt and refurbished in 1924. The upper storey was extensively fire damaged in 1943, and the Fearnley's again rebuilt. Mrs Esther Fearnley died in 1954, aged 91 years and Mr Ernest Albert Fearnley died in 1955 aged 81 years.

After the couple’s deaths the hotel was owned by the Fearnley family estate. It finally closed in 1968, when sold to Mr DF Huggett. In its sixty-four years of operation, except for five years when the hotel was run by Mr Robinson, there was always a Peters or Fearnley at the helm. Mr T Fearnley, Mr EA Fearnley’s nephew, was proprietor at the time of closing. However, that was not the end of its story.

In 1989, Mr George Ionas purchased the building from the Palmerston North Power Board, who had used it as a training facility. In 2002, 21-25 Andrew Street was leased to Shepherd's Rest a non-profit charitable trust, as a home for the homeless. It could accommodate up to 58 people. Shepherd’s Rest represented multiple churches of multiple denominations and helped people overcome drug and alcohol addiction. In January of 2012 the trust had to give up the home due to financial constraints. The building that was once Fearnley's Hotel was demolished in March of 2012.

In 1905, the Palmerston North branch of the Young Mens’ Christian Association (YMCA) commenced with the acquisition of a property in Andrew Young Street. Founding members Mr TR Hodder, Mr H Tolley, Mr DW Low and Mr JE Vernon established clubrooms and a gymnasium. In collaboration with the YMCA, the Manawatū Camera Club attached a darkroom to the building. The gymnasium was the venue of a various lectures and public debates.

Mouldey’s Variety Store (later known as Variety Hall) was a second-hand dealership and variety store at 3 Andrew Young Street. Mr and Mrs Henry Mouldey, proprietors, advertised its wares from 1908 until his death in 1919. It was situated near Central Hotel.

In 1914, one of Palmerston North’s first motorised taxi cab businesses was established by Mr John Jarvie Gillies at 13 Andrew Young Street. Mr JJ Gillies had worked in the Manawatū saw-milling and dairy industries previously. He originally drove a cab that could accommodate five passengers, and by 1924 Mr J Gillies had a 7-seater Buick Limousine on offer. He lived in Andrew Young Street at several different addresses during this time and died at his wife, Elizabeth’s, boarding house at 22 Andrew Young Street on Christmas day of 1940, aged 74 years.

From 1917, Plumbers, Beattie and Proctor Ltd., were located on the corner Andrew Young and Cuba Streets. By 1930 their business had grown significantly, and a new business premises was built in Cuba Street.

Mr Fritz Holland a well-known pugilist, opened Fritz Holland’s Boxing school in the Variety Hall (formerly Mouldey's) opposite Fearnley’s Coffee Palace in July 1920. Thirty students originally signed up and by August the roll numbered fifty-seven. However, the school was short-lived, lasting less than a year. In time, Mr F Holland was to return to Palmerston North. In 1930 he opened a gymnasium for his boxing classes in the old Central Fire Station in Cuba Street.

Fortunately for boxing enthusiasts, Mr Jim “Kid” Harris, bantam-weight ex-champion of England, under the patronage of the Manawatū Boxing Association, re-opened the school of boxing, physical culture and massage in January 1921. By March, “Kid” Harris had indicated he was settling in Palmerston North permanently. He and his students feature frequently in the local sports news until 1926. In 1925 the boxing gymnasium re-opened in the Produce Hall of the Palmerston North Showgrounds.

Renumbering


The addresses on Andrew Young were renumbered in 1939. See p.16 of the Rates Register of Street Numbers - Old and New.

Creator
 
Group of seven dancers

Group of seven dancers

A group of seven dancers, pupils of the well-known Palmerston North dance teacher Zona Broughton. The dancers have been identified as, from left: Toni Shaw; Angela Ayers; Linda Borlace; Judith Jeffrey; Marilyn Jeffrey; Gail Lockwood; and Carol McKnight.

Creator
 
Cheque Presentation at Miss Industries Quest

Cheque Presentation at Miss Industries Quest

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine and was published in the July 1960 edition.

Caption: “Peter Hensen presenting Dr Pullar, of St John Ambulance Association, with a cheque from the proceeds of the Miss Industries Quest.”

Creator
 
International Table Tennis

International Table Tennis

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine and was published in the July 1960 edition.

Caption: “The Japanese players warm up before the game.”

Creator
 
International Table Tennis

International Table Tennis

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine and was published in the July 1960 edition.

Caption: “The New Zealand team and manager who played against the Japanese team.”

Creator
 
Middle Districts Aero Club Cessna
Middle Districts Aero Club CessnaMiddle Districts Aero Club Cessna

Middle Districts Aero Club Cessna

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine and was published in the July 1960 edition.

Caption: “Brian Milne with Middle Districts Aero Club’s new Cessna 172A. The air ambulance-taxi which is exceptionally quiet has a cruising speed of 117 m.p.h. [miles per hour] and is recognised by the ‘jet-flo’ tail.”

Creator
Place
Milson, Palmerston North
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby - Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby: Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby: Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine’s July 1960 edition but was not published
Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby: Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby: Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine and was published in the July 1960 edition.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
 
Rugby: Manawatu v Wellington

Rugby: Manawatu v Wellington

This image was taken for Photorama pictorial magazine and was published in the July 1960 edition.

Caption: “Another Victory for Manawatu.”

Creator
Load Items 31 to NaN